Skip to content

What’s in your handbag?

13/04/2010

The lovely Karen at If I Could escape tagged me back at the beginning of March bestowing me with the Sunshine award too and it’s only today that I am finally ready to take on the challenge and reveal all.

So here’s my bag that I bought a couple of weeks ago as previously I had been using an enormous baby changing bag and had decided it was time to treat myself to a little normality. this bag I spotted in Carpisa a new shop opened at our local shopping mall, Bluewater – Heaven on Earth.

So out of the very handy side pocket comes car keys, house keys (in lovely Burberry holder – a present from Enrica my Italian friend when she stayed with me back in ’06) and my mobile phone with the screen saver of my two cherubs laughing on their booster seats before they were placed at the table.

Then it’s the essential kiddy bits that come first to hand. Two beakers of water, and a small plastic bag Cath Kidston bag courtesy of Easy Living magazine one month holding two nappies each, some wet wipes and a couple of nappy sacks stuffed in for luck.

Then we have my gorgeous purse, a Christmas present from Mum which holds zillions itself, (I am a big purse woman) and my glasses, this case holds my sunglasses which are prescription too for driving. I don’t have too bad eyes but when I’m tired I need my glasses.

Then I have another small bag, a Christmas gift from my niece and nephew Rosie and Billy. It’s a Nivea product containing a small mirror, emery board, small deodorant and lip gloss. I’ve also chucked in my favourite lipstick.

BRIBES!!!! I got these out of the cupboard to give you and idea as I always carry something edible for the girls when I’m out as you never know if they’re going to kick off or not. Here mini Jammy Dodgers and Mini Cheddars.

Always a pen, a little note book also courtesy of Easy Living magazine and our national lottery tickets if I’m off to the supermarket otherwise they stay home Safe and Sound…

Now we’re down to the bottom of the bag – the dregs, a few tissues packets, (note one Spanish still hanging around from our holiday in September last year!!) Another pen, two colouring sticks, (handy as all colours on one stick) an NHS Direct handy thing and an old shopping list. If I don’t write a list I come away with a load more trash than I need.

And last but not least hand cream. This and all other hand creams go missing and I’m always looking for them. If I’m in the kitchen, it’s in my bag and if I’m out it’s in the kitchen, basically never where I want when I need it. Over the past few years my skin is getting dryer and dryer and I have to moisturise more and more. I can no longer wash up or clean without gloves  as the dust seems to dry them up even more so I am a big hand cream user.

There the contents of my bag, it looks so tidy like that but usually I have to hunt for it all. Oh and if Paul is with me I’ll carry his mobile and wallet too!

The rules of the Sunshine Award are you must:

  • Put the Logo on your sidebar, or within a post.
  • Pass the award onto 12 Bloggers.
  • Link the nominees within your post.
  • Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
  • Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

Now for the tagging…

Susie at her new home New Day New Lesson

Our Private Blog

Rosie Scribble

Mad at The Madhouse

Beth at It’s My Good Life

Scribbling Mum

Livi at her new home Livi’s Little Bubble

Nickie at Typecast

Heather at Young and Younger with a massive Twin bag I imagine 🙂

Linda at You’ve got your hands full another twin mummy..

Nova at Cherished by Me

Dara at Readily a Parent

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/04/2010 3:07 pm

    Hello 🙂 Just seen your comment on my blog. Yes, I’ve already done this but it wasn’t actually part of the meme/tag thing – it was before I knew a lot of bloggers so it’s not fully photo’d up! Anyway here it is 🙂
    http://typecast2000.blogspot.com/2010/01/in-words-of-lady-bracknell-handbag.html

  2. 13/04/2010 3:22 pm

    Thanks Nickie. You don’t know how I’ve struggled to find 12 people who haven’t done it!

  3. 13/04/2010 8:37 pm

    Thanks for the tag….will add it to my growing list of things to do-lol.

    • 14/04/2010 12:20 pm

      I know that feelign, it only took me 5 weeks to complete this see if you can beat it 🙂

  4. 13/04/2010 9:51 pm

    Thank you very much. I love Bluewater too, was a time I would be there at least once every week. I went last week for the first time in ages.

    • 14/04/2010 12:21 pm

      Bluewater lifts the spirits doesn’t it?
      I’m not too far so occasionally I’ll bundle the girls into the car and walk them in the buggy round my favourite shops.
      It’s a shame they always interrupt and I have to leave before I’m ready 🙂

  5. 14/04/2010 12:25 pm

    Thank you for tagging me Mari! 🙂

    I’ve taken up the challenge and it’s here -> http://www.itsmygoodlife.co.uk/2010/04/sunshine-award-whats-in-your-handbag.html

    Hope you enjoy…

    Off to let those I’ve tagged know now, I think. 🙂

  6. 14/04/2010 3:47 pm

    oooh what a very lovely bag!
    Thankies for the taggy love too 🙂 I shall get on this handbag meme immediately!

Trackbacks

  1. Sunshine award – What’s in your handbag?

Leave a Reply

