Skip to content

Lake Garda, Peschiera, Italy

09/07/2010

We arrived on the Friday afternoon in the most incredible heat, apparently they were the hottest days of the year so far and didn’t we know it!   

Our Keycamp rep took us to our mobile home where we discovered there was no air conditioning??? Having booked Spain last year with AC I had assumed all homes in hot countries had it. Wrong.   

Alice, Bessie and Gracey

We opened every window in the home and turned on the fan whilst we set about settling in. The home was a three bed and they had set up travel cots in one for the girls, it had a lovely decking area outside with a gas BBQ and the road in front was pedestrian meaning the girls could roam on the grass and surrounds enjoying a tiny bit of freedom.   

I had ordered two baby packs which included, cots, high chairs, baby bath and a potty (which I never saw) which allowed us to free up a lot of space in the car which was packed to the hilt anyway.   

Our campsite was on the southern end in Peschiera a pretty fishing town with a wonderful Monday market! During our stay we managed to visit Sirmione, Bardolino, Lazise and Desenzano del Garda. I think my favourite still has to be Lazise.   

Ice cream counter -mmmm

One of the most enjoyable pleasures for me in Italy is the ice cream parlour. The one photographed here is in Sirmione and has fridge after fridge of trays of piled up high ice cream in every flavour imaginable, of course I had one and on another occasion I treated myself to an Eis Cafe which is sublime…a tall sundae glass, with scoops of vanilla ice cream, drowned in a hot espresso coffee, topped with whipped cream and a squirt of chocolate sauce. To die for. I think I ate mine so quickly that Paul didn’t even get to taste it.   Ooops!

Peschiera market - ceramic stall

I came home with some beautiful ceramics from Peschiera market, some clothes (Of course! we’re in Italy) some no make that lots of wine and a sun tan.   

I also bought a Lago di Garda 2011 calendar so I can remember our holiday all through next year (I always do this)   

I managed to catch up with some of my very dear friends who I know I won’t be seeing for a long while again but isn’t it lovely how you just pick up where you left even if it was a couple of years ago.   

The girls adored the swimming pool and our camping, Camping del Garda had a fantastic pool perfect for toddlers as it went from very shallow to a foot or two allowing them to move around freely and safely. Admittedly we started off with arm bands and rings but as time passed they got more confident and the bands came off.   They didn’t even mind the compulsory swimming hats as seen above!

mini tornado

All in all a wonderful holiday. The only snag being the dreadful weather we had half way through including a ‘tromba d’aria!’ Which literally blew our garden furniture away. when there’s bad weather on the lake you certainly know about it.   

Being the loyal patriots we are, I packed some cheap St George bunting into a case as I knew whilst we were there we’d be riveted (him not me) to the World Cup. A lot of time and effort was put into placing the bunting just right which of course needed a little tweaking as soon as his back was turned. (OCD maybe?)   

In - ger - land!

Here’s our little home. Can you believe one Italian girl from the entertainment team came by to sell raffle tickets and asked us if we spoke English???

‘Um, hello – have you seen the amount of flags around here?’ It wasn’t until after I realised they are so used to associating the Union Jack for all of us, they forget about our own flags.   

And lastly to finish off a photo of me, I’m afraid there aren’t many to choose from as I’m always behind the lens.   

Cinzia, me and Stefano

Oh and one last photo – all my four children together   

all four of my babies 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Nadine Gautschi permalink
    09/07/2010 2:14 pm

    Thanks for sharing! I used to work in Pesciera… hmmm I have lovely memories, the fondest ones must be the ones regarding FOOD!
    Love, Nadine

    • 12/07/2010 1:14 pm

      Oh My God! What a small world….I may have passed you in the street whilst I used to live there as we someitmes used to spend time on the lake! – what a thought!

  2. 09/07/2010 5:51 pm

    Fantissimo !!!! Loved the photo of your 4 babies How they grow !!! x

    • 12/07/2010 1:15 pm

      I know! Time has flown by so quickly…before I know it, the twins will be in their 20’s – yikes!

  3. 09/07/2010 10:12 pm

    Looks and sounds like such a wonderful time Mari. Great photos.

    • 12/07/2010 1:17 pm

      Thanks Karen, I seem to be getting more organised as each day passes so hope to be popping over to ‘see’ you soon – sorry for my absence x

  4. 10/07/2010 10:01 am

    Looks like you had a great tiome, wow at the photo of all your children together – how great is that

    • 12/07/2010 1:41 pm

      Hello! Yes, I must get that photo printed NOW, or it’ll pass me by again xx

  5. 11/07/2010 6:33 am

    love the pic of all 4 of ur babies.

Trackbacks

  1. Have you read anything interesting lately? « Mari's World
  2. We’re all going on a Keycamp summer holiday.. « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

