Skip to content

My Best Job of all time

24/03/2010

The best job I ever had was with the people you can see here in the photo and it has to be said they are the loveliest people to work with.

This job was my lifeline out of Italy and back to the UK. It was the job where everything started to fall into place for me and for my life, at long last, to start going right and it was the job that restored the confidence in me that had been chiseled away over the years in Italy.

I moved from Italy on the 31st August 2004 and first day at work was 3rd August, the following Monday. A turn around that still today defeats all belief. How did I do that?

My role was in the Travel Trade Relations Department. I was to work alongside Diego (not in the photo but on holiday in Thailand at the time!) and it was our job to promote Italy with all of its beautiful destinations to the Travel companies that you bump into everyday with the hope they would put more and more destinations in their brochures for you to choose from. From Thomas Cook to lastminute.com, they all came under our umbrella.

In order to promote Italy to its best, we had to have contacts with the Italians of course and the tourist departments in every region would call us up with ideas to promote their corner of the peninsula. So you see it was our job to connect the two together, the regions would run workshops and invite members from various travel agencies to their homeland. They would organise flights, accommodation and entertainment and in the few days they hosted these new contacts they would show off their towns, resorts, museums and restaurants to the best of their abilities. Of course the best bit was frequently we were asked to go along too, in order to help with the hosting, the translation and the organising.

Have you had the pleasure of The Italian Experience? If you have you’ll agree it’s one you’ll never forget, if you haven’t make sure it’s on your list of ‘Things To Do Before I Die’. I promise you won’t regret it.

An amazingly open, friendly bunch of people, and they adore children making us look so stern sometimes. Their food, their ice cream, their wines, their art. I could go on forever, please go there and see for yourself.

I personally helped out on a trip to Rome another to Venice and my favourite a ski trip to Trentino where I had previously lived for so long. Not to mention all of the events organised in London, around the UK and Ireland.

I left the company as Paul and I wanted children and time was running out for me as 40 had been and gone. After losing a baby at 21 weeks of pregnancy and a succession of two more miscarriages, I opted to find a job closer to home so my body stood a better chance at getting pregnant and holding on to it.

I miss the job which brought the best out in me, I miss the buzz of working so close to Oxford Street with the flagship Topshop store just over the road but most of all I miss my wonderful colleagues. I’d give my right arm to go back tomorrow but this cannot be whilst my girls are so small and maybe wouldn’t be right. Things change, people move on. I could probably never recapture that time again so it remains a favourite memory with the badge of Best Job Ever.

If you have a quick mo, visit their web site which was one of the last projects I was working on before I left. Italian Tourist Board

This post was writen for Josie’s Writing Workshop I chose prompt 2 and am so pleased I have had a chance to remember these wonderful people in my blog. Writing workshopThanks Josie 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. alessandra smith permalink
    24/03/2010 3:46 pm

    Dearest Marianne,
    as one of the people in that photo, reading this on your blog brought a tear to my eye. It reminded me of the good old times!!
    As you say, things change and people move on, but you’ll always have a special place in our hearts!
    Come & see us soon with the girls.
    Alessandra xxxx

    • 24/03/2010 3:53 pm

      I will, now the weather is getting warmer we’ll fix a date and make a day in London! Thanks xx

  2. 24/03/2010 10:45 pm

    What a fantastic job! Sounds like it was a wonderful place to work. Thanks for sharing!

    • 25/03/2010 1:28 pm

      It was a fantastic job and I miss it. I now have to dream up something as equally as exciting 🙂

  3. 25/03/2010 8:40 am

    Sounds like a fabulous job. I have had the pleasure of visiting Italy, it was a beach holiday (Riccionne) so probably a bit like coming to Britain and visiting Brighton? I didn’t really experience the Italy I was expecting since it was full of Scandanavians! (though I got plenty wonderful wine and coffee and gelato!)

    I have the urge to start saving for the 2011 6 Nations Scotland v Italy game now! hmmmm 🙂

  4. 25/03/2010 1:33 pm

    I’ve spent a few weekends and trips in Riccione. A lovely area. Riccione and Rimini are two major holiday destinations where the Italians go themselves so you were bang on track!
    I watch the 6 nations too 🙂 and am quite impressed with Italy this year, they’re really starting to be a threat don’t you think?
    If they play in Rome, add on some extra days, it has got to be seen, you’ll walk around wiht your mouth open in wonder.

  5. 25/03/2010 8:20 pm

    It sounds like a fabulous job.

    I would LOVE to go to Italy one day. My mum did a tour and the photos of Venice and Florence made me ache! So beautiful 🙂

    x

Leave a Reply

