Skip to content

Halloween…ha ha ha ha ha

01/11/2010

My excellent handywork 🙂

Yesterday was 31st October, the day in the year where everyone can dress up us a ghoul, ghost, witch or devil and stuff themselves full of sugar should they so wish. For us it allowed the perfect excuse to throw our very first Halloween party – for the girls of course 🙂

I had the opportunity to carve my very first pumpkin which you can see here to your right and I’m sure you’ll agree it’s an excellent first go, I may get more adventurous as the years go by, we’ll see.

Of course you have to have guests if you’re going to throw a party and we certainly weren’t short of those as we extended an invitation to the entire twins club, much to daddy’s horror delight. 

Hocus pocus

The party was to take place at our house from 3pm to 5pm and so the next thing was to organise our outfits. Once again, in a way that only I can manage, I proved to be particularly dim. On my search at the local Asda, I was annoyed that they had years 1-2 and 3-4 but never stocked any 2-3. I went back on three occasions until it finally dawned on me that 1-2 took us right up to the end of year 2 and then one moves on to the 3-4. Happy to hav e finally grasped teh sizing issue, I hastily choose two from the racks and popped them in my trolley. I also bought a skeleton for Paul and a bright pink wig and hat for me. I was ready, bring it on.

We hung our happy Halloween banner across the front window to make it easier for our guests to find us, I had a sparkly spiders web across the porch window and an illuminated plastic pumpkin sitting on dried leaves just inside the door to set the scene. Isabel and Samuel were the first to arrive and I had to remove my wig and hat as they didn’t recognise me and were refusing to enter cowering behind their mummy! In fact the wig and hat didn’t make it back on in the end and all of the guests were probably wondering why the hell I had bright pink striped socks on!

The party kicked off, there were children and parents all over the place. In the front room, in the kitchen, in the garden… we were being taken over by twins and enjoying it!
Luckily I had thought of a few diversions; good old Pass The Parcel to name one, followed by Musical Statues (always a hit) and a couple more goes as it seemed to go down so well. As this party had been organised to raise funds for the twin club Christmas party we were charging £2.00 per child and I’m happy to announce we made around £30.
I think as parties go we can be very proud, there were a few tears but there always are aren’t there? All the little ones loved dressing up and I’ve included a few photos below for you.

I’m joining this post up with the Multiples and More Question Of The Week, pop over and see lots of other multiple Halloween fun

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/11/2010 3:50 pm

    Excellent pumpkin. We did our first pumpkin this year too. I say “we” but it was my hubby that did the carving. I kind of helped with the scooping out!

    • 02/11/2010 5:56 pm

      I thought it was going to be a lot harder than it actually was. I was prepared to have to call on OH for help but IO didn’t the skin was soft and the flesh was too, i was really impressed with myself 🙂

  2. 02/11/2010 5:43 pm

    Love the pink striped tights!!!

    • 02/11/2010 6:04 pm

      😀 They have been hanging around in the bottom of my drawer for years, I kept them for fancy dress. trouble is I’ve put weight on since I last wore them and they were very tight asnd uncomfortable if the truth be known! Such is life eh?

Leave a Reply

