Skip to content

An insight to how men feel

02/04/2010

My latest house viewer, who incidentally has returned for a second viewing, is a man. He is begrudgingly selling his five bedroom detached house after the collapse of his marriage and the past three years of singledom.

That has got to be tough. Having worked for your dream house, obtained it and then only to have it all taken away.

He has been accompanied each time by his partner for a woman’s feel on the place and she is being very positive about our little pad. They’re not moving in together as they both have teenagers who will probably fly the nest one day, for work, university or who knows? Saving their final move for a few years down the line.

He’s a good-looking bloke who you instantly feel at ease with, he was quite jovial as he walked around the house for the first time, glancing in each room. It made me wonder what on earth had happened to his previous relationship? Why had it gone all wrong?

His concerns are majorly for his children which is very touching as although they will continue to live with their mother the 16 year old son will spend every other week with him and their daughter Hannah will visit every other weekend. He wanted to make sure the rooms would be big enough for them to be comfortable.

His budget has obviously been greatly reduced as he’s had to halve any proceeds from the sale of his property with his wife but as any bargain hunter he’s looking for the max.

Our third bedroom is a box room, you can get a single bed and a bedside table/tall cabinet by the side but not much else. Ample for a weekend stay and can be done up nicely to make it even more inviting but Leigh was worried as his daughter’s current room is 17 foot.

I mentioned the fact that Hannah would have a bigger room at her mum’s and the important thing was to spend time with him.

‘Don’t talk about her mum’ he replied with a gutted look in his eye.

Three years down the line and still choking on hearing her name mentioned is sad. I felt sorry for him but I shut my mouth before I stuck my foot in it any further and left his partner to carry on the convincing. I know that hurt and it takes time to heal.

As although in my case it was the man who cheated and I was devastated that is not always the case and this gentle man has been heart broken too.

Sometimes a hurt woman can proceed in life to class all men as evil. I know it took me a long time and many debates with Paul to believe in him and more than anything else trust him and his word. This was a clear sign to me that it’s not always the man who is the wrongdoer and there are many heartbroken men out there suffering just as much.

I hope he does buy my house. He’s second viewing another before he decides and I also hope he finds the happiness he deserves in the future, all this after two brief meetings.

It’s amazing how much we pick up on someone in the shortest space of time.

Broken Heart

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/04/2010 2:07 pm

    Some people are also just more receptive to people ad their feelings. 🙂

  2. 02/04/2010 6:16 pm

    Excellent idea for a post. I think society does generally cast the men in the role of baddy in every break up and it’s easy to forget that they get hurt too.

  3. romana permalink
    03/04/2010 11:52 am

    first of all forgive me for my english..please try to understad what I’m try to say..I want only to provoke on this poor man; maybe he is like this..or not? try to imagine what our ex could say about us! or what his ex wife can say about him? who knows..

  4. 03/04/2010 6:57 pm

    I think it is amazing how much you can get someone during such a short time; I had this on more than one occasion when we were viewing our house, some people give away more than others. It is always so sad when families are split up, no matter who is at fault.

    I have left you a tag over at my place – have a lovely weekend x

Trackbacks

  1. House news « Mari's World
  2. Friends « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

