Skip to content

All the fours – 44!

29/04/2010

That is what I am today, 44.

The number itself does nothing for me and I’m happy to say I am not one of those women who find the increasing number so dreadful. It doesn’t scare me, I’m not embarrassed of it and it doesn’t bother me in the slightest.

I mean the number gets higher and there’s nothing you can do about it, so get on with it. My great-grandmother died a month off 103 which was pretty good going and my grandmother will be celebrating her 90th this year, so I guess I could be in for a long run around here.

I can remember back in my teens working out how old I’d be in the New Millenium and thinking 40 something was ‘well past it’ but now I’m here I embrace it and enjoy it. And more importantly I don’t feel 44!

There is something about this stage of life that I am so thoroughly enjoying and that is accepting me for me. Realising I most likely won’t be perfect, ever. That my boobs will never look as good as Pamela Andersons’, I will never have Elle’s body which is a shame but there you go. I doubt very much I will ever be a famous singer now or a famous actress but that’s ok.

I am happy.

In fact my 40’s have been the best years yet because I am happy with who I am and that is the most amazing corner to turn. Such a sigh of relief.

I think I have started my menopause but it’s very difficult to tell and apparently it can go on for years. I must be one of a very few women who are quite ‘excited’ about the menopause. In as much as I’m tracking it with curiosity, I like to know what’s happening with my body and I’m not afraid of talking about it. The ‘Best Not Talk About It’ is certainly not for me. It happens, it’s a natural process, why all the hush then? This also probably stems from my mission to get pregnant once past 40, not an easy feat but one that can be obtained.

So, what would I like to accomplish in the next year?

Well I’d like to be settled in our new house with hopefully a good part of the decorating done.

I would like to get over to Italy more or have Megan and Gracey over here more that certainly needs working on but now the girls are a little bigger, hopefully that will become easier too.

I would like to have nailed this blog as I still feel it’s in its puppy days and I would like to have rewritten my book but time is always against me on that one.

So cheers to you all, Paul and I are taking the girls to Godstone Farm today so please let there be nice weather and in the evening I’m off for a meal with the mum’s from the Twin’s Club as without realising it they’d set their mum’s night out date on my birthday. Cool!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 29/04/2010 8:28 am

    Happy Birthday. Wow the girls look so much like you. They are adorable

  2. 29/04/2010 10:34 am

    Happy Birthday Mari! I hope you have a great day, and it’s so great to hear somebody say they are not afraid of getting older.
    I’m 24 in May and rather than thinking I’m getting older I’m more shocked about how quickly it’s come around, even leaving school I thought being 24 was in the very distant future. Never in a million years would I have thought I’d have two beautiful children.

    Happy Birthday and have a wonderful day! 😀

  3. 29/04/2010 5:16 pm

    happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. 29/04/2010 7:21 pm

    Happy birthday! And good for you being honest about your age. I like to be honest about it too (36 this year), maybe one day I’ll be shy about it. I love the confidence I’ve found with getting older. Thirties are so much better than twenties and you’re encouraging me to feel good about forties too!

  5. 29/04/2010 8:55 pm

    A belated Happy Birthday. Hope you had fun, haven’t been there for years. xx

  6. 29/04/2010 10:20 pm

    Belated Happy Birthday ! Age is a nonsense I reckon, it’s all about how you feel, how happy you are and how much you make of your time here.

  7. 30/04/2010 2:10 pm

    Happy Hoppy Hippy birthday. ‘Change of life’ Havent’ we been doing that for years? No problem ! Life is for living and love is forgiving

  8. 30/04/2010 8:16 pm

    Happy Birthday 😀 It’s so good that you’re embracing it and are happy with yourself and your life. Life’s here to enjoy 😀 Hope you had a wonderful day

  9. 01/05/2010 12:49 pm

    thak you everybody for your kind commments and apologies for not getting back sooner but I have been spoilt over the past couple of days and now it’s my turn to spoil Paul as he’s the birthday boy on Monday.
    Thanks once again and don’t be afraid of the 40’s 🙂

Leave a Reply

