Skip to content

H is for Hello! Help, I’m in a Hurry

11/11/2010

If there’s one aspect of blogging I really love it’s meeting all sorts of new people from all over the world. In fact I liked it so much I bought the company I decided to create a ‘Make a Friend Friday’ a kind of Twitter “Follow Fridays” for the blog world.

As the blogosphere grows and grows and due to the massive recent press interest there has been an enormous rise in blogs, parenting blogs in particular. For any newcomer it can all seem a bit overwhelming and it’s only after 10 months of drifting and bumping into good initiatives that I came up with Another Brilliant Idea. Let’s create a place where newbies can come and leave a link to their blog and read other links they may not normally have found and oldies can promote their fabulous initiatives, a kind of directory, a get together, a melting pot of new and old and exciting.

For example I partake in Tara’s The Gallery, a photography workshop, Josie’s writing workshop , Alphabe Thursday and Heather’s Secret Post Club,  if only I had more time in my days I would like to try out Nickie’s Music quiz, Chelle’s Recipe link and many many other initiatives.

Wouldn’t it be easy if the links were all in one place and people could make new friends in the process, gain more readers and have fun.

So, idea bubbling like an overboiling stew in my brain, I needed a badge to give my idea an identity. I Have No Idea How To Make Badges – but that wasn’t going to stop me. I opened up Adobe Photoshop and spent a week fiddling with buttons, options and various different tools. I managed to find a photo and crop it and that’s it.

What to do????

Email my brother and his gorgeous girlfriend both Very Clever Web Designers that’s what, and plead on one knee until they can’t handle my tears anymore

Hello! Help! I’m in a Hurry!

I have promised pints of beer tomorrow when I’m in London, I have also promised to never bother them again, but I had my fingers crossed behind my back when I said that one 🙂 Now it would be the best ever to show an anteprima of the badge today but it is being created as we speak and I am not silly enough to call and say ‘Is it ready’ or worse still ‘Are we ready?’ as I would be shooting myself in my own foot, I am doing absolutely nothing whilst they whizz back emails about snippets and buttons and capital letters. So let me just say, should you be interested in meeting a new friend, finding some interesting initiatives in blog world or simply just popping by out of curiosity come back tomorrow (Fingers Crossed) and check me out for my first ‘Make a Friend Friday’ – Champagne is on me 😉

This is my H post for Jenny’s fabulous Alphabe Thursday, please head over and see what the other participants have come up with, you’ll be blown away. and i hope you’ll come by tomorrow and join in my first ever Make A Friend Friday (please)

Photo credit

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/11/2010 4:51 pm

    oooh, this sounds very interesting. I shall come back tomorrow and see what great things you are cooking up

  2. 11/11/2010 4:53 pm

    Interesting idea. I’ll be back to see the final result.

  3. 11/11/2010 5:29 pm

    Hello there, popping over from Jenny Matlock today!
    Sounds interesting … I’ll see you tomorrow 🙂 .
    Blessings,
    Catherine

  4. JDaniel4's Mom permalink
    11/11/2010 7:42 pm

    This sounds like a great meme. What a great way to meet new people!

  5. 12/11/2010 2:18 pm

    I’ll stop back by. You’ve got my curiosity peaked. ~Ames

    • 13/11/2010 1:01 pm

      Hi Ames, Hope you enjoyed it and maybe check back next Friday and join in?

  6. 12/11/2010 8:56 pm

    It’s a lovely idea!

    I’ll check back later……

    xxoo,

    RMW

  7. 13/11/2010 11:40 am

    Shoot! Didn’t get to your post till Saturday! Hope your first linkup went well and you didn’t overindulge in the champagne….if that’s possible;)

    • 13/11/2010 1:08 pm

      No over indulgence 🙂 First link up went well, maybe keep it in mind for next week if you’re interested

  8. 14/11/2010 10:46 pm

    What fun! You sound like a brilliant girl…and I love how you coerced…ummm… I mean got other people to help you! Until I get myself caught up I can’t join any other memes because it makes me crazy if I don’t have time to visit everyone.

    But as soon as my plate clears off a bit I would love to give your great idea a try.

    Thanks for a fun link to this weeks Alphabe-Thursday.

    It’s always nice to see what you’re up to here.

    A+

  9. 14/11/2010 10:58 pm

    Well, you have really piqued my interest! Sounds like a plan for sure.

Leave a Reply

