Skip to content

Celebrating the snow – The Gallery

01/12/2010

I’m so late today but there is a plausible reason for that. You see I was woken at 6am this morning by my Other Half (OH) telling me he couldn’t get into work as there were no coaches running today due to the amount of snow that fell yesterday.

So what’s the big deal I hear you murmur?

Well he’s hogged the PC all day so he could work from home and the post I had organised with just the photos missing on celebrations in Italy will have to be put to one side for a later date.

Therefore I, today, am celebrating the snow in all it’s glory, firstly as I have never seen this amount fall in North Kent in one go. It may have done so in the years I lived in Italy, I’ll never know. I am used to BIG snow as the Italian village was in the Dolomites and we had meters of the stuff fall overnight so being perfectly honest with you South UK’s yearly sprinkles have never done anything for me. I have scoffed at the fact that trains, roads and coaches shut down. I have scorned the fact that schools close, libraries and shops shut down and the world becomes a shadow of its former self. This doesn’t happen abroad where they are used to snow and get ready for it every year, in fact they were so good at it I would be disappointed at the lack of snow in the village or along the roads after they’re tidying up. They would ‘ruin’ the snow every time to make sure the roads were drivable and the footpaths were safe.

Here are my pictures of snow today. The girls did see snow last year but I don’t think they remember it. So today and yesterday they have been constantly asking to be lifted to see the snowflakes out of the window 🙂

I think we can safely assume that geranium won't make it to next spring

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/12/2010 9:29 pm

    You are so on the ball i.e snowball of course ! a b—–y marvelous blogger . What wonderful keepsakes for the family album. We have been snowed in for 10 days now !!

    • 02/12/2010 3:19 pm

      Love your pun! 10 days snowed in, unbelievable. I had to send Paul out today to Morrisons by foot to get milk as all the local stores ran out at dawn! It took him an hour to get there!

  2. 01/12/2010 11:11 pm

    I did a snow post too, trying to convince myself that all is well and I don’t have cabin fever lol. Great photos and tell your hubby to find another computer!! Jen

    • 02/12/2010 3:23 pm

      Hubby hasn’t been able to log in at all today! he’s walkign to local supermarket (1hour by foot) for some milk and nappies. Imagine if he got back and had forgotten something after scorning my list…

  3. 02/12/2010 8:51 am

    Here is Sweden the whole public transport is a mess too – though you’d think they’d be used to it! Apparently, this far south, they’re not… Luckily (or unfortunately?) I live walking distance from the lab, so except for a frozen nose and ice cold hand and feet, I enjoy my snowy morning walk every day!

    • 02/12/2010 3:27 pm

      Hello there,
      not seen you for a while, Hope you’re ok. I bet you’re colder than we are but we’re a bunch of wimps when it comes to snow as we never have any. Loved a lady from Denmark interviewed at Gatwick airport where all flights are cancelled due to snow. She said she left Denmark with snow and encountered no problem whatsoever got here and the whole world has collapsed! Oh dear!

      • 03/12/2010 10:03 am

        Oh, don’t worry – it’s not because I don’t comment I am not a faithful reader ;). Like the Danish story, it only shows what preparation can do, doesn’t it? Take care and have fun with your daughters in the snow, they sure seem to enjoy it!

  4. 02/12/2010 2:57 pm

    Beautiful snow filled pictures. Makes me jealous, we only got a few millimeters

    • 02/12/2010 3:38 pm

      I am really happy about the amount as I’ve only seen this much in ski resorts like where I used to live but as we can’t cope with it, I’d like the roads cleared asap so I can finish my Xmas shopping 🙂

Leave a Reply

