Skip to content

Getting your priorities right

30/09/2010

A cuddly moment

 

If I have a quick run through, my priorities are   

  • the girls, and everything that makes them happy
  • my relationship with Paul
  • Thomas, Megan, Gracey
  • My Blog
  • family and friends
  • our home
  • girl’s nights out
  • Facebook
  • Bejewelled Blitz
  • me (manicures, hair cuts, hair removal, reading, needlework, cooking)

Yep, not necessarily in that order but the twins, Tom, Meg, Gracey and Paul are all up there at the top but I struggle as I never have enough time in my day to accomplish everything I want to do and I want the lot.   

My blog has become important to me over the 9 months I’ve been writing, it has shot up the priority scale often clashing with childcare, nudging Facebook (where I keep in touch with most friends and family) back a few places, my Bejewelled Blitz score has suffered immensely at the hands of Mari’s World (Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself) and the more I play with it and all that it encompasses ie Twitter, Carnivals, forums and taking part in various McLinkys around the blogosphere the more I get pulled in and realise I am so way behind everyone else and have so much more to do. Will I ever get there?   

I have been known to lose hours, writing, looking for a photo, posting and commenting on others blogs because that is how you find people to comment on yours! Well it should be but it doesn’t always necessarily work. I have spent hours commenting here, there and everywhere and never seen hide or tail of some people which kind of defeats the object doesn’t it? What we could class as a waste of time.   

And the book? Oh that has dropped massively down the scale as I just can’t fit it in. I have written one chapter and placed it on last week’s Writing Workshop and I now need to do more but first I need to find a copyright license and THAT requires more time.   

And this peeps is how my life runs, a constant running around trying to do everything, often haphazardly, often forgetting bits (like the paint pot in my food photo!)   

But in order to prioritise correctly I turn the thought around and try to imagine what my life would be like without certain elements. It doesn’t bare thinking about does it? I would be completely miserable without any of my children or my partner whereas life without the blog… 

Writing workshop This post was written for Josie’s Writing Workshop. I chose prompt 1 What’s your biggest priority right now? Do you need to rethink yours?

31 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/09/2010 11:58 am

    Cool 🙂

  2. 30/09/2010 12:04 pm

    I also struggle with various things. Of course the hubs and kids come first but I do like to give myself some time and that means reading and writing time and of course the blogs. It’s such fun to blog, but it’s not the main thing. It does make life enjoyable, though!

    • 30/09/2010 1:35 pm

      It’s all about finding a happy medium I suppose and I’m still searching for mine. I shall limit myself to ten comments a day or something like that? Work In Progress!

  3. superlittlemen permalink
    30/09/2010 12:09 pm

    I’m pretty much the same the boys and DH comes first. A while back DH and I hit a real rocky patch, probably the worst yet, and we were forced to realise that computers and TV had taken over and we no longer really spoke, so we have banned computers apart from 2 nights a week and it has made a huge difference. I enjoy the blogging but have decided family life comes first and the blog is just something I can do when I have time, ha ha what is time!

    • 30/09/2010 1:38 pm

      Glad you found a way around your rocky patch, they are big wake up calls aren’t they?
      Having suffered one broken marriage already I’m very aware of not letting this one take the same route BUT I still want to blog. I keep my PC time to the days and when the girls are napping, sometimes I blog/tweet when they’re up and I feel guilty adn then the ironing doesn’t get done or other household chores.

  4. 30/09/2010 12:44 pm

    I stuggle with priorities, but the boys will always come first

  5. 30/09/2010 2:14 pm

    Ohhh I had totally forgotten bejewelled blitz! I’ll have race back to Facebook and get reconnected. It’s a foregone conclusion though that when you start blogging everything falls by the wayside! Thanks for visiting and for understanding where the black dog was coming from. See you again x

    • 01/10/2010 7:22 am

      Beware of BB,it’s incredibly addictive, once you start you’re done for 🙂

  6. 30/09/2010 3:29 pm

    It is a very addictive world this blogging thing – frustrating at times (I recognize the commenting remark… although it might have been my fault for my username wasn’t linked to my blog until recently :D), but still rewarding. I’ve actually learned quite some stuff lately, which is important too… but I’m guessing the laundry is too… okay, back to the real world then!

  7. romana permalink
    30/09/2010 3:32 pm

    and..holidays?

  8. 30/09/2010 5:06 pm

    My biggest priority is my husband.. But, I do need time for myself, and a place all my own, and that’s where blogging comes in. It’s funny how much work it takes to draw some attention to your blog, but when you have some people who come by every day and say something, it makes it worth it, even if it’s only a few. 🙂 Stopped in from WW.

    theworkinghousewife.wordpress.com

    • 02/10/2010 3:13 pm

      yes, the visits make it all worthwhile adn slowly I’m meeting so many new people out there. Exciting and fullfilling. I’d have terrible trouble stopping now

  9. 30/09/2010 6:07 pm

    I frequently look back on my pre-kids days and wonder what the heck I did with all my spare time!?! Blogging is my therapy and therefore a priority 😉

    • 02/10/2010 3:12 pm

      Oh I never have spare time as I’m always doing something, I have projects started and still on the go, piocked up randomly as the mood takes me and too many ideas.
      Thanks for coming by

  10. 30/09/2010 11:31 pm

    I too struggle with priorities as you have read. I do try to turn off the computer by a certain time, a couple of nights a week like today I will stay up late and do stuff, but that is purely because I am not a great sleeper. I think your priorities are there, it is just about finding a happy medium isn’t it xx

    • 01/10/2010 7:24 am

      Absolutely and sometimes I start in one place ie replying to comments, visit a new blog and eventually find myself so far off on a tangent that I have to rel myself back in and get back to where I was – maybe an hour later. twitter doesn’t help either!

  11. 01/10/2010 3:51 am

    It sounds like you have your priorities straight. Blogging has increased on my list as well–it can be a great tool for learning from others.

    • 02/10/2010 3:05 pm

      Yes, you’re right about the learning and it is a very valuable outlet and contact for stay at home mums like myself

  12. 01/10/2010 8:12 am

    A great lsit & I’m glad you’re blog has become a bigger part of your life!! I like reading it!

  13. 02/10/2010 5:35 am

    it can be hard fitting it all in eh?

    • 02/10/2010 9:08 am

      I think it’s the hardest thing about blogging and I’m racking my brains to find a family friendly solution…it’ll take time but I’ll get there. Thanks for coming by

  14. 02/10/2010 9:21 pm

    I’m the same with blogging! I think “Oh, I’ll just whiz through a couple of posts in my greader” and then before I know it hours have gone by and I’m still going strong! lol!

  15. 26/10/2010 10:20 pm

    My online life does seem to take over sometimes. My kids are number one of course, but the rest of life, including the housework, often takes second place.

    • 27/10/2010 2:23 pm

      Oh I know, please don’t look at the dust under the table, I’ve meaning to do it for days and keep getting sidetracked. It’s tricky sqeezing it all in but it’s also important to allow ourselves some ‘me time’ too, thanks for coming by 🙂

  16. 27/10/2010 2:26 pm

    I think blogging is perhaps too high on my priority’s list but its something that I enjoy and is just for me. I haven’t gone anywhere near Twitter as I don’t think I’d ever get anything else done if I did! Funny you should mention lack of reciprocation in blog commenting. I’ve joined in with a few ‘carnivals’ recently and tried to comment on everyone’s posts. I want to find new blogs and I want people to find me too. But less than a quarter of the bloggers that I visited have popped by to see me. Takes a lot of time and effort and you then wonder why you’re doing it (the whole blogging thing rather than just the commenting).

    • 27/10/2010 2:41 pm

      You’re right, in the early days I spent hours whilst my girls were napping, commenting left, right and centre. All Over. and got a fraction of revisits back so I slowed down and concentrated on the the few who did and now I try to add a few new each week but it’s hard. time for me flies by and before I know it it’s time to switch off the PC and get on with life again. I find visiting the same day you find a new comment to be the best way now, otherwise I forget. Nice to see you again 🙂

Leave a Reply

