Skip to content

Makes Sense

28/05/2010

I’m very excited today as it’s guest post day again, organised by the lovely Erica at Little Mummy please pop over and read some of the funny, interesting and mind boggling posts when you have a mo’.

Today I am lucky to be hosting Julia from What will Julia do next? Julia lives in the beautiful South West with her husband and retired as Head Teacher of a primary school back in 2008. The first six months proved to be very difficult and so she started up a blog to share what goes on in ‘Life after School’

Retired but not retiring!

Julia’s blog is packed with interesting thoughts, ideas and memories. Past present and future rolled into one, an amazing read. Have a look as soon as you can and if you pop by today you’ll catch my post ‘Making sense of it.’ which Julia is very kindly hosting for me.

Julia came up with the idea of our senses and I was very happy to use the same prompt. We hope you’ll enjoy them both and please please please leave a comment to show you’ve passed by, it makes it all worth while 🙂

Thank you everybody – I pass over to Julia….

I was putting the washing out & my mind wandered (as it does at those times) to our up & coming holiday to Edinburgh. I was trying to decide which clothes to take as I hung up a pink T-shirt & suddenly I was transported back to Browns restaurant during our last visit to that wonderful city. It had been our wedding anniversary & we had sat in the window people watching. Isn’t it strange how our senses can suddenly take us miles away both in time and space?

My memories of my childhood are few & far between. Somehow, once I move into a new phase of my life, I seem to lose the previous one! However, one very clear memory is linked to the aroma of gravy made with yeast extract, along the lines of marmite or such. When I smell that, I am a tiny person in a place with other tiny people. We are happy & laughing. There is a HUGE free-standing bath that the nursery staff pop us into if we ‘had an accident’. I remember the feet of the bath, like the claws of an enormous lion.

What we hear can stay deep in our memory as well. My post  here details songs that actually make me cry when I hear them.

You can’t possibly get to my age without storing up a cupboard full of taste & touch sensational memories! The surprise that sheep do not feel fluffy like the wool they produce, frogs are not slimy & wet, how blue cheese & red wine each improves the flavour of the other or how fresh vegetables always taste more delicious when you’ve picked them.

In the animal world, the senses are limited to providing protection & survival & whilst that is the same for humans, they add colour, depth & enable us to reminisce.

Such wonderful ‘inventions’  don’t you think?

Have you a sense that is stronger than the others? What are the most vivid memories your sense invokes?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/05/2010 8:22 am

    I love the memories that are attached to my senses. Smell – a certain perfume transports me back to the end of the bed watching my mum get ready to go out. I always thought she was beautiful. Oil, makes me think of my dad coming home from work and cigars make me think of him too. So I think it is smell that is most evocative for me

    • 28/05/2010 12:55 pm

      I’m inclinded to agree with you. Smell is a long term memory for me! Thanks for finding me!

  2. 28/05/2010 9:41 am

    Anything involving marmite involves huge numbers of memories for me. The other thing that will take me back instantly is a good song. An old nursery rhyme or some 60s crooner that my parents used to love always makes me think of my childhood home. Amazing how things can be so effectively evocative.

    • 28/05/2010 12:56 pm

      It’s wonderful isn’t it & yet odd that we can’t remember something from yesterday!

  3. 28/05/2010 9:50 am

    I don’t think I have one overriding ” smell memory”, but many things seem to evoke times and places for me – generally sunny ones!

    • 28/05/2010 12:57 pm

      That’s great! We only want sunny things in our heads!

  4. 28/05/2010 10:39 am

    I read that very few people can remember much before their 7th birthday. I have a handful of memories from before then, but like you I find they come back so much more vividly and quickly with a touch or a smell of something from the time. Thats why I love my mixer (Ken) so much, each touch of the metal bowl reminds me of making cakes when I was little!

  5. itsasmallworldafterallfamily permalink
    28/05/2010 1:38 pm

    I have a very good memory, and often remember things via my various senses. I love writing about it too!

    • 28/05/2010 2:30 pm

      You sound like my OH. His memory is amazing but usually connected to football or pop song dates!

  6. 28/05/2010 1:42 pm

    Hey, what do you have planned for your trip? I love Edinburgh, so much to do…

    • 28/05/2010 2:31 pm

      We’ve got 2 nights in Edinburgh (we are tracing the roads, houses etc fromn Isobel Dalhousie book by Alexander McCall Smith), 3 nights in Inverness & 1 night in Dumfries on our way back!

  7. 28/05/2010 6:42 pm

    I love the bath story! Of course, one of the best novels in the world starts off with a sensory memory: Proust and his madeleines! Hope you have a great time in Edinburgh!

    • 01/06/2010 2:50 am

      Thank you! Will no doubt tell you about it when we get back!

  8. 30/05/2010 1:09 pm

    What a lovely post! And, gosh I have so many I don’t know where to begin. Enjoy your time in the most beautiful city in the world!! Would love to be there with my family right now.

    • 01/06/2010 2:50 am

      Will send some vibes your way! Thanks for popping in!

Leave a Reply

