Skip to content

House improvements

23/07/2010

We have been here for almost a month now, we’ve unpacked all of the boxes, tackled some of the garden, found places for everything to live, held two successful BBQs, settled the girls in very nicely indeed and hopefully completed all of the Change Of Addresses that needed doing apart from DVLA and a couple of others.

Now it’s time to start on the mammoth task lying in front of us – that of updating the house. Bringing this 1960’s property into the third millenium.

Of course to do all of it immediately is impossible unless of course I win tonight’s Euro lottery in which case I’d probably move to a mansion and keep this as a ‘project’ to while away my luxurious days.

So we have decided unanimously to tackle the living room as it’s the place we spend most time in and host when people come to see us.

The photos before we moved in show quite clearly a striped wallpaper which I’m afraid I don’t like and a dark wooden surround to the fireplace, which again I don’t like. Here are some other photos for you to gain an insight of what I’m up against and to allow you to appreciate the wonderful work we shall perform in this room. 🙂

So here’s the plan….please note the previous owners have covered the only radiator in the room with a plasterboard wall and two grids to allow a little of the heat into the room.

So one wall to come down and who knows what we’ll find behind it apart from the rolls of wallpaper already stashed there?

The fireplace I’m considering spraying white or off white for now.

The curtains are coming down! Whoever chose those to go with stripy wallpaper? I have nets at the window which again I don’t like and so I’m currently sourcing an alternative and thinking of blinds, not vertical or venetian though.

The two wall lamps with their Amityville Horror shades need changing. (Why green?)

We also need to add a second radiator and move the other as the long term plan is to open up the room to the kitchen behind and make it open plan.

This weekend however, we’ll be concentrating on emptying out the garage of all their old pots of paint, bits of carpet, lumps of wood and rubbish stacked neatly on the back shelves.

We’ll cut even more back of the overgrown garden and spend hours shreding it and possibly start to bring down the plasterboard wall in the lounge.

Busy times, have a great weekend all xx

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ourprivateblog permalink
    23/07/2010 6:17 pm

    I might have to stop reading your blog – we’ve just put our flat on the market and if I see eveything you have to do to your place I might just chicken out !!! (scherzo!!! of course I’ll keep reading …… to give me hope that the trials an tribulations of house moving are all worth it!!)

    • 26/07/2010 1:06 pm

      Of course and best of luck with the sale and house move…ours seemed to take forever but we got there, so don’t lose hope 🙂

  2. 24/07/2010 3:15 am

    Your house looks lovely. Well done Mari! You and I have a lot in common. the Dotterel’s course, Judith’s room and Josie’s writing workshop. I feel right at home here! I’ll find you on JR and friend you.

    • 26/07/2010 1:07 pm

      Hello, thanks for friending me at JR, will pop over nad look, as for Dotterel’s course I’m way behind thanks to our holiday but still willing to crack on. Nice to meet you 🙂

  3. 24/07/2010 5:03 pm

    I really like it as it is! Fancy swapping?!

  4. 08/09/2010 6:58 pm

    I have been tackling some home improvements of my own. I have discovered I have a HUGE love of power tools!!!! For some reason this is terrifying to my husband!

    • 09/09/2010 8:55 am

      I’m not allowed to use them;) HE thinks they’re man tools and only he is allowed – it amuses me to let him do all the hard work and then I just get on with my paintbruish 🙂

Leave a Reply

