Skip to content

Dreaming of a red wedding

27/05/2010

Writing workshopJosie at Sleep is for the Weak has set words for this week’s challenge in her writing workshop and I chose – A wedding as my topic.  

Mainly because, along with many many other little girls my wedding was going to be so fabulous. The beautiful white dress, the swanky location, the video, the photos, the cars, the guests, the list was endless. Of course back then I didn’t tot up costs as I went along!  

As it turns out my wedding was so far from what I had dreamt of as a child. I got married in a beautiful mountain village, Folgaria, in Trentino, northern Italy and my family travelled over the UK to be there. My son Thomas was one and a half that 7th October and I dressed him in trousers and shirt with a  small bow tie, he looked so cute.  

However, one day I will tell you about that wedding, when I have a scanner and can get the photos from the album to the PC in the meantime, let’s chat about my wedding to Paul.  

We’ve been engaged now for 4 years but spent most of this time trying for a child before my body clock stopped completely, then we got double lucky with our twin girls so most all of our finances were drained yet again. Now we are moving house and there seems to be quite a lot of work to do on the place so it seems this wedding of ours remains a dream for a little while more.

But the guest list has already been drawn up and thoughts on how to spend the day have been carefully pondered over, time and time again 🙂  

Whereas it would be a second wedding for me it’s still Paul’s first and will therefore have to be memorable and just so. For a man he’s surprisingly adamant on what he wants and what he doesn’t.  

Heale House in Wiltshire

A church wedding, says he….but we don’t go to church! Isn’t that a little hypocritical? How about a nice venue with the possibility of getting married there? There must be a bar in the main hall, says he. The best wedding I’ve ever been to had one and kept all the people together for the party. Good point.  

A red dress. Could I? Would I? Wouldn’t it be fabulous? Wouldn’t it be jaw dropping? With the girls dressed in white and matching red sashes.. not pillar box red a more blood-red, a Cabernet Sauvignon red 🙂 This is still an ongoing idea and not quite definite but I’d love to do it. I’m sure the Sikh or is it Hindu ladies get married in red…?  

Dream dress

The day would have an 11am civil wedding in a beautiful country manor, whilst we have a few photos the guests can mingle with beers for the guys (they don’t do champagne – let’s be honest!) champagne for the ladies and some soft drinks or the little ones.  

A sumptuous three course meal ‘Nothing too fancy’ he says.(none of that nouveau cuisine for my man who likes to fill his belly up)  How about a good old British roast then? With all the trimmings? ..mmmm.  

Cup cakes! I adore them and they look so pretty.  

The flowers (mine) to be a multitude of bright colours, no wishy-washy nonsense.  

A nanny or clown, to entertain all of the little ones we have in our crowd.  

In the evening a band to play all the old favourites and a bit of new stuff for the teenagers and a must is a bit of air guitar when the guys are partying, nothing better than seeing them ‘play’ air guitar on the dance floor.  

Bon Jovi – I know, it’s not my favourite either, but my fella is a hardcore fan and apparently our wedding song will be one of theirs.  How romantic!

That night to be spent in the same country manor with the opportunity for our friends to stay over too so we can dance till dawn ( well gone midnight) and at breakfast sit and chat about the Did you sees… and the Do you remember whens….  

A wedding to remember, a party to let your hair down. Now where’s my Euro lottery ticket….

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    27/05/2010 10:17 am

    Red dress? … do it … I did

    Bon Jovi? … leave that well alone!

    • 27/05/2010 12:40 pm

      Jeanie!!! You look fabulous.
      and I’m afraid you’re gonna have to listen to Mr Jovi so I suggest you practice your air guitar….

  2. 27/05/2010 11:32 am

    Sounds fantastic! And the red dress would be incredible, my mum wore red with white lace over the top. It’s your wedding, you should wear what you like, I’m sure you’d look stunning in red!
    And don’t knock Bon Jovi!

    • 27/05/2010 12:42 pm

      How can I knock Jovi? I’ve got a ticket to see the guy next week at the O2 but no babysitter so Paul must go alone. Ahhh
      Actually, don’t tell Jeanie but I quite like some of their stuff 🙂

      • Jean permalink
        28/05/2010 9:18 am

        I’ll admit, when I was young, I was a fan, but don’t tell anyone 😉

  3. 27/05/2010 12:06 pm

    LOVE the idea of a red dress 😀

  4. 27/05/2010 2:14 pm

    Sounds idyllic! I wore green with a slashed skirt showing a red underskirt. I hope it is wonderful for you both!

  5. 27/05/2010 2:25 pm

    I think a red dress is traditional in China–red is good luck in China, I know that for certain! This sounds like it will be a fantastic day, very well thought out! I too had a second wedding and I must say, it was far far FAR better than my first!! I was much more relaxed about the whole thing for a start. Good luck and have fun!!! PS I love Bon Jovi 😉

    • 27/05/2010 2:33 pm

      Hey Bon Jovi fan, nice to meet you. I’m sure this day when we finally manage to have it will be wonderful and I’m sure I’ll write about it here.

  6. 27/05/2010 2:27 pm

    What fun!! I hope you have a wonderful, wonderful day!! It really sounds like you will. And anyway, my hubby and I refer to our first weddings as our ‘practice weddings’ so this one will go very well! The red dress sounds completely fantastic. Best wishes for a truly amazingly lovely day!!!! x

    • 27/05/2010 2:35 pm

      Yes, Practice weddings sounds right.
      We’re still a way off the wedding but at least it should be easy to organise as I’ve thought it all through 🙂

  7. 27/05/2010 3:50 pm

    Firstly I LOVE Bob Jovi!! There are some really romantic songs honest, ‘I’ll be there for you’ is a good one, and secondly I love the idea of a red dress x

    • 27/05/2010 3:51 pm

      That should have been Bon Jovi, my fingers move faster than my brain sometimes

    • 31/05/2010 2:47 pm

      thank you, let’s hope it happens and then I can blog that too!

  8. 28/05/2010 10:39 am

    Dream on !!!

  9. porridgebrain permalink
    28/05/2010 8:23 pm

    Oh I am so excited for you! I didn’t know you and Paul weren’t married. How lovely that you still have this in your future. Planning weddings is so much fun.

    x

  10. 29/05/2010 4:05 pm

    Lovely Post & a lovely wedding – Can I come please> 🙂

    Definitely a RED dress!!!!

    Hugs

    Beth

    • 31/05/2010 2:50 pm

      Wouldn’t it be lovely to invite everyone you know? Sadly I don’t think the purse strings will stretch to it. BUT should I win the lottery – you’re on! 🙂

  11. 01/06/2010 9:23 am

    With all your planning and thought you will have a great day and I wish you every happiness! The cupcakes were my daughter’s idea for her wedding, they looked great and were delicious.

    • 01/06/2010 12:07 pm

      Thank you for popping by and thanks for your kind thoughts, I shall pop over and see the ‘wine meastro’ blog asap 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Dreaming of a red wedding « Mari's World | Red Wedding Dress

Leave a Reply

