Skip to content

Mari’s Freshly Pressed!

02/09/2010

Proud moment

What an accolade! What an amazing achievement! How in heck’s name did I manage that?

Yesterday, a very normal day where I was running around trying to get everything done by 9.30am, including my blog post, in order to get to Twins Club on time – our social highlight of the week. I chose the age-old debate of SAHM v Career Girl, I found some fantastic photos on Flickr to go with it and ping, I hit the button as on checking the PC clock, I was already late. Nothing new there then!

‘Come on girls, chip chop Charlie, in the car and off we go.’

It wasn’t until I turned on my failing laptop whilst the girls were at the table eating their adored pasta in tomato sauce that I noticed I had 10 comments already to moderate.

TEN?

My first thought was Freshly Pressed, wordpress’ global dashboard where everyone goes through before clicking on their personal dashboard.

‘Don’t be so silly!’ They’re not going to choose little old you from the

“The best of 303,061 bloggers, 353,287 new posts, 377,528 comments, & 70,080,258 words today on WordPress.com.”

Well blow me they did! AND they sent an email to confirm it, maybe they thought I hadn’t seen it? Ha! I was jumping all over the place and beside myself with joy.

I tweeted, I phoned the other half, I posted my massive achievment my accomplishment on Facebook – I so need a badge to wear now. Mental note, design a Freshly Pressed badge for the parenting community – speak to Yummy Mummy, If I Could Escape and  Battling on who were so nice to Retweet and congratulate -thank you ladies x

After 8 months of writing, somebody, somewhere had finally noticed me!

How did I do it?

I apologise as I have absolutely no idea. Maybe they had nothing better to use? (Yes, I did say that to myself but seeing as they had over 300,000 to choose from I guess I can be relatively safe in thinking that is not the case) Maybe Joy – Editorial Czar WordPress.com | Automattic (copy and paste from her email – her words not mine before you think I’m being cheeky) was in a hurry and clicked me by mistake? Surely a woman used to choosing day in day out for Freshly Pressed would know what she’s looking for? But yes, my enormous lack of self confidence did lead me to question Joy’s ability to choose yesterday.

So here I sit basking in my global glory with over 70 comments and more coming in, surprisingly only a few spam including one guy who has an enormous grudge on parenthood and me being a mother, I’ve kept his words for future material and debate but won’t be giving him any publicity.

I checked my stats (a daily habit) and 1735 people passed the doors yesterday, over a 1000 alone from WordPress. And the stats are on the up today too. I am flabbergasted, speechless, overwhelmed. I know some people have this EVERY  day but I am way off that.

So the content, which has to be key in Joy’s choice, was mums who look after their children instead of having the career and the incredible response was For rather than Against which is very interesting as had the post been written in the 80’s when I was leaving school I imagine it would have been very different. Padded shoulders, bright red lipstick and enormous Big Hair went with careers – message not lost on all of us. But now we’re kicking back with our own message, some forced by the global economic crisis, some persuaded by the dreadful state of our society these days, the amount of bullying in schools, the amount of ASBO’s being handed out, the children who are having babies far too early, the boyfriends beating up their adolescent girlfriends. The increasing number of paedophiles waiting to pounce on our little ones. It makes me shudder and I want to stop it all, make the world a nicer place and maybe my small part in that will be staying home with my children and making sure they have a decent childhood, something they can look back on with tenderness and happiness.

Thank you to every single person who popped by yesterday and today, I still have a lot of replying to do, but I did read every comment before clicking on ‘approve’ and my intention is to reply to everyone AND check out your blogs too leaving my own message.

But as every mum knows, this will take time, I’m out this morning to pick up a pressie for 6 year old Oliver as we’re off to his Peter Pan party on Saturday, I have a huge pile of ironing to contend with but the weather is so good and of course the girls who despite what spamhead thinks are the fulfillment of my Stay At Home Days and I feel very sorry for him that he doesn’t recognise that.

Have a brilliant day 🙂

19 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/09/2010 8:48 am

    Well done – that’s bloody fantastic 🙂

  2. 02/09/2010 10:58 am

    Still don’t how you find the time to do this and many other things!! Multitasking takes the biscuit Weeeeeeeeeeeeell done.

  3. 02/09/2010 11:10 am

    So happy for you-that’s fabulous!

    • 02/09/2010 1:13 pm

      Thank you so much, I really am the cat who got the cream today, smiles from ear to ear

  4. 02/09/2010 11:30 am

    Huge well done again! Such a huge acheivement – you should be so very proud 🙂 x

    • 02/09/2010 1:23 pm

      Thank you 🙂 Have been wracking my brains to keep the momentum flowing – let’s hope my brainstorming around the shopping mall this morning proves to be fruitful – nothing like a good shop is there to get the creativity flowing?

  5. katiebee permalink
    02/09/2010 1:14 pm

    Congratulations!

  6. Amy Wilders permalink
    02/09/2010 2:59 pm

    Well done Marianne xx

  7. 02/09/2010 6:09 pm

    Well done Marianne! Just caught up on this, that’s mega, I am really happy for you! x

    • 02/09/2010 8:38 pm

      Thanks for coming by, I am so overwhelmed by it all and still on cloud nine, knock in a few days and I may have come down 🙂

  8. 02/09/2010 11:46 pm

    We all get spamheads… they’re jackasses. I myself had a hater a couple days ago. Mine happened to be a naighbor that didn’t find my humerous take on our street to be very funny!!! I too kept the words for later inspiration, but didn’t give them the “honor” of posting on my page!!

    LOL!! Congrats on the Freshly Pressed!!

    Chanda

    • 03/09/2010 8:16 am

      Thanks – nice story, a tiny bit of revenge eh? I think the first time I received a hate comment, I was so shocked I deleted it immediately but on retrospect I realised it was harmless and belonged to some poor person with a massive chip on THEIR shoulder.

  9. 06/09/2010 1:57 pm

    Hello Mari, I found you via your comment on my blog! WordPress sounds amazing, but I can’t see your followers on your dashboard – is that the trade-off for having the wonderful Freshly Pressed facility? I’m still only a couple of months in and am still not sure whether to change from blogger or not….I want to see my followers, but also want to make it easy for people to subscribe via email, which on blogger it isn’t (I think) 🙂

    Well done with all your new readers! I will respond editorially to another blog post!

    • 06/09/2010 3:57 pm

      I’m not that far in myself to be honest – January. I chose WordPress on advice from a lady who knows her stuff, I want to add Google connect and Facebook Networked Blogs but am unable to as yet, hence I have bought my own domain and hope to set that up in time (Namesco, one click) I’ll let you know if it’s any good and more to the point, if it’s easy!
      You can set up email options, I have them on my main page too, and have quite a few subscriptions now. If you really want to read some brilliant advice try Erica’s blogger E course, it’s very handy and free. http://www.littlemummy.com/mum-blogger-e-course/

Trackbacks

  1. Hate Mail Much? « A Shade of Purple

Leave a Reply

