Skip to content

What’s your tipple?

26/03/2010

It’s Friday and a few years back when i was working I’d have probably shared a glass with a colleague or two during my lunch break as a way of closing the week nicely.

My OH still does, he has his Friday Club and comes home with tales that make me giggle, laugh out loud and cry.

Now, I love being a Stay At Home Mum, but every now and then a small craving for a bit of adult company, an excuse to have a ‘swifty’ and a trip to a decent pub to hear the communal chit chat, laughter and smell the pints being pulled behind the bar, does wonders for the spirit methinks. I usually go for a glass of white wine and occasionally a gin and tonic rocks my boat.  Nothing beats a cool beer on a hot summers day, a sangria in Spain, a Mojito – only when I’m up for partying! I never last long when I on these.

So let me pretend, indulge me. It’s my round and I’d love to have a quick chat. What are you drinking?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/03/2010 7:06 pm

    I used to love a JD and coke no ice, but at the moment I like sherry over ice!

    • 28/03/2010 1:58 pm

      Yup, JD and coke back in the day, but it always made me cry when I overdid it (?) Not too sure about the sherry on ice..but I’ll get you one anyway:)

  2. romana permalink
    27/03/2010 12:14 pm

    anche io, fino a pochi anni fa, condividevo dei bei momenti con 4 chiacchiere ed un bicchier di vino con le amiche..alcune se ne sono andate da questo “bel paesello” . Sono molto felice per loro, ma mi mancano molto! un giorno ci ritroveremo ne sono sicura, tutte insieme, a brindare alle nostre vite di donne “complicate”, che hanno fatto anche delle scelte difficili, ma, come dice la parola stessa hanno SCELTO! evviva le DONNE CHE SCELGONO, che provano, che non si accontentano, che non subiscono. Brindo a tutte idealmente e con un abbraccio

    • 28/03/2010 1:57 pm

      Cin cin – anch’io brindo alle scelte difficile ma seguite e spero di rivederti presto 🙂 xx

  3. 27/03/2010 6:54 pm

    LOL-water. I don’t like alcohol (yes I hear the gasps of disbelief!)

    • 28/03/2010 1:54 pm

      Water it is, I do drink loads myself but every now and then a little of what you like is good. 🙂

  4. 28/03/2010 1:06 am

    First, let me say, your post has been in my reader unread for a day now and everytime I glance at it I see “what’s your nipple?”
    And then you mention a “swifty” which over here would be taken as synonymous with a “quickie” which is not a drink but what you do after getting drunk with someone (if they’re not too drunk to do so).
    So, thanks for titillating me. That was a lovely barrom chat. I’ll have a Screech and Coke. Screech? It’s a Newfie thing – the dregs of the dark rum barrell. Somewhat betweeen Dark Rum and Tar. And it goes lovely with coke and – if we’re in a fancy establishment – a twist of lime.

    • 28/03/2010 1:53 pm

      oooh, how very exotic…maybe inspired by nipples and swiftys? Sounds good to me, Cheers!

Leave a Reply

