Skip to content

Watch out! There’s a teenager in the house

27/07/2010

I have one arriving today for a week all the way from Italy and I must be at Gatwick by 1700 for the pick up.

This one is female and is 15 years old.

Does that change anything? Not sure.

Veronica stayed with us last year for a week and (I think) enjoyed herself so we invited her back again about 4 days ago! It had been on the cards since the spring but house move, settling in, girl’s birthday and other events in the calendar prevented me giving her mum, Romana a date.

However, were I to wait for the right moment, she’d have been back at school as there’s always something going on. So I bit the bullet and emailed ‘Find a flight between now and the 6th!’

and today she’s on her way.

What shall we expect?

I’m sure the girls will love having a new grown up to play with and I think Veronica will enjoy them more this year as they are talking, walking and playing make-believe games. They’re cute to watch and fun to be with.

I don’t think I’ll get any of the usual stroppy teenage moments such as ‘Whatever!’ slamming doors, loud music blaring into the middle of the night and hormonal arguments as She’s Not Mine! I’m in that wonderful position of hostess and I know from her FB message she is very excited at being here.

Her mother is sending her for the obvious cause of improving her English which started ok last year and slipped quickly into Italian but oh no, not this year cara. This year I plan to make you a star in your English class, be the pride and joy of your loving parents and you can keep your bedroom tidy as you go.

Before her arrival...

Last year, she didn’t bother unpacking her suitcase – she had cupboards and drawers but looked at me as if I was some maniac when I suggested she use them.

Doh! Silly me – I must have got it all wrong! I laugh as my daughter Megan went to Sardegna a couple of years ago to stay with my mother and she didn’t unpack either.

What is it with teens and unpacking suitcases? Is unpacking really so time consuming? Isn’t it so much nicer to have everything in order?

I reckon the laptop is going to take a knocking too, it may be on 24/7 which will heat it up and maybe explode it which would be good because I want a new one anyway  but don’t tell Veronica!

She will endeavour to beat my Bejewelled score on FB which will make me smile as I am better than her. She will try the Settimana Enigmistica (an amazing Italian crossword/puzzle weekly which I adore and still do) and I will be better than her.

Get this – me the English one will know the answers to her Italian crossword. Now that has got to win me Brownie points.

Oh the satisfaction!

So, what are we going to do with her? Well I asked her mum not to promise anything (ie London) You know how it is with little ones (I mean the twins), you can’t plan anything BUT as she has just completed her first year at art school I’m going to try and take her up to visit the National Gallery and the Tate Modern – my favourite art gallery. I’ve pencilled in Friday.

I’m also taking her to the local town centre to shop, (I have some banking, and other bits) a trip to Bluewater, an amazing shopping mall 15 minutes up the road. And a 4 year old’s party on Sunday followed by the beach fingers crossed.

We’ll be going to twins club tomorrow where she can watch 8 sets of twins for an hour or two with me and talk to the other mums who I will instruct to ask her questions.

She’s quite shy and often will say ‘Ma dai!’ instead of answering. Last year I was too easy and to save her shyness I reverted to Italian but not this year.

I shall let her talk till her heart’s content in the car on the way back home in Italian and then it’s ‘English please’ all the way.

Who knows, I may be able to convince her to do a vlog in English by the end of the week, an  interview for my blog.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/07/2010 2:50 pm

    Saw that title of your post, and had to stop for a read. Sounds like a very interesting experience for all. And you’re right — she will probably be on her best behavior, so you can be blissfully unaware of the true inner-workings of the teenager…for now.

    • 28/07/2010 12:50 pm

      I’m also getting some brilliant material for a post next week when she’s safe and sound at home 🙂 Thanks for popping by.

  2. 27/07/2010 8:37 pm

    Guest room looks cosy Beware I will definately unpack when I visit you on my gap year !

  3. romana permalink
    28/07/2010 3:04 pm

    maybe it’s better if she not unpaking 🙂
    but, this year she has to, because she has a rucksack and it’s impossible to take things out!
    she was very happy to come to England! to see you, the girls and speak English ?!?!
    as you know she is a teenagers who likes music, fb, and so on..but she has a good temper.
    I know that you’ll do your best, and please don’t worry .. and she’ll try to do her best too, because she likes you and she want to make a good impresison 🙂
    let me know ..kissessssssssssss

    • 31/07/2010 8:48 pm

      31 July – no she still hasn’t unpacked, but as you sy, maybe it is for the best!!! 🙂
      She is wonderful. I think she’s enjoying herself althougha t times it may be boring for her but she’s as good as gold AND we’re talking next year and a possible 2012 when we hold the Olympics in London….
      we’ll let you know mum xxx

  4. romana permalink
    01/08/2010 4:54 pm

    she has’nt unpacked? really? I don’t believe..you are joking 🙂
    yes, she is very happy!..ok talking about next year but ..please tell her to study this winter..if not..not go to london next year of course! eh eh
    kisses

    • 03/08/2010 1:37 pm

      I give you back your daughter! When I last saw her she was checked in, baggage gone and going through passport control.
      I hope she makes it to the right gate in time, not like last year when she was over the other side of the airport and had to run for her plane 🙂
      She has no credit on her phone – apparently her friend called last night and shr got through the 200 euro crredit you put on only a day or two ago….. Nothing To Do With Me!!
      She was as good as gold and a pleasure to have xx

  5. romana permalink
    04/08/2010 1:22 pm

    thank you very much for all! she’s arrived ..she find the right gate imidiately this year! I was upset because of the credit on the phone..but no 200 Euro! I put 200 euro on her credit card for shopping and other things..not on the phone .. I’m no so crazy 🙂
    anyway..as you can imagine she talked all the time on the car telling me about her week with you, the twings, paul and so on..the most amusing thing that make me laught aloud was about your drive!!! 🙂 that I cant tell here of course..
    and I was surprise that she can understand Paul; she says is quite ironic.. she likes his type of humor! wasn’t he?
    we are waiting for you this winter for ski!!!
    kisses

Trackbacks

  1. My teen time « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

