Skip to content

G is for Good ideas – Go for it!

04/11/2010

Every now and then I get a brilliant idea, so good I wonder on Earth if it was really mine or not. I mean did that morsel of genius just come out of my light box for real? Some people are lucky and brainstorm good ideas constantly but that must be so boring and sooo busy, right?

So how about acting on the good ideas? Well maybe this is the part where I have been known to be lazy, or maybe just so pleased with myself with coming up with something so humungously great I bask in my own delight and get sidetracked from the real issue. Get On with It!

Mum always said I lived with my head in the clouds and seems it’s a trait I struggle to lose. But I have had some more brilliant ideas recently and some I am going to share with you. I mean I can’t give them all away otherwise there would be nothing to look forward to would there?

Icklebabe.com

So here goes, Good Idea number 1

A Santa Snack plate! It brings back every single Christmas Eve I have spent waiting for the man to come by. An excitement so massive I can’t sit down all evening. Every fibre in my body is in movement and my smile is the biggest it’s been all year. A huge tradition in our house has always been preparing something for Santa to eat and drink on his stop (no wonder the guy has such a belly on him – every home in the world does the same!) and of course we never ever forget Rudolph and his fellow reindeer waiting patiently on the roof. Usually a mince pie and a shot of whisky for the Big Man and some carrots for Rudolph and his mates would be ceremoniously placed under the tree in great awe of the magic about to happen. In This House.

 I have to have one of those plates! Not for me silly but for my girls, it’s a special plate that can be used every year and allow me to recapture the child in me that is still ever so excited every year. Yes, you’re right. I do know it’s not strictly My Idea as it’s Helen’s from Icklebabe.com but it is my idea to buy it! So that counts 🙂

Another good idea, this time is really mine is to do with theRowse Manuka Honey I have been sent to consume review. I’m very pleased to have some as both girls are poorly today with high temperatures and runny noses and honey is one of the oldest cures in the book which covers in part the medicinal properties but as for the rest well that’s a secret till further notice. So keep your eyes peeled.

And the last idea that I really must share with you as I need a massive boot up where the sun don’t shine. I bought my own domain over two months ago now and atrociously I have done nothing since. I am blocked with fear. So only by making it public and naming and shaming myself may I be motivated to overcome my fear of making a right mess and get on with it.

Because that is half the problem sometimes don’t you think, the fear of getting it wrong so maybe it’s better not to try? Well not this time lady. This time you are going to go into your Namesco account and start to see if you will ever fathom out HTML, see if you can make your dream of Mari’s World come true and at the same time anyone reading this be motivated to get on and Go for it whatever their plan maybe.

This post is my G (no I didn’t choose spot, far too obvious) for Alphabe Thursday held over at Jenny Matlock’s fabulous blog. I’m dying to see what all the other participants come up with, come on over and have a look!

30 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/11/2010 12:09 pm

    I loved the idea of the Christmas plate. I may just have to start that as a tradition, too bad my kids are older. Would have loved to have started this years ago.

    Thank you, I really enjoyed this post

    Wysteria

    • 04/11/2010 12:50 pm

      There’s no reason why you can’t….indulge in a little fantasy 🙂

  2. 04/11/2010 12:11 pm

    Might I suggest grabbing a free template here:
    http://www.freetemplatesonline.com

    Athough I can work with html, I was too lazy to do it for my own web page (getnickt.com), so I used one of their’s, with a few modifications. Very easy to use, and doesn’t cost anything. Good luck!

  3. JDaniel4' s Mom permalink
    04/11/2010 12:48 pm

    I love the plate. My Santa loves chocolate. We just put a few in a bowl for him.

  4. 04/11/2010 1:20 pm

    Good idea number# 1 is GREAT! Would be happy to offer decor tips…one of my passions…email pics anytime and I’ll see what I can come up with.
    elusive_images@hotmail.com

  5. 04/11/2010 3:48 pm

    Love your ideas. . .you are a genius!!

    Hope the honey helps your little ones

    • 04/11/2010 3:54 pm

      Takes one to know one I s’pose 🙂 fingers crossed the manuka honey works as they’re knocked for six right now 😦

  6. 04/11/2010 5:23 pm

    Hi Mari,

    Thanks so much for stopping by.

    I bought a plate like that (I’m sort of craft challenged) for my daughter in law when my little grandson was born. He just loves it!

    I’m looking forward to Mari’s World!!!!!

    • 04/11/2010 9:42 pm

      Oh I’m buying don’t worry – thank goodness there are the likes of Helen around to do the hard pretty work for me 🙂

  7. 04/11/2010 9:24 pm

    One year I bought a dozen white dinner plates VERY CHEAPLY, and my granddaughters and I decorated them with Porcelaine, a paint that can be baked in the oven. We used them every year at Christmas, and the girls always giggle at their work of years gone by!

    • 04/11/2010 9:40 pm

      ahh now I knew that the Rogue would come up trumps and she did. Nice one! Food for thought for all readers – thank you as always

  8. 04/11/2010 10:02 pm

    Oh I think the plate is a really cute idea! We weren’t very faithful about putting out Santa cookies when I was a kid… luckily Santa loved us anyways 😉

    • 05/11/2010 8:45 am

      I’m sure he didn’t miss the cookies at your house, actually he probably got his elves to wrap them all up and gave them to others as presents! Very thrifty our Santa you know 😉

  9. 05/11/2010 12:01 pm

    That’s a fun plate to have for Christmas..Good ideas indeed!

  10. 05/11/2010 2:44 pm

    Thanku very much for featuring my plate..and i am sure it was your idea, you just beamed it telepathically too me ;D xxxx

    • 05/11/2010 3:25 pm

      I think it’s marvellous and wouldn’t be that cheeky top steal such a good idea! Just put it to good use 😉

  11. 06/11/2010 12:58 pm

    Good luck with the move to your own domain! It’s scary but well worth it in my opinion! It’ll take a bit of work to get things all figured out but once you get a hang of all the changes, you’ll be happy with it 🙂

  12. 06/11/2010 4:25 pm

    The plate is so cute. I have artsy friends who’ve made these. Traditions are fun for all. Hope the kids are feeling better.

    • 06/11/2010 9:48 pm

      Traditions are fun, you’re right and of course if you don’t have the money to buy one you could always make one with the kids using a paper plate, colours, glitter and fun! santa wuld never know the difference

  13. 06/11/2010 5:17 pm

    Good ideas definitely need to be celebrated!!! Great post!

  14. 07/11/2010 5:57 pm

    Hi Mari! I take a bit of maruka honey every day. Our friends from New Zealand bring us some each year when they come to visit!

    And I love your idea of a Santa plate!

    I think this post is definitely filled with GGGGGGreat ideas!

    You are a Gem!

    A+

    • 08/11/2010 1:56 pm

      Thank you Jenny, I too am now a Maruka honey taker and it’s delicious 🙂

  15. 07/11/2010 5:58 pm

    So yea. I meant to correct that spelling of honey but I hit send before I did. D’oh. Manuka honey. Love the texture.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention G is for Good ideas – Go for it! « Mari's World -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

