Skip to content

Put brain in gear and THEN book flights

21/09/2010

Doh! I’ve just done another of my infamous mess ups which seems only I am capable of performing.

Back in August when the sun was shining and life was hot (well sort of) I phoned my daughter Megan and we decided it had been far too long since we last saw each other (June – Lake Garda) so I booked flights for her and Gracey to come and visit us in October.

I have been struggling to contact my son Thomas, aged 22 these past few weeks and I start thinking and worrying, Is he OK? Has he turned into a drug addict and isn’t aware of my calls? Is he contemplating suicide as he thinks no one loves him? Yes, my thoughts get worse and worse and in my downward tumble I reach out for my phone and call him.

‘Oh hi mum! How are you?’

As casual and as ‘with it’ as ever my Tom is completely unaware of my inner anxiety, I fast forward with a ‘Darling I miss you!’ Where have you been, I can’t get hold of you anywhere?’

‘Oh here and there, working, the usual, you know how it is.’

I told him Megan and Gracey were coming over and I could hear the envy in his voice so I asked him if he’d like to come too. Thus landing myself with another return ticket to pay for. Ouch.

I obviously pulled up Megan’s ticket to make sure I got the same flight so he could assist her with the baby and I would have only one airport run and then I saw my enormous mistake…

I had booked the girls flights from Gatwick to the UK and returns from Italy to the UK. completely the wrong way round.

You can’t change this kind of error online you have to call a 0844 number so that’s going to be costly after a 22 minute call to correct that. It cost £67 to cancel the first flight and I paid another £65 to book them a single flight home at a later date. Very expensive mistake I’d say but the cheapest way around the problem as any other option was going to be around £300. Can you believe it?

So now I have remedied and added another ticket for Thomas who didn’t really jump up and down with excitement as much as I wanted him too when I told him but I suppos 20+ year olds don’t really jump up and down with jo anymore do they? They have to be cool, unlike their sad, scatty mothers!

I feel such an idiot. I mean you get to see your online booking and check it through. What was I thinking? Where was my brain that morning? I can’t tell Paul as I think he will shoot me, so I’m going to cover up this tiny error and massive expense with a smile and don’t you DARE go telling on me! 🙂

Photo

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Lies permalink
    21/09/2010 6:28 pm

    I’ve had a similar thing once (though I just needed to change the return flight) and after looking up what it would cost to cancel and reschedule, it turned out it was much cheaper simply to book a new return flight and just not turn up on the “wrong” one – maybe an idea should it happen again 😉 (of course this was a couple of years back with RyanAir, things were cheaper then).

    • 22/09/2010 1:14 pm

      Good old Ryanair eh? I used them for donkeys too but as Megan is travelling with 1 year old Gracey and when they’re here we do a lot of shopping, she needs more luggage allowance than Ryan likes to offer, hence a BA flight.
      At least I was able to keep the original return flight as their arrival date and just book a new one for their return. If I had had to stick with the original dates I was quoted over £300 and like you say it would have been cheaper to rebook fresh flights. So annoying

  2. 21/09/2010 8:25 pm

    That’s called a senior moment – watch out!! Promise I wom’t tell Paulx

    • 22/09/2010 1:11 pm

      I confess to telling him last night. I couldn’t hide it from him.
      I did however glaze over the true financial implications and gave him a much nicer figure to deal with 🙂 (It’s got to be done hasn’t it?)

  3. 22/09/2010 1:23 am

    Oy – that is painful! At least you realized it before the date of the flight – can you imagine otherwise? No, wait, don’t imagine it. As for boys/sons, my mother has a similar situation with my brother (24). She is positively ecstatic if he calls, but he is always pretty low-key.

    • 22/09/2010 1:08 pm

      I wonder if we just worry about our boys more as we know they are more closed and private? I adore my daughter but I know she’s fine as if she’s not, she calls me. Easy.
      Another lesson learnt the hard way!

Leave a Reply

