Skip to content

Goodbye to being broody

12/05/2010

Since having the girls there has been a teeny tiny part of me that yearned for another child. (Yes,I know it’s complete madness and I put it down to raging hormones)

At times this broodiness was so strong that I would wait for my monthly cycle with both fingers crossed and be quite disappointed when it did arrive. I wouldn’t get rid of my maternity gear, books, breastfeeding cushion and untold other bits and bobs that go along with neo-mammas.

However I am cured! Hoorah!

After 5 days with 3 baby girls in the house, admittedly my two have swopped a bug back and forth between them and Gracey seems to be cutting her top teeth, I have gone totally off the idea and won’t be revisiting it again any time soon.

We have had 5 days of tantrums (My two, especially when I cuddle Gracey) tears (whenever Gracey goes for a toy) and goddamn hard work. I am totally bushed. My nights have been broken for 10 days now and my days have been full of screams and whines. I’m at the end of my tether.

My two are very suspicious of this other little person crawling around and pulling herself up all over the place and should she, God forbid, touch one of them the answer is a loud noise setting Gracey off in tears followed by all three of them moaning.

Arrrrggghhhhh!

Yes, it is so much hard work that any idea of another sweet little baby to love and cuddle has gone totally out of the window to return no longer. My exhaustion has put right that silly notion.

As hard as it is I want you to know that I am loving this moment and wouldn’t give it up for the world. I’ll be very sad to see them leave but also pleased when peace and tranquillity are restored once again. I look forward to the days when the toddler jealousy is a thing of the past and these three little ladies can get down and enjoy each others company. In the meantime patience in abundance is needed, please send your extra over here 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. romana permalink
    12/05/2010 10:08 am

    hello darling! beautiful girls! happy for you..remember you have got 4..! starting gardening 🙂 lots of hugs and kisses !

  2. 12/05/2010 10:31 am

    Lol! Glad your somewhat enjoying it even if it is stressful!
    Moments like those do give us an insight dont they into what life could be like if we chose it to be!

  3. 12/05/2010 11:55 am

    Good to see the 3 girls (looks like they are keeping their distance)
    No more babies on the want list -ha ha. But be sure to keep the cot. We still have ours!

  4. ourprivateblog permalink
    13/05/2010 4:52 pm

    I love your blog and it always touches me – I went the other way – left England for Italy and never realised how my Mum felt about it (I’m not good on talking feelings with her) – reading how excited you were about Megan’s visit, how you feel about spending time with the Gracey, how much you miss them both makes me think that in fact my Mum missed me more than I realised – thankyou Mari

    • 14/05/2010 1:36 pm

      I’m sure she does miss you every day. I left the UK for Italy but when my marriage failed I decided to come back. Now I live with one shoe in each country as my two older children are in Italy and my twins are here with me. If nothing else it makes an interesting life! Busy but good

  5. 13/05/2010 9:00 pm

    Oh I’m with you on that one! I always thought that there was part of me that could keep going but I have decided that I’m done with my two, we’re complete. I’m pooped and I don’t want to be too knackered by the time it’s just me and the lovely boy enjoying our time together you know? I went to the docs today as I’ve been feeling a bit run down and 1st thing she asked was could I be pregnant. Hah! I very quickly answered of course not but then had that whole ‘what would I do?’ internal debate. What would I do? I’d fall over that’s what!

    • 14/05/2010 1:38 pm

      Pick yourself up dear. IF I should fall pregnant I would keep the baby without shadow of a doubt but after last week I don’t know if I could cope as the girls are getting more and more independant and needy.
      Paul doesn’t want anymore as he’s already counting down the days of the 23+ years left before he can retire!

  6. 14/05/2010 1:46 pm

    Awww, that’s what we all need isn’t it to stave off any broody feelings. I cuddled a little one this week & then was cooing over the pictures of Sandra Bullocks new adopted baby and now I’m feeling terribly broody!!

    • 14/05/2010 1:56 pm

      Oh, I still get to feel broody. As you say just holding a newborn pushes an internal button that is indestructable.
      But my God was it hard work!

Leave a Reply

