Skip to content

P&O – Preparation and organisation

12/03/2010
tags:

I am struggling and I don’t know how you all do it.

The idea of a blog came from my little brother, I confided I wanted to complete the book I had in mind and to improve my writing skills he suggested a blog. Brilliant idea, where’s the problem?

Well, in order to get the maximum benefit from a blog you need readers right? So after inviting friends and family to have a look, you need to reach the outside world, right?

Cool, I joined British Mummy Bloggers and Judith’s Room. Both allowing me to have a look at what others are writing and gain invaluable knowledge on the way. I have seen so many brilliant blogs and I have joined in a few weekly posts ie Tara’s photo gallery, Josie’s writing workshop and Heather and Karin’s Vlog competition, for fun, for prompts for feedback.

I have even dusted down my Twitter account and can finally see what it’s all about now I’m actually following people 🙂

Excellent. Where’s the problem?

Time. That is my problem. I can’t fit it all in. It is a known  fact in order to gain readers one must also read and comment on others blogs and this takes time which is something pretty scarce in this house.

I love reading blogs and other peoples entries into the competitions but when the numbers are 40 odd it takes up all my writing time, hence no succulent posts and the poor old book dream has just been shoved in a drawer at the back of my mind and totally forgotten.

As for Twitter, I am so slack, tweeting at the pace of a snail. Is it worth me being there I wonder?

On top of that Alice has decided to cut her back molars…and don’t we know it! Poor mite has red red cheeks, sore gums and is off her food too – all for a couple of teeth!

I need a lesson in P&O quickly before I get myself lost in cyber space. How do you organise your blogging?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/03/2010 3:23 pm

    Can sooo relate to this. My whole family is up in arms about the neglect due to blogging. LOL

    • 12/03/2010 3:28 pm

      But your blog is so fantastic and full. How do you do it? That’s what I want to know 🙂

      • 13/03/2010 5:11 pm

        Ask my husband-he will tell you that my house has gone to pot and I am not giving anyone any attention.

        i told him right now I feel like this is what i need to do. Would rather do that instead of sitting in front of the Tv or instead of cleaning, cooking, laundry, ironing…working…LOL

  2. 12/03/2010 6:36 pm

    OK, I am pretty strict with myself. I use firefox a nd the G reader add on, which allows me to comment without opening each blog up – Notes from Lapland has a great post on it, I will find it and come back to you. Also I only comment if I feel I have something to contribute or add, never for commentings sake. I read blogs I like.

    I also do most of my posts when I think of them and read blogs when I have spare time.

  3. 12/03/2010 10:05 pm

    It’ s very hard to fit it in and I think most bloggers will admit to occasionally spending a bit too much time on a blog post instead of paying attention to their children. I’ve no idea how I find time with three children, one of whom is a newborn baby. I just somehow fit it in. Most blog posts are written five minutes here and five minutes there. I manage to read blog posts in the evenings. There’s no time to do it really, and no sense in actually doing it. But it’s fun most of the time!

Leave a Reply

