Skip to content

Friendship – The gallery

25/05/2010

Tara from Sticky Fingers is running a brilliant photography get together called The Gallery and I’ve missed a couple of weeks recently as house moving and other commitments took priority but this weeks theme ‘Friendship’ was perfect as we received a last minute invite to a barbeque on Saturday night as our friends were dog sitting ‘Blue’, the family pet who is the grand old age of 14.   

Blue - aged 14

An incredibly docile soul, he’s put up with the family’s five grandchildren climbing over him and now he was quite happy for my two to pick and prod and stroke and make a fuss.   

So while Grandma and granddad were away in Rye celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary, their kids and families and friends (us) were living it up in their back garden!   

Rozie teaches the twins a trick or two

One of those ‘If you fancy coming along’ evenings that as always turn out to be better than the planned events in the diary.   

Only a short walk from our house, we pushed the girls in the buggy armed with our burgers and minty lamb kebabs, our booze for the melting pot and all sorts of bits and bobs to keep the twins clean, dry and amused and off we trotted as the sun started making its way down for the night.   

Firing up the barbie

The men did the manly thing of watching the coals and drink beer whilst catching up on the latest football results. These lads go back years, in fact it would be fairer to say these are Paul’s friends that are now mine too as he grew up with them and I only came along a few years back.   

Teatime at the zoo

The girls meantime were sorting out the children’s food who were all starving by this point and as they ate at the table, Paul and I gave the twins their bottle of milk – not too successful as there was far too much going on that they wanted to be part of.   

Our family

The one thing I love about the informal evenings is that it’s so relaxing, allowing you to get on with catching up rather than having to make small talk.   

We talked a lot about Kay and Dan’s twin pregnancy now up to 24 weeks. I just love it when a twin pregnancy reaches reaches that point, before that mark I’m always a little hesitant and worried. But no, their twins are non ID making an easier pregnancy to carry    

Kay's 24 week twin bump!

Isn’t hers a fabulous bump and growing by the day. In fact one of my very first posts when I was still getting the hang of this malarkey was her news 🙂   

It’s funny how you meet people throughout life. Some will turn out to be there for the long run and others are just passers-by.   

When I first met these people I’d come from a bad relationship and sadly had seen so much betrayal all around me that it led me to believe there was no staying power left in the world. Everyone cheated on their beloved sooner or later. I remember discussing this with Paul and he was so adamant that his friends weren’t like that I started to believe again, initially very sceptically but as the years have passed I agree with him.   

Dinner is served

It would be a lovely thought to think that these people here will still be a part of my life in years to come and we can share our families, our hopes and our dreams.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Mikaela Freeman permalink
    25/05/2010 2:58 pm

    Great piccies Mari…..not too sure about the piccie of me scoffing my face though.

  2. 26/05/2010 1:26 pm

    Impromptu get togethers like those are the best ones. Lovely pictures. X

    • 26/05/2010 1:38 pm

      I couldn’t agree more with you, some of my best evenings have been the impromptu ones.

  3. 26/05/2010 2:07 pm

    What a lovely set of photos! Lots of smiles & happiness!

    Let me know how you want to do the guest swap on Friday!

  4. 26/05/2010 4:01 pm

    Lovely photos, spur of the moment gettogethers are always the best:) Can’t believe the dog is 14, wow! Jen.

    • 27/05/2010 7:13 am

      I know, 14 is a grand old age. He’s deaf and more or less blind and the family know he won’t be around for much longer but he has touched a chord with everyone and will be sorely missed by all.

  5. Red Ted Art permalink
    26/05/2010 4:23 pm

    Sounds like a lovely “friends” day! Lovely photos!

  6. 26/05/2010 5:34 pm

    Sounds like a perfect evening, I feel more relaxed just looking at it. How lovely that they have restored your faith in fidelity!

    • 27/05/2010 7:12 am

      It was relaxing and although I still have my doubts sometimes about relationships, I have more faith now than I’ve had for a long long time.

  7. 27/05/2010 2:02 am

    Lovely photos my lovely! Those are the best kinds of get togethers aren’t they? x

    • 27/05/2010 7:08 am

      They certainly are and that’s just one more reason I love the summer 🙂

  8. 28/05/2010 12:25 pm

    It looks like a wonderful evening, and a great bunch of people 😀

    • 28/05/2010 12:28 pm

      Yes, it was a lovely evening and they’re great mates – thanks for popping by

Leave a Reply

