Skip to content

Dear Virgin Media,

04/10/2010

We moved house back in June and you must remember me calling to deactivate my service with you? We spent quite some time on the telephone whilst you tried in vain to make me change my mind. But after 4 years with you and long talks with my other half we realised we never used any of the TV channels, both of us have mobile phone contracts allowing us to phone anywhere in the UK at any time making our landline pretty redundant and my mobile phone company had just offered me an’ impossible to refuse’ Dongle offer.

Sadly we parted ways and very cleverly you asked for my new address in order to send through final documents and so on. I was also advised that I would have to pay a month’s charges in July for reasons only you know. Maybe I had informed you of my change too late in the day? Whatever, one more month and we part ways.

Only that’s not the case. I noticed on my September statement that you are still collecting £34.99 by direct debit. Of course silly me for not deleting it but first I had to wait for the July payment to go out and then I forgot as summer and the new house took over. But surely this shouldn’t be a problem?I have moved and I had informed you. I have paid my dues, all of them and I continue to receive post on a regular basis from you, at my new address – no final documents though as you had stipulated in order to get my address?

I accessed your website and logged on to my old account and I emailed customer services with this problem, that was on Sept 14th and to date I still have had no reply.

Is there a Customer Services department or is it just for show?

I tried calling your 0845 number with that very tiresome girl spending my money as she blathers on about websites and options to choose from. To date I have tried all of the options and after waiting for exhausting amounts of time I have put the phone down on you, annoyed that it is increasingly difficult to talk to anyone.

I have also been contacted twice by you over the weekend, nice young ladies who want to ‘update’ my details. Twice I have gone through the above explanation, on Friday evening I was told there were lots of notes on my account explaining my situation and final changes hadn’t been made. I would have to speak to Removals. I was given the 0845 454 1111 number to call.

I tried but couldn’t get through to anyone. Can they see my number on a screen and therefore avoid me?

Funnily enough another member of staff called me on Saturday to ‘update’ my details again. Does nobody talk to each other in your office? Again I explained my situation, agai, she could see from the notes on her screen that there was a problem. This young lady asked me to hold why she tried to put me through to someone who could help and I was left on hold. I stayed on hold for 20 minutes. Every now and then I would be deafened with a Rolling Stones track but then all I could hear was nothing so I put the phone down and waited for the young lady to get back to me and tell me what had happened.

I’m still waiting.

I am hoping that your incredibly successfully company can see that there are flaws in your system that needs correcting.

  • Customer Services email option on the web site.
  • Your moving house/leaving us option needs a good kick up where the sun don’t shine
  • Your dreadful telephone service which keeps busy clients hanging around forever or just refers to your website I DON’T WANT THE WEB, I WANT TO SPEAK TO A HUMAN.
  • Your’ updating info’ team – they need updating!

I hope this has been useful to you and I look forward to receiving my two payments of £34.99 taken erroneously from my account.

Thank you,

One annoyes and unsatisfied ex customer

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/10/2010 6:42 pm

    It is the same anywhere… when I cancelled my television, I had to pay an extra month (I cancelled too late for the change to take place immediately), and then television was still charged. They only deleted the digital tv, not the cable. Sigh… strangely, when I upgraded Internet, it entered into effect THE NEXT DAY. Obviously, the charges also…

    • 06/10/2010 7:37 am

      Funny isn’t it that when we pay more they’re on board like a bullet out of hell and won’t miss a day’s money! Thanks for your view

  2. 05/10/2010 7:27 am

    That’s disgraceful! It’s amazing what companies will do to keep your money. “3” the phone company are just as bad!

    • 06/10/2010 7:35 am

      Sadly I think all the big companies are failing their customers these days as the personal touch is gone and they’re more interested in making billions in profits for their share holders rather than serving the people who fill their pockets

Leave a Reply

