Skip to content

Get outta my space!

10/09/2010

 This post is a bit of a rant, so sit tight everyone as I am fuming and if you’re not a mum, YOU NEED TO LISTEN ANYWAY for the benefit all of the mum’s in the UK.

Supermarket shopping, that’s what this is all about. We usually go once a week and on the odd occasion twice, usually because I’ve forgotten something or maybe a last minute weekend meal has been planned with guests that hadn’t been accounted for in the weekly shop that kind of thing. So today like many other days, I popped the girls in the car and off we went to the nearest shop which happens to be Morrisons as I only had a few bits and bobs to get.

Morrisons like all of the other big companies have set out a designated area for mums like me, it’s called a Parent and toddler parking area. The spaces are slightly larger to allow us to open the doors without scratching or marking the car parked next to us. This is so we can get our children out of their car seats and sit them in a trolley next to us. (This accounts for both back car doors when you are a twin mum). The supermarkets have clearly signposted these areas just as they have the Disabled areas. Nice big panels that stare you in the face as you draw into your designated spot. You can’t miss them.

There is usually a trolley shed close by which houses trolleys with baby seats, trolleys with the flap back child seats etc. This has all been cleverly designed to make our lives that little bit easier and us mums are enormously grateful to the CEO’s who gave the thumbs up to this marvellous invention.

BUT, blow me if every time I arrive the 10 spaces (as opposed to the 40 disabled spaces) are all being used. ‘Bad luck,’ I tut as I move on to find as near a space as I can get to the entrance/trolley shed.

Parked up, we stroll past the PARENT AND TODDLER parking, I have to look now because it has happened so many times, what do I see? Men sitting in their cars waiting for the wives who have nipped in quickly for a loaf of bread – NO CHILD SEAT ON BACKSEAT. In fact all the kids have probably left home judging his age. Bastard. Who else do I see? A family yes, with two 10 year old kids bouncing around asking if they can buy the latest DVD out. Come on! They mean LITTLE children who need assistance not our next Olympic 2012 trampolinists! It doesn’t stop there.

Workmen with enormous vans that they can’t park anywhere else fit in nicely,

‘Only be a minute love!’ 

So do people really just not care anymore? Has the UK just become an ‘I’m alright mate’ state, ‘think of yourself and don’t give a monkey’s about anyone else?’

Thanks to these idiots, I had to park right over the back and walk across a busy car park trying my best to hold hands with two unwilling toddlers who ‘No mummy! No hands.’ thought it was great fun to be let loose in a large open space with ‘park’ in the name. I also, can you believe this, got dirty looks from an old couple as I struggled to keep my unjailed twins close to my side whilst keeping tabs on my shoulder bag (kept slipping off my shoulder) and a shopping bag. In fact as I had to cross the road entering the car park to get to the shop, A driver even raised his eyebrows as I kept him waiting as we crossed the road.

‘—- —‘ Two words, seven letters, 3 F’s (4,3)    I mutter as I walk away.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/09/2010 5:26 pm

    People seem to be very concerned with themselves and no one else. While we don’t have “tot” parking spaces at stores here, some places do have “stork” parking. You know, for pregnant women. It always gets my goat to see men walking to those spaces. I mean, really? No one can even rationalize that maybe they are just a couple of months or that they are having “smaller” pregnancies. It just isn’t possible!

    When people start giving me and my clan the stink eye for taking too long to cross the street, I just start taking longer. I drop something on the ground which I have to pick up. I stop and tie the kids shoe. Anything to just tick them off even more. I mean, really, the possible 10 seconds it takes for us to walk in front of you is NO reason to get all pissy.

    • 11/09/2010 1:40 pm

      Good for you for making them wait! I don’t know if I have the guts, some people can be very rude and verge on being aggressive, I don’t want to find myself in an uncomfortable position especially with the girls with me.
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. 10/09/2010 8:31 pm

    I have to say that when I saw the title of your latest post, it felt very familiar, because that’s something we New Yorkers say on a daily basis. I can understand the frustration but the part that really got me going was this “I also, can you believe this, got dirty looks from an old couple as I struggled to keep my unjailed twins close to my side whilst keeping tabs on my shoulder bag (kept slipping off my shoulder) and a shopping bag”.
    I cannot tell you how many times I have gone shopping with my sister-in-law and her kids (my nephews and nieces) and people just LOVE to give dirty looks, like I’m somehow burdening them with our presence. As I’ve said many times before, concerning people messing with parents and their children, “you mess with the bull, you get the horns.” I know cursing isn’t the most lady-like thing to do, but I don’t really blame you when dealing with idiots like those.
    By the way, I doubt the supermarket parking lot accounted for the fact that the most dangerous place in the world to be is between a mother and her children. By allowing these people to park, when it is clearly designated for parents with infants and toddlers, it just defeats the whole purpose of the sign. Ugh!

    • 11/09/2010 1:47 pm
        Hello John, how nice to have a visit from someone ‘over the pond’ and comforting to know it’s not just over here that car parks are being misused 🙂
        I have a feeling this is not an easy to solve problem. Sadly there is always someone out there who will take advantage, I just had to get it off my chest!
        Thank you for coming by 🙂
  3. Amy Wilders permalink
    10/09/2010 8:43 pm

    Drives me so mad!! I’ve left afew notes on peoples cars before when i’ve seen them park and they haven’t got children!!

  4. katiebee permalink
    12/09/2010 12:26 pm

    I completely COMPLETELY agree with you on this one. There have been a few stores in our part of town that have tried to designate parent/toddler parking and most of the time they are completely abused as well. It’s like people think, “who is really going to enforce this?” I’d love to see security or parking enforcement take a random day or two a month to fine or at least embarrass these people.

    The thing that gets me is that many times these same people consider themselves good people. It doesn’t matter how small the infringement, IMO they need to wake up and realize that there are people besides themselves (and over here, their massive sedans and/or pickups).

    Good rant! 🙂

  5. 12/09/2010 6:40 pm

    Sadly I do think the UK has become like that. People don’t think of others, it’s not “cool.” It seems to be every man for himself.

  6. 13/09/2010 6:31 pm

    I’m still totally impressed that your stores even provide such parking. I haven’t seen anything like it in the states (except for the stork parking, and I’ve only seen that at one store). It’s a shame people abuse it, but I am unfortunately not surprised at all. I’m all for leaving notes on the car, and maybe talking to the store and seeing if there could be a fine imposed for improper use.

    • 14/09/2010 7:48 am

      Thanks for coming by and leaving a message. Strange you haven’t seen them in the States, I was always under the impression we followed you in these things. They are very handy for mums as ou can see, maybe you should suggest them? 🙂

      • 15/09/2010 7:48 pm

        Well, the states are pretty massive. Maybe they exist in a different area of the country? I think I *will* suggest them! Personally, I’m tired of lugging a toddler on my hip during my ninth month, and I definitely give the stink-eye to anyone who gets a better spot before me (though they can’t tell from my car that I’m pregnant, but still!!).

Leave a Reply

