Skip to content

Dear Gracey,

10/05/2010

Gracey 9 months - England

I am having so much fun with you here in my house for so many days that I just had to tell you.

We hit it off right from the word go when you gave me an enormous smile at the airport. You flashed those pretty blue eyes and I was yours from then on. I’m so glad you have inherited the Whooley blue eyes, all four of my children missed out and got shades of hazel and green (beautiful the same I hasten to add) but finally you shine through with blue, hoorah!

You are a very ‘good’ baby. You eat everything that is put in front of you, you sleep when you are put in your cot and you play nicely, very interested in all of your aunties toys. Your aunties, on the other hand have for the first time showed their jealousy at having to share their mum with another little person share their toys and watch you take the limelight…it’s all a learning curve for them. They’re still not quite sure what to make of you but I can see Bessie slowly coming round. This morning she stroked your hair and passed you your dummy when you had dropped it. Both girls have learnt to say your name and I’m sure once Alice feels a little better she too will want to play with you.

Alice has gone down with the bug Bessie had the other day and is poorly today. Both mummy and I are praying you don’t get it too. We’re watching you  like a hawk but ‘touch wood’ so far so good.

Mummy took me for my word when I said come with an empty suitcase so for two days you’ve had to wear your aunties clothes which are little too big, but you don’t care. Thank goodness this morning we managed to get out and shop. Now you have a mini wardrobe to start on and tomorrow we’ll get some more beautiful things for you.

I’m amazed to see you pull yourself up all over the place and I reckon you’ll be walking very soon, you remind me of your uncle Tommy who was also a very early walker. We can see you slowly relax in this strange house and as you do so, you talk more and laugh more, it’s a pleasure to have you around Gracey I only wished I could see you more often.

In fact we’ll have to organise ourselves so we get to catch up at leat four times a year, fingers crossed eh?

Well my lovely granddaughter I want you to remember more than anything else that although we may live far apart you are always in my thoughts and will forever hold a very special place in my heart.

Love nana xxx

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/05/2010 3:51 pm

    Hi Nana Gracey is a cutey – it’s a girls world ENJOY

  2. 10/05/2010 8:22 pm

    Awww, that’s lovely.

Leave a Reply

