Skip to content

Everything happens for a reason

23/02/2010

I was asked to think of a personal motto and the first thing that came to mind was ‘What will be will be’ but it wasn’t 100% what I was looking for. I do believe in a certain amount of fate in life and although my concept of ‘Why are we here?’ isn’t entirely clear to me yet, I get the feeling that we’re here to learn and in learning we improve ourselves, become better people and (here’s the freaky bit) we elevate to a higher plane.

All very complicated stuff.

I was born into the Catholic religion. My paternal grandparents immigrated from Skibberean in the south of Ireland but dad was not the practising kind however I went to the local catholic school and therefore I went to the local St John’s R.C Catholic church mainly for three reasons..

  1. I liked to sing in Mrs Squires choir
  2. My Irish grandmother (Mary!) insisted I went to save my soul and to book my place in Heaven. She would check up on my attendance regularly.
  3. If I didn’t go I was asked to stand in front of the class on Monday and explain why to them.

Needless to say, I wasn’t the best attendee as I started to grow and rebel against rules and regulations and as I moved through life, I moved away from the Catholic religion. I checked out the church of England via the Girl Guides group. I read about Muslims, Hindus, and Sikhs as there were many in our local community and it was a interesting part of our religious education curriculum.

It was when I left school and started to make my own life that I searched for an answer. I read the Tao of Love and Sex a Chinese philosophy stating the male should avoid orgasm during sexual intercourse in order to prolong his life. It was fun trying but I moved on. I read about Buddha and learnt a little about karma, it made sense to me. ‘Lessons I hadn’t completed last time round had to be done again’, just like school. You want the GCSE? Study for it! If not retake. Simple.

I read about Carlos Castaneda in Mexico and his experiences of spirituality, I read about the American Indians and their philosophy on life. Paramahansa Yogananda shared his take on it all and I picked up Isabelle Allende’s House of the Spirits and Paolo Coelho’s book called The Alchemist.

Slowly all this literature bingeing was forcing me to think and organise my ideas. Clear out the rubbish.

I read the Celestine Prophecy, and ‘They Called Me Two Hearts’ (which as hard as I have tried I cannot find on Amazon but it is a fascinating tale of a female journalist who is ‘invited and then kidnapped’ by an aboriginal group. Her book is her experience as she lives with them for months and learns their meaning of life.) The more books I read the more I observed that all over the world people were talking about Spirit.

This is what I have come up with so far and I’m happily open for discussion on it, We are born into a family, and a certain economical level with a previously written list of things to accomplish during our stay here on Earth. We have the right in every moment to fulfill them or choose to not do so. The challenges we have pre set ourselves will be presented on our life journey at the right time and in order to get to them and be in the frame of mind of passing them we have to be ready and that is why many a time things don’t go our way, or we have to wait for things to fall into place before we can advance. As only when these things have all fallen into place can we progress and move on.

A quick example from my life? When Megan was 2, I was ready to fall pregnant again. I yearned with all my heart to have another child and would try every trick in the book to fall pregnant but it never worked. My ex was adamant there would be no more children. I couldn’t understand it but got on with it. Fast forward 15 odd years and I met Paul who didn’t have children but wanted them.

It took time, patience and heartbreak when we lost a little girl at 21 weeks for no apparent medical reason but we got there and were blessed with twin girls in 2008.

Although the why’s may not be clear to us at the time, I believe as we journey on it will become clear and our answers will be found. Everything happens for a reason.

 The beautiful photo

This post was written for Josie’s writing workshop.

I chose prompt 1. What’s your personal motto?Writing workshop

You may also like The Wreck of the Hesperus and Fear of the Unknown

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/02/2010 6:48 am

    This is something I believe in too. A great post, thank you.

  2. 24/02/2010 10:31 am

    Thanks Heather 🙂
    Nice to know I’m not alone in my thoughts…

  3. 25/02/2010 1:58 pm

    Wow we must have been writing this at the same time!

    I only posted my blog today about coincidences but I had written it yesterday but it was the second thing I had written yesterday so I left it to post today.

    I also believe that great ideas and concepts are thought of simultaneously by a number of people, but those who act quickest get their ideas out.

    Very good post!

    Glad we think alike.

    And btw-the celestine prophecy has been on my list of books to get.

    • 25/02/2010 2:05 pm

      Read it – you’ll love it. I lost the book through all my house moves but it’s one I’d gladly buy and read again…just waiting for the time to do so 🙂
      AND I agree about getting the idea simultaneously. I’ve had ideas in the past and not done anything about them and then seen them in the public eye! Time to act on ideas methinks…. 🙂

  4. 25/02/2010 7:37 pm

    Hello lovely.

    My, you sound like me in your devouring of spiritual literature!! I’m glad it meant you were able to formulate a sense of understanding and acceptance in your head. Sometimes I think that the more I read, the more confused I feel!

    I struggle with the ‘everything happens for a reason’ idea but I do believe that everything holds the potential for something positive, if we can be open enough and brave enough to see it.

    LOVE the photo you used – gorgeous!

    • 26/02/2010 4:51 pm

      Yes, I am always looking for positives too.
      It is a beautiful photo, I initially thought it was painting it was so good. On that subject I had a nose at your photo blog – there are some gorgeous photos there I think you are very talented.
      Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks

  1. So what do you hope to achieve with this blog of yours? « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

