Skip to content

The Gallery – My favourite photo

13/10/2010

You know, I’d like to invite the lovely Tara Cain round here to help me choose my favourite photo. I mean does this lady have any idea of the amount of photos I have? She hasn’t a clue to my dreadful archive system which basically is non existant making this task a very difficult one indeed.

If she did take me up on the offer, I could probably bore her to tears for a few weeks showing her snap after snap after snap. I mean you know you’re in trouble when someone digs out their dusty photo albums after dinner ‘…and this one was in London’ ‘mmm nice,’ your reply and your heart fills with dread as you can see pages and pages yet to get through.

I wouldn’t put you through that and I haven’t been through all my old albums of ‘real’ photos as I haven’t set up my brand new printer yet so I just had a peek at my external hard drive (check me out) I’ve probably got about 6 photos, each one carrying a certain memory locked in time and therefore a special place in my heart.

'Twins????' 'Really?'

Not technically ‘my’ photo.

After three miscarriages, one at 21 weeks, we finally heard those magic words ‘ You’re expecting twins’ and as any twin mum will tell you, the shock, the happiness and the disbelief set in all at once. I walked around for the next few weeks until the 12 week scan questioning myself ‘Two?’ out loud over and over. Happy days 🙂

A beautiful crisp, autumn evening

This one is mine, it was looking out the back bedroom at our old house on the Croft. We backed onto a playing field and that tree in the centre is a Walnut tree and judging bythe span of it’s lower branches, ancient.

Key Lime Pie mmmm

When Paul and I lost our little girl back in 2006 we were both completely devastated, we had tried so hard and time for me was running out as I had passed 40. It was a particularly sad and harrowing time for us and to try and break away from it all we booked a holiday to the States, Florida to be precise. Our favourite stop of all time has to be Key West at the tip of the Florida Quays. A magical place where you can’t help but have a smile on your face. I have 100’s of photos I took there but have chosen this one to share with you as it mentions the Key Lime Pie which you really MUST try if you go there. Don’t you just love those chairs?

Ready for the Take That concert on a girl's night out

This one is of me! But of course you know that. I am on a girl’s night out at Wembly waiting to see Take That which if I can get tickets I will be going to again given half a chance! Probably one of the nicest photos of me, again not ‘mine’ technically but one I actually quite like.

So Tara, from thousands of shots I have narrowed it down a bit for you, I now leave it up to you and the viewers to choose their favourite and as yesterday’s post was photos of the children I have purposely left them out, otherwise we’d be here for days 🙂

Ciao ciao

30 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/10/2010 1:38 pm

    that is so cool… the scan of the twins, i have never seen a scan of twins. i just found pics of me at 41 wks pregnant… my belly was huge, no wonder my stomach muscles are so week.. its taking me ages to get stronger.
    and i love that key lime shop. that colour is fabulous. makes my mouth water just looking at it. i used to work with this elderly american lady, her desk was next to mine, she would always go on about key lime pie… and her cats. she had cats instead of children. 🙂 i thought she was nuts, but now that i have kids i think she is wise. 🙂 ha ha ha ha

    • 14/10/2010 11:55 am

      My twin tummy is no better, in definite need of some toning and diet but I keep putting off…I got to 38 weeks with the girls and was then induced but they didn’t want to come out so I ended up with a c section!
      Go try Key Lime Pie at least once, you’ll be blown away 🙂

  2. 13/10/2010 1:38 pm

    But do you know what M, I am the sort of person who would totally sit down with you and look through all those photos because I just love people’s snaps. They tell you so much about them and their past.
    This is why I love the Gallery so much; I have learned so much more about bloggers from these posts than many of the others they write. There is something about photos which makes people’s writing flow a bit more I think?

    • 14/10/2010 11:57 am

      Yes, you’re right it does make the writign flow more as they nudge forgotten memories buried deep down, even a smell (new born baby?) or a taste (Key Lime Pie) can bring it all back, thanks for coming by

  3. 13/10/2010 1:42 pm

    Great post, thanks for sharing!

    Love those deck chairs!

  4. 13/10/2010 4:06 pm

    What a beautiful selection of favourite photos you have given us! They are all great because of the stories behind each one so I don’t think I could pick a fav!
    Ps. I have seen Take That twice now since they reformed – great concerts aren’t they??! X

    • 14/10/2010 11:58 am

      Brilliant concerts and so much fun with the girls – silly hats and all, can’t wait for the next one where hopefully Robbie will be back too 🙂

  5. 13/10/2010 4:51 pm

    Lovely photos, I love all of them! I have never been to Florida but when I do go I will def be trying the Key Lime Pie 🙂

  6. 13/10/2010 6:05 pm

    Great set of pics and all very different. The scan of the twins must be a very special one for you. X

    • 14/10/2010 12:01 pm

      Yes the twin scan is a very special photo and one stuck on the external hard drive that I’d forgotten about until after Tara’s prompt I went searching for my favourite. This challenge has also spurred me on to archiving and deleting a load of rubbish that I hold onto with the excuse ‘I’ll do that tomorrow’

  7. 13/10/2010 6:40 pm

    All fantastic photos with different stories behind them. Lovely. X

    • 14/10/2010 12:02 pm

      Thanks, I just couldn’t whittle it down to one, it would be an eternal argument with myself! 🙂

  8. 13/10/2010 6:54 pm

    OOh decisions…decisions…

    Think I’d pick the key lime pie and chairs shot – looks well composed and quirky.

    • 14/10/2010 12:03 pm

      If only I could have got them in my suitcase! I would have the coolest patio in the south!

  9. 13/10/2010 7:39 pm

    What a fantastic ste of pictures. Each has such a special meaning to you and that makes them more magical

    • 14/10/2010 12:04 pm

      Yes, you’re right, mind you so have many of the others I discarded before choosing. I struggle to choose and make up my mind 🙂

  10. 13/10/2010 10:21 pm

    When I saw your title I had to visit, I love sunsets, keylime pie and take that! All fab photos and beautiful scan pic of your twins x

    • 14/10/2010 12:05 pm

      A girl after my own heart indeed, we’d probably get along quite well!

  11. 14/10/2010 7:47 am

    Lovely photos. I thought all week about that theme and, in the end, I just couldn’t decide/get organised enough to scan something, so I have just spent my time looking at everyone else’s instead!

    Oh, by the way, re: magazine comment a while ago, ‘Red’ is def worth a look, I think it’s got a good selection of grown up stuff and nice fancy stuff to lust after/remind you of what you used to spend money on…. 😉

    • 14/10/2010 12:07 pm

      remind you of what you used to spend money on…. Yes indeed! These days it seems to be endless nappies and children’s products. I will look it out this month.
      I do like taking part in Tara’s Gallery as I meet so many other people and I do like a chat 🙂

  12. 14/10/2010 1:10 pm

    Very emotional, lovely image.

  13. 15/10/2010 1:46 pm

    Love the scan of your twins and also the idea of getting Tara to come round and help choose for you! I think you’ve made a brilliant selection though, loved that gorgeous sunset.

    • 15/10/2010 2:48 pm

      Would you believe me if I told you I’m on the outskirts of London? I always asssociate beautiful sunsets with foreign places or holidays and lucky for me I have a few of my own on my doorstep.
      If Tara ever takes me up on the offer, I’ll invite you too so you can bring all of your albums as well….that should teach her! 🙂

  14. 17/10/2010 7:33 pm

    Oh this really made me weep. The scan photo is so precious, and double the joy after so, so much pain.

    You’re making my job so hard!!! I adore the Key West one, gorgeous tones. It just ‘feels’ happy doesn’t it?

    Judge Spud xx

    • 19/10/2010 12:26 pm

      HIya Judge Spud, yes key West is a happy place and was the perfect tonic after so much disaster, you cannot be sad there I promise

  15. 17/10/2010 8:10 pm

    All fab photos, but of course the scan is the best!

Leave a Reply

