Skip to content

Things to be thankful for

25/11/2010

All across the United States families are sitting down to stuff their faces on turkey, trimmings and polish off with pumpkin pie and good luck to them, I wish them all a very Happy Thanksgiving.

Thanksgiving to me is something I have seen in American films, sitcoms and heard about over the years but never really done much more than acknowledge it and decide they were eating their turkey on the wrong day. I mean everyone knows turkey is for Christmas. If I get this right they’ll also be exchanging gifts too, again wrong! That’s Santa’s job.

Today is Thursday, the day I take part in Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday and instead of continuing with the alphabet our homework this week is a Thanksgiving blessing, so here is mine.

I am thankful for having Paul in my life, after so much sadness and unhappiness, my life is now the happiest it’s ever been. He completes me.

I am very thankful for all of my four children each one brings me joy in their own unique way, I adore them all equally. Impossible to choose a favourite.

I am eternally grateful for giving birth to two healthy twins after such a long and difficult time. I am thankful for making Paul a father, a lifelong dream of his. I adore seeing the love he has for these funny little people in our house.

I am thankful for my own wonderful family for the support they have given me, the good advice they always lend me and for all the fun and laughter we have when we’re together. This includes all members, old and new, Jean 🙂 and it includes my ‘new’ family ie Paul’s.

I am thankful for my dear friends I had to leave behind in Italy on taking my decision to return here. I think of you all often, I’m not so good at keeping in touch but you are always in my heart. When I win the lottery I shall buy a house over there and come and visit more often.

I am thankful for my friends here in the UK, they guarantee a laugh, they all honestly care and they are all truely wonderful people. When I win the lottery guys, we are having one hell of a knees up – promise!

I am thankful to have a roof over my head (a very nice new one) that Paul has a job and doesn’t seem likely to lose it in this precarious climate (touch wood) and we do have a few pounds left over occasionally for a nice evening out or a special trip.

I am thankful that our food cupboards are full, that we have central heating, hot water and clean clothes on our backs as I know in many places in the world this is not the case.

I am thankful that at the moment the UK is continuing to plod on towards better days, there’s a lot of confusion, a lot of fighting and debating but I am hopeful we’ll get there as a unit as we always do.

I am thankful for all of my readers here on my blog, it has helped me over the past 11 months, it has given me inspiration and it has given me an output when all I have is toddler talk from morn till dusk. Thank you and please feel free to comment whenever, even if you disagree with my thoughts, no especially if you disagree with what I’m saying. 😀

Writing all that down may seem a bit phoney but I can assure you it’s very therapeutic, if you are having a hard day, like I’ve had a few recently, then start to think about what you are thankful for and the negativity starts to dissolve.

Mari

25 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/11/2010 2:25 pm

    Gratefulness. Lets hope we can all keep mindful of these as we go about our lives throughout the rest of the year. God bless.

    • 26/11/2010 3:09 pm

      True, true. to stop and thank every now and then makes the world a better place.

  2. 25/11/2010 4:15 pm

    Mari, we are all in this world together, and no matter how far away we are from each other, we always keep in touch with our blogs. There is nothing phoney about your post! I’m sure we all feel the same way.

    • 26/11/2010 3:10 pm

      You’re right, I just didn’t want people thinking I was jumping on the band wagon for my own benefit. It was a perfect opportunity to stop and thank people hwo maybe I wouldn’t have otherwise – on here that is.

  3. Alessandra permalink
    25/11/2010 4:45 pm

    Yes, we MUST remember to give thanks for what we have in our lives because it is so easy to concentrate on what’s difficult, wrong, unpleasant.
    So, here’s to my contribution:
    I’m thankful for my family especially my Mum and Dad who have never for one second stopped supporting me, believing in me, caring for me even when, occasionally, they could not understand my choices; for the love I’ve received in so many different ways and from some many different people, parents, grandparents, friends, lovers, (ex)husband – some of these people and relationships have only accompanied me for a little while but the love has been precious all the same; for my friends, who have picked me up so many times and without whom the world would at times be a very dark place indeed; and I’m thankful for Nature: a beautiful sky, a wood full of trees, a white beach, a mighty river are a balm for the spirit and the mind; I’m grateful for the animals who share this earth with us and make it a richer place, who give us joy and company and heal the sick and the old with their friendship, who even give us their work and sustenance to our bodies; I’m grateful to my body because, even if with dificulties that will increase with age, it does so much and carries me around and enables me walk and talk and work and read and speak….HAPPY THANKSGIVING DAY to all, Americans and non!

    • 26/11/2010 3:18 pm

      That was beautiful – and you always remember more stuff than me! I particularly liked the thanking your body bit. Maybe if I thanked mine too it would be kinder to me? 🙂

  4. 25/11/2010 8:57 pm

    i gotta say there was nothing phoney about your post …it rang true …. and we all have those days, those moments or months or weeks where its just not good …. but sitting down and being thankful for all of the good in our lives really does help. peace to you…

  5. 25/11/2010 9:07 pm

    It is always good to remember to give thanks and I do wonder why we do not have something similar here in the UK

    • 26/11/2010 3:27 pm

      I don’t think it would ever take off do you? There are those that say ‘we have enough bank holidays, parties etc’ and those that say ‘It’s all a commercial ploy to make us spend more money’ But it would at least be a collective day embracing ALL religions which does seem to be a necessity recently. It could be a marvellous way of feeling as one in this funny old segregated country. Now that is food for thought!

  6. 26/11/2010 11:17 pm

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving yesterday, and thank you for taking the time to visit today!

  7. 26/11/2010 11:43 pm

    From the heart…

    You have a gift Mari! I love your words..

    I’d love to sit and share a bottle of wine with you and just talk…

    Stupid ocean! Always getting in the way…

    xxoo,

    RMW

    • 29/11/2010 2:13 pm

      I couldn’t agree more with you (about the ocean that is!) and I would love to share a bottle of wine, or 2 with you. Who knows maybe one day????
      Take good care RMW xx

  8. 27/11/2010 3:36 am

    That’s wonderful! congrats on the twins, the new life, and all your blessings!
    \Wishing you many more,
    Susan

  9. Jingle permalink
    27/11/2010 9:36 am

    love your entry,
    being grateful for what we have and for what others have done for us is cool…

  10. Pondside permalink
    28/11/2010 3:28 am

    That was a lovely list – so many good reasons to be thankful.

  11. 28/11/2010 7:35 pm

    Thank you for being a friend x

  12. Jean permalink
    29/11/2010 3:39 pm

    Just got round to catching up on a few posts … cheers missus 🙂 x

  13. 30/11/2010 7:20 pm

    I do a grateful list almost every single day. It keeps my focused on what is good in my life in the midsts of all the ickies.

    I’m glad you found a person who makes you feel confident, sure and happy. I know that we have that inside all of us, but often it seems to take another person to bring it out.

    Thank you for linking.

    This was so warm and gracious. You have given us all a lovely Thanksgiving gift.

    A+

    • 02/12/2010 3:17 pm

      Thanks Jenny – as always a pleasure to have you here in Mari’s World

Leave a Reply

