Skip to content

Far, far away

24/02/2010

Think of a person who really bugs or annoys you. Think of a place you’d like to send this person. Then – mentally- send them there! With that in mind….

The postcard arrived…

Dear Marianne,

I suppose you think you’re funny? Of all the places you could have chosen, you sent me back to the past. Well I’ve been here already! What’s your point?

I see you, you’re 21 and you’re enormous, a beached whale at the end of our first child’s pregnancy. Only a few weeks to go now and you are so excited, you told me sex would help bring on labour but I can’t touch you like that. You have an incredible energy about you and your optimism is overpowering. It’s as if you could take on the world. You are being like this for both of us, trying to convince me everything is going to be ok.

I DON’T WANT TO BE BACK HERE!

I don’t like it here, it makes me feel uncomfortable to see just how deeply you are in love with me, how devoted you are. You hang on my every word, you follow me around like a little puppy dog, even when I act stupidly and anger the entire family, you make excuses for my outburst and you stick up for me. You’re pathetic. I DON’T NEED YOU.

I can see your worry of our future together, cleverly hidden at the back of your eyes where you think no one can see. It annoys me, it makes me angry and secretly I wish you’d leave me alone. I DON’T KNOW WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN TO US.

I’m 24, I’m surrounded  by gorgeous girls who at a mere nod would be naked and waiting for me in a flash. I want to go to New York. I want to stay out all night and not worry about coming home to my girlfriend and baby. I WANT A BRAND NEW CAR NOT A BABY,  a new set of skis, a visit to Amsterdam – on my own.

Why did you have to get pregnant and ruin everything? We were fine as we were.

Why did I have to meet you? I was supposed to be single till my forties and you ruined everything.

I wish things were different.

Chicco

– A writing exercise taken from The Write Brain workbook by Bonnie Neubauer.

Where would you send that person and what would their postcard say to you?

photo

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/02/2010 4:21 pm

    wow, that was a rather powerful letter. and a great writing prompt…

    • 24/02/2010 4:25 pm

      I was thinking of making it a meme but not sure how to…can you offer any advice?

      • 26/02/2010 8:25 pm

        agh, i didn’t come back and check the comments so missed your reply – thank goodness you put it as your favourite. If you want to start it as a meme (and i rather like the idea of this one, a real thinker) then i would suggest (and bear in mind that i have never started a meme of my own) choosing maybe three people who you think would do it, make up a couple of simple rules such as what they need to do and how many people to pass it on to, and then ‘tag’ them – let the know via email/twitter/comment on their blog that they have been tagged with a link to it. and don’t be offended if they don’t do it, or don’t get round to it for weeks. i am really bad at doing memes sometimes – it often takes me weeks to get round to them.

        i hope that helps 🙂

  2. 25/02/2010 3:30 pm

    Being a close friend of The Doctor, I would borrow the TARDIS and put him on a planet surrounded by Daleks.

    Then I would go home and enjoy my life.

    CJ xx

    • 25/02/2010 3:37 pm

      so I doubt you’d be receiving a postcard then… 🙂
      Nice idea though.

Trackbacks

  1. So what do you hope to achieve with this blog of yours? « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

