Skip to content

Psychics, mediums, tarot, astrology – do they help?

14/04/2010

I noticed at the weekend a newspaper saying Cheryl Cole was consulting a psychic over her recent marriage breakdown and my heart went out to her.

It does seem as if us ladies in our moment of need turn to every possible means to try and gain a bigger understanding of what is happening to us.

I have tried just about everything over the years. My first trip to a medium was as I was leaving college. She predicted two marriages and a move abroad. I returned to various other psychics, tarot readers and mediums over the years especially when I was feeling most insecure.

I also started to read tarot cards myself, teaching myself from a book. I had a few ladies ask me if I could read the cards for them and they seemed to think I had ‘talent’ I ‘knew’ what was going to happen to them. My confidence grew and I discovered I was good at something. The trouble is I was so insecure that after making a cup of tea my first task of the day would be to read my cards.

One day I decided enough was enough and I threw them away, book, cards and semi precious stones kept with them to keep them ‘energised’!

But how many people run their lives with the assistance of these means?

I’m sure Cheryl would love to know what’s going to happen, where she’ll be in a year’s time and is she doing the right thing. But I think one has to take a decision and follow it through as hard as that may be.

I will admit though to having a sneaky read of  my stars each month and to getting cross with Mystic Meg should she fail to get it right. 🙂

Sometimes I have cut out a certain prediction, kept it in my purse, for courage, inspiration or just a keepsake and re read it later saying ‘Wow, it came true!’

Maybe I made it come true myself, maybe it was the stars, planets and various astrological persuasions? Who knows?

Just to prove my point I’m going to copy a bit from  a prediction I’ve been carrying around since 2003. I cut it out of an Elle (British) magazine and it was a 15 year cycle.

In 2003, I found myself alone, single and scared about my future. I ‘needed’ to have some certainties and this is what I found

2003 – 2008

This period of wonderful upheaval is all about trusting….a new life direction…your life will fill with new people, major career advancement, exciting family events…an intense love bond.

I left Italy, started up in the UK, brand new job, new man (the best ever) and the birth of our twins in July 08.

2008 – 2013

….a dynamic period for love, esp between 2010 – 2013 when marriage is accented. You and your partner will design a home, travel and expand a social world. You’ll nurture a family, build up a business and donate generously

Well! We have spoken about marriage but there’s always something else that needs the money so it slips down the priority list. New home (tick) just bought, not too sure about the business aspect though or the donations! We’ll have to wait and see.

2013 – 2018

A supercharged era, you are freed from managing other people’s lives and a demanding career. around 2015-2016 you’ll take a risk and end up winning.

And there you have it. I don’t live by this piece of paper but it’s nice to look back on every now and then and check to see. I only wish I knew the name of the astrologer so I could Google her.

How about you? Do you use tarot or astrology in your daily life? would you be tempted to consult a medium? I’d love to hear.

Photo

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/04/2010 3:42 pm

    I read tarot but I make a point of reading them a maximum of once a month, they’re only supposed to be a guide, plus I believe that it’s only an “if you carry on down this path this will happen” kind of thing.
    I do believe in all that kind of thing but I don’t let it rule my life. I do think that it’s very open to abuse by people out to make a fast buck though. There should be some law or something that anyone going through tough times/depressed/generally easily led should not be allowed to have their tarot/palms/tea leaves/etc read.
    Just my 2 cents!

    • 16/04/2010 1:05 pm

      and thank you very much! 🙂
      I did imagine you could have possibly dabbled as I remember reading you are wiccan am I right? 🙂

  2. Jean permalink
    15/04/2010 10:53 am

    What would have been interesting would be if you kept all 12 signs predictions from Elle to see how much of those also came to pass. Personally I think astrology consists of blanket statements which you apply to your own circumstances and discard those which don’t fit. I’m not a great believer in destiny or fate, although I love coincidence and serendipity, but I don’t feel it’s a greater force at work. Still … live and let live … whatever people need to get by, I suppose it’s part of their quest to find meaning and comprehension of who we are and what we’re supposed to be doing here!

    • 16/04/2010 1:07 pm

      Yep, you’re right about the blanket statements. I read through all 12 signs in a mag yesterday and more or less everyone is going to have to clear out some old for some new in the month of May.
      so get clearing out dear 🙂

  3. 15/04/2010 8:53 pm

    Gypsy Rose Lee trapped me in the car park “Let me read your palm!” How much? “£5” OK! “Love line you have 2 men in your life” Wrong I’ve 10 – 1 husband 2 sons and 7 grandsons. ” You are very lucky” How come I can’t win lotto.” You’ve been cheated out £22,000 but you will get it back” Soon I’ll be too old to enjoy it. “Shall I make a wish for you?” How much? ” £5″ No thank you I’ll take my chances. She pressed what she called a crystal in my hand – looks like a glass bead to me.But I keep holding it and making my own wishes – some even come true !!

    • 16/04/2010 1:08 pm

      Now those kind of ladies scare the living daylights out of me! I get shivers down my spine and feel the need to run a mile when they make a bee line fo me.
      I probably get untold curses put on me because of this too 🙂

  4. 22/04/2010 1:09 am

    I have never had my palm or tarot cards read as I have to admit to being very supersitious. I do read my horoscopes on and off though and it’s usually pretty true to what is occurring but maybe that’s because I am your typical Virgo.

Leave a Reply

