Skip to content

Outside my front door….

31/03/2010

What awful weather we’re having! I wanted to go for a walk with the girls and take some shots to show you where we live but I stayed safe inside where it’s warm and cosy. This photo was taken from the kitchen window yesterday during a rare ray of sunlight.

Please note my Christmas Poinsettia still thriving on the window sill – first time EVER I’ve managed to keep one so long and my chicken from Key West which I have since seen in tourist shops dotted all over the UK and Europe!

As for outside, I see first of all the estate agents bill boards and then the magnolia tree in the centre, planted by the previous owners and just beginning to bud. I adore this tree and think it’s possibly my favourite, alongside a Weeping Willow oh and this one, a Walnut tree which I can see from the back windows, taken last summer when I spotted these fabulous colours in the sky.

We live just outside London in North Kent so we’re surrounded by country parks and village pubs. We’re also only 50 mins from the seaside where we spend most of our weekends once the weather permits. Here’s a snap from last summer at the end of the day before packing up with one twin (Bessie) sliding out of the buggy! I love the way the tide turns so dramatically in this part of the world, leaving a hard surface to walk on.

And I couldn’t leave without a photo of London which is my favourite city in the world. A shot of Big ben taken a few years back now whilst taking my Italian friends on a tour.

These photos are for Tara’s The Gallery week 5 – Outside my front door, please go and have a look at the other entries which are fabulous.

 Tara – I promise to sort out the badge by next week! – been a bit manic this week over here x

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/03/2010 1:43 pm

    Oh it looks lovely. We visited Kent last year and spent a lovely week there. Your beach shot has just reminded me.

    • 31/03/2010 3:31 pm

      It is a lovely part of the world but there again, every where I look I see more beauty and Tara’s gallery today is proof

  2. Red Ted Art permalink
    31/03/2010 1:43 pm

    love the kitchen window photo!!

  3. 31/03/2010 2:08 pm

    I LOVE that sunset photo! It has warmed me up on this cold and miserable day!

  4. 31/03/2010 2:47 pm

    Lovely! It must terrific to be so close to the sea. 🙂

    • 31/03/2010 3:32 pm

      It makes for great weekends in the summer – shame Easter is forecast so badly if not we’d be down there for a wellies stroll on the beach

  5. ourprivateblog permalink
    31/03/2010 3:02 pm

    What a lovely blog you have – I have just sat here and been drawn into so many of your posts – they are so touching, so thoughtful and so lovely to read – you have a new follower that’s for sure!!!!!

    • 31/03/2010 3:33 pm

      Thank you, it’s really nice to hear that…glad I found you today too 🙂

  6. 31/03/2010 3:05 pm

    I love this theme – it’s like peeking into (out of?) people’s homes 🙂 I am also begining to think we are a nation of coast lovers like no other.

    • 31/03/2010 3:34 pm

      It has been fun to do as well, and yes being islanders we are very lucky to all be within reasonable reach of the sea and fish and chips mmmmm Now there’s a thought to hold on to!

  7. 31/03/2010 3:28 pm

    Oh a magnolia, if only. So sweet and beautiful, but for such a fleeting moment

  8. 31/03/2010 3:38 pm

    Thanks for letting me have a peek where you live:-))

  9. whatshappeningatmyhouse permalink
    31/03/2010 5:28 pm

    Hiya – love your sunset photograph – fantastic xx

  10. romana permalink
    01/04/2010 2:30 pm

    bellissima la foto dalla tua finestra! sembra un pratino inglese 🙂
    hai visto quanto ti è durata la “stella di Natale” or Poinsettia (ho imparato una nuova parola)..ti è cresciuto il pollice verdeeeee

  11. 01/04/2010 5:45 pm

    That sunset is gorgeous… wow those colours are just magical!!

    I have anaphylactic shock to poinsettias. I’m a tad strange! Need an adrenaline epi-pen at all times on me during the winter months!! I think they’re gorgeous plants/flowers, but they don’t feel the same about me sadly!!

  12. cherishedbyme permalink
    01/04/2010 8:59 pm

    I love the sunset and the kitchen pictures especially. Lovely :0)

  13. 01/04/2010 11:22 pm

    Lovely photos! My favourite trees are magnolia and weeping willows too!!

  14. 02/04/2010 7:47 pm

    This is great! And thanks for your comments on mine. … I though am mostly interested by the pushchair. No London in four weeks means I can have a side by side. … What’s yours? Like it?

Leave a Reply

