Skip to content

Memory loss or senior moments?

18/05/2010

Funky old lady

I’ve done it again.

I came on to write something incredibly interesting, witty, intelligent, up-to-date and mind-boggling but then I started searching my poor confused brain and bang it’s all gone from my mind.

What was I going to write about?

Earlier whilst feeding the girls, I thought to myself, ‘Must go to the kitchen to get a yoghurt for them’. Off I trotted and on arrival (it’s not that far) I looked around the kitchen and asked myself ‘What did I come here for?’

That’s scary.

It happens all the time, I go upstairs to get a new toilet roll for the downstairs loo and once up there, I haven’t a clue what I came up for.

It’s annoying, it’s time-wasting and I need to stop it.

My memory has never been one of my fortes. I mean studying for GCSE’s I was the kind that had to pass months with her nose in books going over and over and over again until some information would sink through and singe itself on the back of my brain.

Poor me! How I envied those who could spend an hour on books whilst watching Doctor Who AND  remember everything.

Yes these days if I don’t write it down on a scrap of paper it’s gone. Hence my passionate love of lists.

I forget song titles or the names of the people who sang them. I just popped over to Dotterel who’s blogged about the worst songs ever and check out my comment. Rubbish. Like – Mr Dotterel, here’s the info work it out for yourself! Very poor.

It’s frustrating. I have the brain training DS Nintendo (but I lent it to my mum who’s on holiday) I do Sudoku, I read and I’m ok-ish as for the intelligent stakes so where’s my memory going or could this be the onset of something more sinister? That’s all I need!

I’m going to say it’s exhaustion from looking after my little darlings who every day need more and more of me and I’m struggling to keep up with them both. I think my input in their lives is so complete that I’m physically drained by the time Paul gets home and I just look forward to a moronic evening in front of the telly until I collapse on him around 9 – 9.30pm. Sometimes I can’t even answer his questions I’m so zonked out. Who needs cannabis when you can just have twins?

Have you ever suffered such chronic tiredness and how did you get out of it?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. romana permalink
    18/05/2010 3:55 pm

    hello I ‘m Romana do you remember me? 🙂 excuse me but there is also something funny ..
    take the good in your forgetting..up and down the stairs is very good for your body; you don’t nedd to do gag
    I think everyone forget something every day; maybe, at the end, they are not very important! your mind is occupied in more important things like new house..holidays and so on
    see you soon ..kisses

    • 19/05/2010 1:51 pm

      Very funny Romy!
      Yes, I am over stretched at the moment that’s true, just can’t wait for it all to be over x

  2. ourprivateblog permalink
    18/05/2010 4:35 pm

    Oh boy!! Chrinic tiredness??? we are best buddies!!!

  3. 19/05/2010 12:22 am

    They say that everytime you produce a baby you lose 9% of your brain cells – that’s where the babies get their Omega 3s from in your body. So you lost 18% when those two were born. And then you haven’t slept a decent night since forever.
    I think you’re doing remarkably well if you remember to put your shoes on most days before you go outside. Oh yeah, and I’m not sure if you remember this, but there’s been the whole moving house thing?
    Un-hunh. Don’t worry. I don’t think it’s permanent. I’ve been pumping out kids every two years for the last six years, but I’m beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel. The other day I grocery shopped without a list and managed to remember almost everything – I have a mental block against toilet paper and saran wrap, though.
    In a couple of years this will all be a dim memory (though not too dim, I hope!)

    • 19/05/2010 1:53 pm

      Cheers Dana!
      At least I’ll be able to come back here and read what I did…if I can remember my password by then that is 🙂

  4. 19/05/2010 7:40 pm

    I do that all the time so have taken to emailing or texting myself. Sad, I know. LOL

    • 20/05/2010 1:10 pm

      emailing and texting yourself, now that is scary! I do have a dreadful habit of talking to myself though!

  5. Alessandra permalink
    20/05/2010 2:17 pm

    Fear not, Marianne, it’s not the onset of something sinister, it’s called being a woman. We, unlike the other half of the human race, multitask so much that the brain is bound to overload…at that point, we start forgetting things. I have a pocket diary and note-pads dotted around the house, my pockets are full of little notes I write to myself, my desk is covered in colourful stick-it notes…I even write notes which I leave on the floor just inside the front door so I have to step over them in the morning to go out to work and I might just remeber to do the things I’ve written down…the list (pan intended) is endless.
    The solution: accept that you will occasionally find yourself in a room staring at the wall not having a clue about why you are there in the first place, learn to delegate…or stock up on bright stick-it notepads! Blessings xx

    • 21/05/2010 12:23 pm

      Bright colourful stick it notepads are definitely going to become part of my household from now on 🙂
      Good to see you as always xx

Leave a Reply

