Skip to content

Brand new me

07/06/2010

In my 20’s and 30’s I tried so many different hair styles, colours, perms and highlights that I think I must have done them all, short, long, curly, straight, black, blonde, red. You name it, I tried it and I loved it.

I went to a brilliant hairdresser, Salone Walter in Folgaria, who I would thoroughly recommend if you’re in that area. The kind of hairdresser who knows. You can just give an idea of what you’d like and he comes up trumps every time. And if you don’t have an idea, he does and you will be over the moon.

Then my marriage broke down and I went into meltdown. I wasn’t so sure of myself and I questioned every decision. Looking back one of those questions was my hair. I realised the other day that I have been wearing my hair long, scraped up into a scrunchy or clip on my head for what seems like forever. Safe.

Change! I decided.

I need a brand new look what with the christening coming up, a holiday, a house move and the summer lying invitingly ahead, a brand new Mari to embrace this new cycle of life.

Before

So here’s a quick ‘last minute thought’ snap before I left for the hairdresser on Saturday morning.

Nothing special, long, layered and out of shape. In desperate need of some scissor action.

After - back

And here are a couple of photos ‘After’

One shot showing the back – short! And I’m pleased to say hardly any grey still which makes me a very lucky woman indeed.

after - front

And here a shot from the front. Taken by my climbing rose which has just started to flower.

It’s amazing what a hair cut can do for our self-esteem, it’s like getting a turbo boost.

I was lucky enough to be able to ‘show off’ my new look at our friend’s BBQ yesterday and I got a massive thumbs up all round (unless they were just being nice that is 🙂

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/06/2010 12:59 pm

    That’s a lovely haircut – what a transformation

    • 07/06/2010 1:07 pm

      Thank you, it does feel good to be different after such a long time 🙂

  2. Jean permalink
    07/06/2010 1:02 pm

    Check you out! Lovely do lady 🙂

  3. Alessandra permalink
    07/06/2010 2:11 pm

    Thumbs up: you look 10 years younger! Enjoy xx

  4. 07/06/2010 4:07 pm

    Wow, it looks so healthy and it really suits you

  5. 07/06/2010 7:37 pm

    Thank you ladies for your lovely compliments 🙂

  6. ourprivateblog permalink
    07/06/2010 8:22 pm

    It looks lovely!! I have a terrible relationship with hairdresser’s and am gradually working my way through all the hairdresser’s in Ravenna – I think I have finally found the one – he cuts it brilliantly but I have been advised to get a quote before I let him colour it!!! Looks like I’ll be hitting the bottle again!!

    • 07/06/2010 8:51 pm

      Thank you!
      I know the problem as I’ve tried so many here before getting it right. I did pay more this time but I got an excellent cut so will more than likely be going back there again when it needs tidying.
      Colours are so expensive that’s another reason I’m glad at the mo’ to not need to.

  7. 08/06/2010 12:08 am

    I LOVE it Mari! You look fab!!

  8. 10/06/2010 9:22 pm

    Oh wow! Absolutely gorgeous! It’s taken years off you, love the colour!

Leave a Reply

