Skip to content

Vintage pieces – 2

18/02/2010

Mmmm, I can hear you wonder. What’s so vintage about sponge fingers?

Last week we (me and the girls) were stuck indoors every day as they were alternately ill – again! So Cbeebies was on most of the time to occupy them and I got to watch Katie on I can cook who has some brilliant ideas. One day she made chocolate mandarin puddings using sponge fingers. Easy, healthy and delicious.

Light bulb moment – ‘I’ve got some sponge fingers in the cupboard that need using up! I’ll make the puddings for the girls’ 🙂

I don’t buy sponge fingers that often and going through my brain’s archives searching for the last time I used them I remembered I made a delicious Tiramisu (recipe at the bottom) for a summer barbeque and bought one packet too many. They’ve been shoved from pillar to post so time to get rid of them once and for all.

Off I trot to the kitchen happy with my Brilliant New Idea and after some rummaging I find them.

Can you see the date on there?          27/11/07

Oh My God! 2 years old – Older than the girls!!! Crikey, they even moved house with us in Oct 07!

Obviously trifle was shifted pretty swiftly off the menu and we polished off dinner with a fresh pear and some yoghurt! Phew, that was close.

But if you have some sponge fingers that are in date, this is the perfect Tiramisu I learnt years ago working at Ristorante La Segheria in Folgaria

You need:-

Sponge fingers (trifle sponge will also do)

Strong coffee ie made in a mocha with a drop of Brandy

mascarpone

egg yolks

caster sugar

amaretti biscuits

cocoa powder with mini sieve

  1. Roll the sponge fingers quickly in the coffee/brandy liquid so they soak up the liquid but don’t break and place in a glass ‘pie’ dish or individual bowls.
  2. In a mixing bowl mix the mascarpone with the egg yolks (2 for a pie dish size) and add caster sugar to taste but don’t go overboard!
  3. Once amalgamated, place on top of the soaked sponge fingers.
  4. Crush the amaretti biscuits in your hands and sprinkle over the pudding evenly. (Gives a lovely textured look to the dessert)
  5. Sieve cocoa powder over the top evenly

Voila’ – job done. Can be done in advance but not too long as the biscuits go soggy. For other ideas on Tiramisu, there’s a whole site dedicated to the dessert – here

 Have you discovered some Serious Out Of Dates recently in your kichen cupboards?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/02/2010 6:24 pm

    ah, they’d probably have been fine.

  2. Jean permalink
    19/02/2010 11:56 am

    I think modern science cites the only things to survive an apocalyptic event will be cockroaches and packets of sponge fingers …

Leave a Reply

