Skip to content

What Roberta did next..

20/04/2010

Roberta and I met many many moons ago. We were both in our early twenties, full of life and love and enthusiasm for out futures.

Roberta already had a little boy from a marriage that had already collapsed and was a single mum juggling childcare, dreams and general life commitments like the most of us.

A brilliant skier she and my ex husband would find themselves every year up at Passo Tonale fighting for a place on the Maestro di Sci course (ski instructors) which was incredibly difficult to obtain. Please rest assured should you ski in Italy the instructors are incredibly talented as only the best get through to the numbered places.

She did get there eventually, she also had another little boy from a different relationship that also collapsed even if this time it lasted a little longer.

During one of her last relationships she was convinced by her then partner to sell up her house in Northern Italy and invest in a farm in Tuscany, an agriturismo as they are known in Italy. Against public opinion, she sold up and followed her heart and her man and moved down to southern Tuscany with children in tow uprooting them and starting afresh with a new dream.

I had lost touch with her over the months and years and on the breakdown of my own marriage and my decision to return to the UK I took my own children for a holiday in Sardegna before I left Italy for good. On our way back the ferry dropped us at Piombino so I drove over to Roberta’s to check up on her.

I found her in a dreadful state, the evening before there had been an incredible argument and he had walked out again leaving her to cope with everything. The farm had had some work done on it but was nowhere near completion and what she needed was funding as she had run out of money.

She showed me around the place, I could see where the apartments were going to be, I saw the room where she made honey and she patiently explained the process to me. I listened to all of her plans and helplessly shrugged my shoulders at her dilemma, I had no money to invest and couldn’t help her even if I wanted to my own life sitting on a precarious line as it was.

When I worked at the Italian Tourist Board I wrote a monthly newsletter and would include her farm as often as I could but still felt it wasn’t enough until now.

Recently she sent me an email with this link and I am so proud of her. She has turned the place around and it looks beautiful There are four different apartments to choose from at Pian d’Acquaio each expertly designed with all the latest mod cons.

Please go and have a look at what she has achieved, a remarkable woman. She gets my 1st womanomics award! But I have yet to create a badge for it 🙂

If you haven’t been to Tuscany I would truly recommend it. Situated in middle Italy it offers the sea, the country and the beautiful towns of Florence, Pisa, Grossetto, Siena and many many more. The food is beyond culinary paradise and I’d heartily recommend a Bistecca Fiorentina washed down with a bottle of red Tuscan wine, an experience to die for.

I don’t have a mammoth readership but if you do like what you see, please pass it on. She’s worked incredibly hard and someone might like to take a visit there. I know they will love it and I’m booking for next year.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. romana permalink
    20/04/2010 2:13 pm

    Mary you are great! she will’be happy for this! kisses

  2. ourprivateblog permalink
    20/04/2010 5:07 pm

    I’ve checked the website out and we will DEFINITELY be going!!!

  3. camilla permalink
    20/04/2010 7:36 pm

    Ciao Marianne, Roberta sara’ felice per le bellissime parole che hai scritto, complimenti. Baci

  4. 20/04/2010 7:43 pm

    Really lovely post.

  5. ladyblahblahs permalink
    21/04/2010 8:17 pm

    That looks beautiful, and we are just planning an Italian holiday, so well planned for us. We love Tuscany… and all Italy really. Will show the old man.

  6. 22/04/2010 9:16 am

    Oh wow, it looks like a lovely place…

    Well done to her! 🙂

Leave a Reply

