Skip to content

I, woman, can read maps!

10/06/2010

Today I have left the country, car packed to the hilt off on our summer vacation (love that word!) and I am co pilot and will be reading directions from The Map – a Philip’s Multiscale Europe, 2009 to get us from Calais to Brumath for our overnight stopoff.

I have coloured post its attached to pages to allow me to move from page to page with ease and follow the yellow brick road all the way to Lake Garda. Our route will take us through Switzerland which will be a first for me and one I’m very looking forward to. I pray for good weather so I can take a few photos on our stop offs to share.

Last year I successfully got us from Calais to Playa Montroig in Cambrils, Spain, about an hour’s journey below Barcelona. We were quite scared at the prospect of driving around Paris, our friends had told us numerous nightmare stories, but we did it. Yes the traffic is intense, yes, there are many lanes and you have to keep an eye on the signs but we managed, we even took in driving underneath Charles de Gaulle airport runway! Very weird feeling.

So with my routemaster directions to follow and a 7.20am Eurotunnel crossing I will direct the family across the continent, to the beautiful region of Alsace where a delicious glass of white wine awaits me.

I find it hard to understand anyone (either sex) who can’t read a map as for me it’s so simple. How can you get it wrong? Is there a knack to following a road on a map? If you follow the road signs as you go and check them as you pass on your map, you automatically know the direction you’re going in and can continue safe in the knowledge you’re on the right road.

So how do people get it wrong? And why are women so notoriously bad at it?

So whenever I see ‘..and women can’t read maps’ I have to make it known  that I can, and very well indeed thank you very much.

Back soon x

photo credit

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alessandra permalink
    10/06/2010 8:38 am

    Have a splendid time in Bell’Italia!
    PS I CANNOT read maps to save my life, not even the London A-Z!
    Bacioni

    • 16/06/2010 11:35 am

      Place is gorgeous, shame we have had two days of rain so far, let’s hope not many more!

  2. 15/06/2010 8:24 am

    “Why men don’t listen & Women can’t read maps” by Allan & Barbara Pease. – I recommend you read it. It’s all to do with spacial vision and the wiring of the brain in the womb.Good on you Marianne.

    • 16/06/2010 11:38 am

      Thanks for the book tip! Only one mistake the first day at the end of the day and easily rectified and only one mistake day two thanks to a 14km traffic jam on the motorway close to our turn off. So very very proud of myself again.

  3. romana permalink
    27/06/2010 4:11 pm

    ciao! com’è andata? ma non era mica la tua macchina nella foto..così piena?
    la nostra per andare in sardegna era peggioooo! 🙂 avevamo le sdraio sul tetto come fantozzi
    e il nostro navigatore non ha mezze strade della sardegna, per cui..!
    ciao baci

Leave a Reply

