Skip to content

Do you feel ‘safer’ when dealing with a woman?

13/03/2010

Over the past four months we have had our house on the market and therefore we, more myself, have had to deal with estate agents.

Now they are notoriously known for their very low stakes in the ‘most trusted profession lists’, I think a national poll recently had them one from the bottom only being pipped to ground zero by politicians. Nuff said.

I have been speaking to four people in the office we’re using, two female and two men.

When I am speaking to the men and they are giving me feedback from a viewing or advice on how to get the house moving (ie lower the price) I always find myself trying to second guess them. My trust in them zero. I spend hours after the phone call going over our conversation and trying to understand the hidden messages they’re not telling me.

Whereas if I speak with the lovely Jade or Teresa. I take their word as it’s given and once I’ve put the phone down I leave it and get on with other things. I feel incredibly more comfortable and have no concerns about if what they’re telling me is the truth.

Is this just me? Or do women manage somehow to install more trust between themselves?

Do you feel ‘safer’ when dealing with women rather than men?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/03/2010 10:45 am

    Hmm, never had a female estate agent!! I think it is more about the person than the sex for me

  2. 13/03/2010 11:10 am

    Could be that, but I just feel more comfortable with them and don’t think they’re rippping me off whereas the guys don’t give me that tranquility.
    Having trouble commenting on your site – tells me I’ve run out of time?

  3. 13/03/2010 5:09 pm

    I actually think it depends on the people and the rapport I have.

  4. 13/03/2010 8:58 pm

    I feel more comfortable around women (unless I know the man), but prefer talking to men over the phone.. I’m not sure why.

    I’m pretty nervous of men anyway due to a bad experience in the past, so would have to agree.

    x

  5. 14/03/2010 2:04 am

    For me it depends on the situation. In certain situations I trust women more, in others I trust men. In general though I find men to be more honest about things whereas women are much better at plotting and scheming.
    In the scenario you describe I would probably favour the women as it is often women who have the final say in home buying and therefore they are more in tune with the market.
    I generalise, I know, but just my 2 pence!

Leave a Reply

