Skip to content

Friends

13/04/2010

Some of the more astute of you will have noticed the occasional comment on posts from a ‘Romana’, mainly in Italian but the last one in English.

(A photo she probably won’t appreciate me posting, here with my mum and Sofia, daughter of another friend.)

Of course I got an email via Facebook shortly after she’d commented asking me if I could understand it, how was the English and what did I think of her opinion?

No, my lovely it isn’t perfect English but I take my hat off to you for trying, and I certainly understand what you were trying to say. You were wondering what his wife would have to say about him…

Romana, was one of the first girlfriends I made in Folgaria back in ’86. A couple of years older than me, she gave off an air of confidence and a certainty about herself that was quite enviable. I found it difficult to think of her as Italian as she has the blondest of hair and the bluest of eyes that you don’t normally associate with the olive skinned, dark haired, passionate Italian.

Not that she’s not passionate mind! Get her talking politics, religion, current affairs and you’ll know immediately where you stand with her and what she thinks.

She is one of those friends who always have the right answer whether you like what she’s telling you or not. Many a time, she has told me her opinion and I have had to begrudgingly agree that she was right even if I wished with all my heart it was different.

She’s the one who sees things as they are. Not allowing herself to be swayed by public opinions and seeing through any veils or mists heading straight for the core of the matter. 

Romana was/is a bit of a rule breaker. She divorced her first husband after a couple of years swiftly realising he wasn’t The One and moved later to a tiny mountain village to live with her boyfriend (now husband) which back in 80’s Italy was Against All Of The Rules.

She held her head up high and continued to follow her heart and is still in the same village I left in 2004 living a proud and commendable life, looking  after herself, her husband and their 15 year old daughter. And still not giving tuppence about what the villagers think of her 🙂

Romana has watched me from the start of my relationship with my ex. She came to visit me in hospital when Thomas was born, we attended each others weddings and we have dried each others tears. We have argued, we have made up, we have laughed at our stupidity and shared each others lives, the ups, the downs and the absurd.

Now our friendship continues via Facebook, email and the odd telephone call and she sends her 15 year old daughter Veronica over ‘To Learn Some English’ for a week in the summer. (I do try to teach her I promise!)

She’ll be going red reading this (yes, she still goes red!) but don’t worry Romy, no one knows who you are ….yet 🙂

Do you have a friend that has stuck around like she has?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. romana permalink
    13/04/2010 2:37 pm

    Have I to thank you? 🙂 I don’t really know because I don’t understand exactly every single word !
    red? more than red! please, first of all, change my photo! 🙂
    yes you are right; I was wondering what his wife would have to say about him..I associated your post about “poor” Chicco and that “poor” man..
    The first thing that struck me about you was “that you know what you want” and..I was right 🙂
    The second thing was your English style! Who can forget your green dress and your green shoes! but maybe was those things that liked me.
    For the others things you wrote I need some English lessons..
    Veronica looks forwards to come to see you and your little princess..I hope she learn English better than me! thank you for all my “honey” 🙂

    • 14/04/2010 12:12 pm

      Ok, it’s not the best photo but I couldn’t find any others strangely. anyway, send me anohter and I’ll replace it xx
      You were jealous of my green shoes anyway! ,in the 80’s, were very Bananarama…

  2. 13/04/2010 7:35 pm

    Awww, how lovely. it’s great to have a friend like that.

    • 14/04/2010 12:13 pm

      I’m blessed with some very good friends thank goodness as they’ve been my rock in hard times.

      • romana permalink
        14/04/2010 1:21 pm

        You have some good friends because you are a special woman!

Trackbacks

  1. Watch out! There’s a teenager in the house « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

