Skip to content

Friday five

11/06/2010

Here are five questions I found asked to Karen Brady in the June issue of the Good Housekeeping magazine. Reading them I was finding myself answering with my own ideas so here they are;

1. What food reminds you most of your childhood?

My mum is a brilliant cook so we tried many things throughout our childhood and all of us now have excellent appetites with a healthy attitude of trying anything at least once but I think the food that reminds me most of my childhood would have to be macaroni cheese, even as I write I am salivating 🙂 It has to be passed under the grill with loads of grated cheddar on top before serving. Delicious!

2. What outfit makes you think you could take on the world?

It would have to be a suit and heels. I used to have a beautiful black woollen trouser suit with a belted jacket that I bought in Italy. That was one suit that made me feel very confident. Sadly these days I have no call for suits, I’m very much a jeans and t-shirt mum now 🙂

3. What’s the most useful advice anyone’s ever given to you?

If you really want something – Go for it! If you never try you’ll never know. I have adopted this way of thinking many times. A lot of times it did work out and when it didn’t at least I had tried and that alone builds my confidence.

4. What advice would you give your teenage self?

Slow down. You have many, many years ahead and there’s no need to rush. Let things happen naturally. Love yourself more and believe in yourself more, it doesn’t matter what other people think.

5. If your home was on fire and your family was already safe, what item would you save?

Sadly my house did go up in flames a few years back but should it happen again (I am making the devil’s horns with my right hand, Italian style, to stave off bad luck!) I would save my needlework project I’m working on. This

My next project

is my latest. It’s been on my wish list since I saw it in Easy Living Magazine and after seeing Heather at Young and Younger had it I decided to treat myself too.

So what are your answers to the above? I’d love to know

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alessandra permalink
    11/06/2010 10:44 am

    1. the food that reminds most of my childhood is NUTELLA, the fantastic hazelnut spread by Ferrero. As strange as it might seem to a British person, I am sure it is a trait I share with many other Italians as Nutella is woven into the very fabric of an Italian childhood and it is likely to bring on very Proustian floods of memories to us in adulthood!
    2. a cool, elegant but confortable, Italian linen trouser suit in grey: perfect for being smart but at ease.
    3. “don’t listen to any advice, it’s a waste of time”: and IT IS good advice as no one ever listens or acts on someonelse’s advice or experience; we have to bang our head on it ourselves!
    4. see n3! Apart from that, do not care so much about what people think of you and don’t let yourself be hurt so easily. Be more confident!
    5. Sounds vain I know, but I’d try to rescue my jewellery. The reason is that lots of it comes from my family or has sentimental links and therefore it is irreplaceable!

    • 16/06/2010 11:37 am

      I love your answer to no. 5 – and having seen you’re jewellery, I can completely understand x

Leave a Reply

