Skip to content

Vintage pieces..

17/02/2010

Have a look at this blouse will you?

I found it in my wardrobe and I thought to myself …with all the flowery stuff around at the moment and bright colours it could be useful again…I’m following on from my Wreck post if you hadn’t noticed.

Well I thought back to where and when I had bought it and started to tot up the years…

This blouse is older than my first son Tommy who will be 22 at the end of March!

How is that for hoarding stuff?

I want you to keep in mind that I bought it in London in approx 1985, when I had finished college, was working in London and living there too. Please also take into account I moved to Italy in 1986 and lived there on and off till 2003. In that period I probably moved home more than 10 times. (I’ve moved three times since I’ve been with Paul and that’s only 5 years!)

This Stirling Cooper blouse (it says on the label) is made out of a very light chiffon kind of material, in fact there are places on the back seam that runs from one shoulder to the other where the stitching is starting to fray and it still hasn’t been put into a charity bag. The print is a kind of Andy Warhol with Marilyn and James Dean clear to see.

I could probably count on one hand the amount of times I have worn it and yet it has survived, umpteen house moves, 4 children, 2 dogs, 4 cats, 2 men’s opinions (maybe more but I’d have to think carefully) and some raucous night’s out.

Wow! I am impressed and if anyone can give me a tip on how to repair the fraying chiffon seam at the back I’d be very grateful and maybe give the shirt an airing in the near future.

If you dug deep into your wardrobe, could you come up with some vintage?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    17/02/2010 4:54 pm

    In the late 80’s/early 90’s I was bang into my acid jazz so accumulated a fair collection of items which were vintage even by that point: shoes, shirts, coats, jackets, scarves, hats, sunglasses, and so on. Most went the way of my friends vintage clothing shop during several clear-outs over the last 20 years. However! Last year we went to Secret Cinemas screening of ‘The Warriors’ and the dress code was 70s. A rummage for a suitable outfit turned up a leather jacket and two amazing suede shirts from that era which, under the right lighting conditions and seen from the right angle, still appear to fit! The jacket was worn on that occasion, the shirts may well see a revival this summer 🙂

  2. 18/02/2010 10:10 am

    I am a ruthless thrower outer of clothes, nothing in there that i haven’t worn in the last 12 months

    • 18/02/2010 1:55 pm

      I thought I was too but obviously I hang on to certain pieces. It’s almost like a time capsule as this shirt brings back memories of evenings out, people who were there and what we did. I’ve enjoyed the reminiscing:)

Leave a Reply

