Skip to content

Tell them about the honey mummy!

09/11/2010

Who remembers that slogan from years back? and what product was it related to?

Right difficult stuff over and done with and well done to all those who shouted at their computer screens The Honey Monster from Sugar Puffs. Breakfast cereal. It’s amazing isn’t it how a good advert sticks in your mind for years, whether the product is one of your favourites or not? In fact I would class myself as quite an Ad critique these days. I tut in disgust at one that fails to grab my attention and will talk to anyone who cares to listen about one I find funny, interesting or ‘spot on.’

Last week I had both girls down with a wretched bug that kept us housebound for a few days so I will admit to being on the PC more than usual, flitting between blog world, Facebook, Twitter and Bejewelled Blitz when a tweet caught my eye. Aaron was asking if there was anyone out there who would like to try some honey and write a review on it.

‘ME!’ I shouted out and Bob’s your uncle a couple of days later a box turned up with 2 jars of Manuka Honey and a squeezy bottle of a light honey all from a company called Rowse. Now I have never heard of Rowse so I Googled it (as you do) and happily discovered they are the UK’s leading honey company which goes to show how much attention I pay in the supermarket!

Another phrase that caught my eye from their home page was” Since people walked the Earth, honey has been called The Food Of The Gods.” Well if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me!

I remember having quite a bit of honey in my childhood, on sandwiches, dribbled on porridge and on toast, I can never remember once not liking it. In fact when I lived in Italy and in the midst of winter would come down with an atrocious cold that made me want to chop off my nose, my only remedy that worked was a spoonful of honey in warmed milk with a drop or two of brandy (for antiseptic purposes, of course).

So with two poorly little ones I opened up the Manuka honey jar and gave them a teaspoon neat. Delicious! I had one/two myself just to keep the bug at bay. We tried it on toast but they didn’t like the lemon taste which had been added to it (which is exquisite I hasten to add, it’s just they are very much in fussy mode at the moment which is driving me insane) so I gave them the other Light and Mild Honey from the very easy to use, no mess at all sqeezy botttle and that got full thumbs up all round and cries of ‘More mummy, more!’ which I LOVE to hear.

So how to make this review a little bit more special I wondered amongst all of myselves what to do? We and came up with a ‘sticky survey’, please see below

  1. Have you ever heard of Manuka honey? If yes what do you remember?
  2. Have you ever heard of or seen the Rowse brand name? 
  3. What do you know about the healing properties of honey?
  4. Do you have honey in your kitchen cupboards? Do you use it? What for? 
  5. Do you try to see that your children get some honey in their diet if so how?

Here are my answers

  1. Yes, I have heard of it, it supposed to be a ‘special’ honey with healing properties. Manuka Honey read here for more info 🙂
  2. No, not before receiving their products but I shall look out for it now in the supermarkets
  3. I used bee pollen in my fertility boosting days before the girls were conceived. I have used propolis for sore throats and tonsilitis, I have used body creams with honey in them
  4. I always have some form of honey, Acacia, Orange Blossom even chestnut once! I have dribbled chestnut honey over chunks of parmesan cheese as a dessert and it was very nice.
  5. It’s difficult now as they are so fussy and are always suspicious of new entires into their daily diet but I hope to more and more as they grow.

Please be a ‘hun’ and leave me your answers in my comment box – I’ll bee your best friend 🙂

 Just in case you are as ‘golosa’ (love your food/sweet toothed – Italian) as I – here’s a link to one of Rowse’s recipes Baked Cheesecake with Caramalised Honey Sauce

Photo credit – Mamboman1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/11/2010 3:52 pm

    Awww – glad you enjoyed it!!

    • 09/11/2010 4:23 pm

      We did and thanks for sending us some…. and my nan’s making a cake with some for us too 🙂

  2. 09/11/2010 6:08 pm

    It was super yummy! I’m still savouring the light&mild honey, but all my supahoney is gone! Got through that quick, huh!

  3. 09/11/2010 7:45 pm

    1 Yes heard about it think it comes from NewZealand
    2 Can’t recall seeing Rowse
    3 Yes when I nurse in hospital we used it on bed- sores, when I was a District nurse (we never had bed-sores) so was used to heal ulcers
    4 Always in the store cupboard – on porridge, dribbled on bread and butter,in hot lemon for colds Honey collected from local hives in the locality of one’s home is said to ease the symptoms of hay fever or even prevent them!
    5Will have to ask the ‘kids’

  4. 10/11/2010 4:37 pm

    We have friends in New Zealand who always bring us several jars when they visit. It always seems to last just until they come again. I like the texture of this honey compared to regular.

    • 11/11/2010 8:20 am

      The one I have has a little lemon concentrate added to it and I’m taking a teaspoon every morning to stave away any flu bugs 🙂 Fingers Crossed x

Leave a Reply

