Skip to content

Possessions

26/04/2010

Of course it’s not until you start packing away your worldly possessions that you realise just how much junk you’ve accumulated over the years and usually I’m quite good at ‘one in one out’

Thanks to all of my house moves I have kept down the amount of treasures to keep and each move means a huge clear out.

I have already packed off three charity sacks, I have a huge shopper full of books to go and a car load of junk to take to the dump…and I’m not finished.

When I came back from Italy I set up home in a three bed terraced home, as I had left most of my belongings in Italy I accepted all offers of second-hand goods from family and friends in order to have a comfortable home. Needs m ust as they say.

Then I moved in with Paul and he too, bachelor, had a load of tripe bits and pieces given to him from family or bought in second-hand shops when setting up home. Previous ladies had tried their best at making a home of his house but had taken the best bits with them when they left. So we lived in a mixed home for a few years, neither of us wanting to relinquish what we thought to be important 🙂

Then along came the twins and with them their own massive collection of goods!!! And that is what I’m desperately trying to sell via www.beansprog.com or Ebay. Car seats, sheepskin rugs for them, double buggy, double buggy sunshade (SPF 50!), footmuffs and the list goes on. Not to mention all of my maternity gear.

I tried convincing Paul to assist me in a boot sale thinking it would be quirky, fun but he’s having none of it.

‘Give it all away, or I’ll take it to the dump.’

But you see there’s a part of me that thinks it’s tragic to throw away articles when they are in perfectly good condition.

I felt a sinner last week when he chucked out two perfectly good Christmas trees (we really don’t need three!) for the dustmen to collect and I have been hoping they had the good sense to take them to a charity shop or find a new home.

‘Why didnt’ I dispose of them sensibly?’ you ask. Well Paul was in a hurry to get things done and before I knew it the decision had been made but he won’t be beating me again.

I am a woman with a mission and if it doesn’t sell I’ll take it all to a charity shop the day before we move.

Have you a loft full of junk memories you find hard to part with?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/04/2010 1:18 pm

    I am like Paul sorry. lol

  2. 26/04/2010 1:26 pm

    I really will be writing a post like this soon!

    As you know we’re moving again in the next month, and it’s hectic. This time round we have the extra baby stuff to move, and oh dear it is not fun.. In fact I’m burying my head in the sand, and pretending it isn’t happening. I will have to wake up very soon though.

    I’ve got 2 boxes of stuff to put on ebay, but I’ve decided (probably stupidly) to leave it until after the move, which means we’re lugging more around, but it should start disappearing soon.

    Beth

    • 28/04/2010 3:35 pm

      …yeah, I have the feeling the ebay stuff will be coming along to be sold at a future date too 🙂

  3. ourprivateblog permalink
    26/04/2010 4:18 pm

    I have a very hard heart when it comes to chucking things out – unfortunately my boys are real hoarders!!! – I so want to get my hands on what is in thier rooms’!!!!

    • 28/04/2010 3:36 pm

      Ha ha, I remember my tommy as a boy even kept stones in his room, his school bag and I even found them in the car!!

  4. 26/04/2010 8:01 pm

    Dmn Now you’ve reminded me ! I have boxes galore in the lofts thst I haven’t unpacked since moving here 15 years ago ( I know what’s in them ‘cos it’s written on the outside.) I don’t consider them junk but others do. Will make a fortune at a boot fair one day .

  5. 28/04/2010 2:12 pm

    I absolutely must have a yard sale as they call them over here. Got loads of junk to sell off.

Leave a Reply

