Skip to content

Thomas, my first born, my son

25/03/2010

My boy will be 22 tomorrow (Friday 26th March).

He’s an adult. A grown man, ok he has plenty of growing yet to do but he’s passed the first hurdles of teenagedom into adulthood. He’s got drunk a few times, tried some silly cigarettes and maybe more only I am no longer privy to all of his life.

Nowadays I get a glowing self reportage that has edited all the nasty bits ‘Not For Mum’s eyes’ 🙂 And that’s ok. Just be safe son, use your head.

He’s grown into a good lad. He’s gentle and kind and always trying to please, maybe too much sometimes. He’s fun and always up for a laugh and he doesn’t mind making a fool of himself to make someone laugh. He’s nice to have around. You’re on the right track boy, don’t change.

He’s very reserved my Tommy. I often have the inkling that there is so much more bubbling under the surface and occasionally, no quite often, he updates his Facebook status in such an alarming outright manner that I want to stop him. But I must let him see for himself. Calm down Tommy, take a step back before you let anger take control of your emotions.

I would love to see my Tom with a girlfriend (another area which is pretty shady when we’re chatting) he’s yearning for a companion and I believe he’d make a wonderful partner to someone but first he has a lot of growing up to do. He wears his heart on his sleeve and jumps right in at the deep end before any poor girl has even put her handbag down. Slow down Tommy, you have the rest of your life to find happiness. Don’t be hasty.

Tommy lives in Italy with his dad. He works in the family hotel Club Hotel Alpino.

When it’s a family run business there is no definition of role. You get on and do what has to be done. It can be very stressful but also rewarding when customers send thank you notes saying they had such a wonderful stay. Well done my love. You’re doing a good job. Stick at it even when it exhausts you. You’ll be so proud of yourself later on.

Ever since he could walk he wanted to work there and he trained to be a chef, I use the word ‘train’ very loosely because Thomas and school did NOT mix well together. He hated it. Even in Infant school there would be tears whilst trying to coerce him into starting his homework. A nightmare from day 1 but the boy turned out well. He reads, he writes and he watches life. Keep on reading Tom, it’s good exercise for the mind and widens your knowledge.

He recently spent six months in England. He worked at the Punch Tavern in the City with my brother who is the chef there. I was able to enjoy my boy, chat with him and share some very special moments. It was wonderful to see him play with the girls and moving to see him tearful when we said goodbye in January at Gatwick airport. He was genuinely going to miss them.

I have my card and present here as he said he would be with us for his birthday but in the end for one reason or another can’t make it till April but more than the materialistic gift I would like to wish the following to him

  • An eternal hug for whenever it’s needed.
  • Sneaky mum kisses that no one sees for when he’s upset.
  • An ear to listen to his woes when he needs to share them
  • A shoulder to support him when he’s feeling broken
  • An embrace to assure him he’s special and loved when he’s feeling alone

Happy birthday son, I miss you more than this post can transpire and I wish you a year ahead filled with joy love and laughter.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/03/2010 3:56 pm

    This is so lovely – made me well up a tiny bit! 😛

    • 25/03/2010 4:32 pm

      Thank you. It’s nice being able to do something a little different for him, although he hasn’t seen it yet

  2. 25/03/2010 5:09 pm

    Beautiful! Happy “birth” day to you as well!

    • 26/03/2010 1:56 pm

      Thank you! I forget that it was the day I was transformed into a mother!

  3. 25/03/2010 5:32 pm

    That’s so beautiful. I feel quite emotional after reading it. Lovely blog xx

  4. Paula permalink
    25/03/2010 7:57 pm

    Such a lovely tribute to your boy. My first born is 8 now and we’re so close, I can’t imagine him not ‘being there’. Your lovely post gives me an insight into what that might be like…you’re obviously a fab mother, I hope I can be as good.

    Px

    • 26/03/2010 2:04 pm

      I’m sure you will be just as good and thank you for the compliment. I’m a firm believer of ‘you shall reap what you sow’ so if you’re close now you will be later on too. 🙂

  5. 25/03/2010 8:51 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post, it was very easy to read but also made me want to wave a magic wand and let you give him a big hug. I sometimes look at my two (just 4 and 1 and half) and marvel at what they’ll turn into and hope that I do them proud, that they are respectful to others and know right from wrong. Hope Tommy realises how lucky he is to have you! Also hopes he prints this post off and puts away to read in years to come.

    • 26/03/2010 2:07 pm

      My little ones are 20 months too! And I spend hours wondering what they’ll do and how they’ll be. It’s fun to try and guess parts of their growing characters. I phoned Tommy a few hours ago and hope to see him in April.

  6. 25/03/2010 9:13 pm

    He is very lucky to have such a fabulous mother. Lovely post 🙂

  7. romana permalink
    27/03/2010 12:31 pm

    Quando è nato eri molto orgogliosa di lui! mi hai portato a vederlo attraverso i vetri del nido dell’ospedale e mi hai detto: hai visto che brava che sono stata?
    Non solo sei stata brava a “farlo” ma soprattutto a capirlo e ad amarlo sempre..in qualsiasi situazione. E tutto il tuo amore materno traspare in queste righe che hai condiviso con tutti.

    • 28/03/2010 1:56 pm

      …mi ricordo, hai pianto in camera con me! Sei sempre stata cosi sensibile e chiara con me, sono molto orgogliosa di averti come amica.

Leave a Reply

