Skip to content

House news update

22/05/2010

Our new lounge. No 1 on the redecor list!

So near and yet so far, that’s where we are currently. 

It’s a five house chain and we’re at the end of it praying that all goes smoothly so we can move soon. 

Our solicitor has confirmed that we are ready to go with contracts signed but it’s the others who are holding us up, Mr Elliot, our buyer, was on holiday last week (cheek!) and the first time buyers at the bottom of the chain are buying a leasehold which apparently needs more legal work. 

We have been told that we may expect an exchange this coming week with a date for moving obviously on that contract. We are off to Lake Garda on the 10th June so we’re hoping to move before then but realise this may not be possible. If so it’ll be after the 27th on our return. Watch this space. 

Our new place is currently empty as the family moved out in February so I cheekily asked the estate agents acting for both if us to see if, after we’ve paid the 10% deposit along with the signed contracts, would she be happy for me to go in one weekend and clean the place as it’s been standing closed for so long? Not only that but it would make our moving in easier, especially where the girls are concerned. 

She doesn’t mind, so long as she knows beforehand so she can go along and check for post. Brilliant news! So that’ll be coming up in a week or two I hope. 

Our house is looking more and more like a warehouse every day as I find things I won’t be needing and pack them away in boxes. I have already found I’ve packed things I need, like the needlework basket for some buttons that need sewing and CD’s as I seem to have lost my iTunes (?) dammit. 

This morning I spent a couple of hours in our back garden, trimming back all the growth (it was everywhere!), I’m pleased with the result and hope it looks a little better now for Mr Elliot. I was also thinking of writing him a note with details of rubbish night, who the neighbours are and other things that come to mind that he may find useful. 

Should I tell him that over the past weeks, ok months, the downstairs toilet flush makes a funny noise on use? If he opens the cold tap the noise disappears, it’s obviously not mega important but I don’t know whether to let him find out by himself or not? 

Nice weather today, we’re most likely going to the beach tomorrow and this evening we’re invited to a barbecue with our good friends where I hope a photo opportunity arises for Tara‘s The Gallery this week. I’ve missed it for a while now so it would be nice to catch up with her. 

Have a great weekend all, Mari 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/05/2010 7:43 pm

    am keeping my fingers crossed for a smooth move

    • 24/05/2010 12:21 pm

      Thank you 🙂 It can’t come quick enough now, fingers crossed we get an exchange this week with a moving date…

  2. porridgebrain permalink
    23/05/2010 9:38 pm

    Look at that floor! Wowee!

    Good luck with the move honey! x

    • 24/05/2010 12:18 pm

      Floor is lovely but can’t do with that wallpaper, one of the first jobs and can’t wait to rip it off 🙂

Leave a Reply

