Skip to content

Ladies and gentlemen…I give you ‘Young Mummy’

04/03/2010

A big thank you to Mari for being a star and hosting my guest post at the very last minute, after my official guest post partner fell through. First a quick introduction – I write as Young Mummy and I’ve been blogging at Young & Younger since November 2009. I’m on maternity leave from my job as an interiors editor on a homes magazine (sounds more glamorous than it is), and twins Miss E and Mr A arrived in September 2009. Since then I’ve become a circus act, whose talent is juggling two babies whilst trying not to lose my sense of humour! A good day finds me with washed and brushed hair, semi-matching underwear and a big smile, and on a bad day I count down every minute until I can be off duty.

Reading all about Mari’s twins got me thinking. One of the best things about following so many great blogs is the glimpse into the future they often offer. I obviously don’t want to wish away these early months, but honestly, looking after twin babies is hard work. Most twin mums I have met say the first year is the worst, and having celebrated Miss E and Mr A’s six month birthday this week I am halfway there. I finally feel like the fog of the first few months is lifting and I can start to enjoy the time I spend with the babies, and I’m so looking forward to all the milestones still to come.

I can’t wait… to hear them start to talk. I’m often to be found in fits of giggles after reading a blog post about something funny someone’s toddler has said that day. I want the ‘I lub you’s, and to be called ‘mummy’.

I can’t wait… to see them play together. Having a readymade playmate is one of the biggest advantages of being a twin. I have no doubt that at times they will probably fight like cat and dog, but they will also have a unique bond, that will be with them for life. Though I don’t relish the prospect of the heated ‘it’s mine,’ ‘no, it’s mine’ debates!

I can’t wait… for them to sleep all night. Miss E and Mr A do pretty well, currently sleeping from about 11pm to 6/7am, but it will be amazing when we can put them to bed at 7pm and have the whole evening to ourselves. Freedom beckons and I’m oh so ready for it!

I can’t wait… for them to put their arms up to picked up, or to run up to Young Daddy when he gets home and wrap themselves round his legs. For family games together, and peals of laughter.

I can’t wait… to see the people they’re going to become.

Exciting times ahead.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/03/2010 7:31 pm

    It is lovely when they have a ready-made playmate. What’s also nice is that they go through the same interests together, so everything you do, for instance reading, museum trips etc has double-effect!

  2. 04/03/2010 7:39 pm

    Hello Yojng Mummy, Nice to meet you. I look forward to following you on your blog and learning more about your lovely children. I have a 15 month gap between mine and it is wonderful watching them grow and develope.

  3. mummylimited permalink
    04/03/2010 7:44 pm

    Yey – you found a home. Another gorgeous twin photo and I’ve found another twin blog – twins are fast becoming my latest obsession!

    • 05/03/2010 8:58 am

      Welcome!
      Once I get a mo. I’m going to pop over and check out everyone’s blogs, so many new people such little time today 🙂

  4. 04/03/2010 7:55 pm

    the starting to talk times are good but it’s such a double edged sword you know. Getting them to shut up becomes the next big challenge!

    And Yeay Mari for being kind enough to let you post your guest post here.

    • 05/03/2010 8:57 am

      …mmm and when there are two of them chatting trying to get your attention then the Nurofen purchase will rise I’m sure!

  5. 04/03/2010 9:29 pm

    TheMadHouse – hello! Look forward to seeing you soon on my blog.

    Heather – I have no doubt the talking is a double-edged-sword! And Mari is an absolute star for letting me post here, I was feeling very sad, lonely and sorry for myself without a partner ;-(

    • 05/03/2010 10:38 am

      Doh! Reading everyone’s blog swaps I wish I’d joined in too. Although it would be pretty pointless us swapping – you’ve said exactly what I would have said (except much better!).

  6. 04/03/2010 9:34 pm

    Such a heart warming post! It’s so lovely to hear your love for your children coming through and to hear your hopes for their future.

  7. 04/03/2010 9:53 pm

    Someone once told me that you really get to see the kind of kids you raised when they have kids of their own.

    But yes you get to slowly over the years get a glimpse into the kind of people they will be.

    • 05/03/2010 8:52 am

      I ahve my two older children to see I didn’t do to bad a job first time round and it will be interesting to see how Gracey grows. I must admit I was worried about my daughter and how she would take to motherhood, especially as we are seperated in two countries but she’s doing a marvellous job and has taken to motherhood like a duck to water. I can’t wait to see them soon fingers crossed

  8. 05/03/2010 8:05 pm

    Lovely post. I find it hard to cope with one sometimes 😉

    I spend half the time wishing BG was get to the next step and ther other half wishing she was still a little baby x

Leave a Reply

