Skip to content

J is for Jam, Jammed in and Jammy Dodger

02/12/2010

Today is Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday and this week’s letter is J. And the first word that come to my mind is Jam. I have always loved it on toast in the morning and if I go abroad I like to bring a local one back with me to savour that holiday just a little bit long. Last week my friend told me a farm close by was organising Santa trips, ‘You’ll be pulled by a tractor through the woods to a secret location where you will meet the Big Man himself in his grotto, you can tell him what you’d like for Christmas and then he’ll give you a small gift to take home with you.’ So off I went with the girls to book a trip up for us, Monday 22nd Dec, 3pm is ours and I am busy writing my santa list as we speak. Farm shops are popping up all over now but I rarely visit them preferring to do my shop all at the local supermarket saving time and money, so as I waited for my turn I looked around the shop and picked up a delicious jar of cherry jam to enjoy on cold winter mornings on toast or afternoons on scones. Mmmmm

Of course my mind moved on to other Jammy words and it struck me that we’re Jammed In today thanks to the biggest snowfall anyone can remember, even my neighbours who are a lot older than me can’t remember one so abundant. Paul can’t get into work again today and thankfully for me he can’t log on either so I have the PC for counted minutes whilst I write this and post it before begrudgingly pass ‘my’ machine back.

More than 12"

our patio, the slide covered and the baby trampoline hidden

 

Not going anywhere today!

No cars moving - only 4x4's

 

So that leaves me with my last J word today which is more of an expression than a word ‘You Jammie Dodger’ meaning you lucky devil. Paul is a jammie dodger as he can’t get into work and he can’t log on either so the expression is similar to something used by his colleagues a moment ago (kind of) We are jammie dodgers as we have enough snow to make a wonderful snowman once the flakes stop falling and you are a jammie dodger because I just reminded you of a brilliant expression to use.

Jammie Dodgers

You Jammie Dodger!

Head over and check out how many Jammie Dodgers have joined in Jenny’s Alphabe Thursday today, and wrap up warm if like us you’re trapped in snow.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. mle permalink
    02/12/2010 12:13 pm

    Wooo! That certainly is some snow!! I hope you have a monster snow blowerrrr!

    • 02/12/2010 3:37 pm

      Sadly we don’t! We’re so not used to this amount of snow that our world has come to a huge stop until further notice. Thank goodness for internet!. Nice to meet you

  2. 02/12/2010 4:41 pm

    What a fun post! And yes, you are definitely jammed in!!

    =)

  3. 02/12/2010 8:16 pm

    You have so much snow. We have the cold, but no snow.

    • 03/12/2010 9:16 am

      And the girls don’t like it!!!!’ Mummy go indoors it’s cold’ is all I get when I take them out to play 🙂 By the time they’re old enough to want to play in the snow we’ll be back to the normal sprinkle like the past 50 years – typical!

  4. 03/12/2010 2:16 am

    Brrrrrrr! I’m glad I live in Arizona!

    • 03/12/2010 9:18 am

      Ha ha! We were in Sedona a few years back (loved it!) and I couldn’t believe the heat out there. I loved the cool ice spray coming from the edge of the shops in the streets, amazing

  5. 03/12/2010 7:48 am

    Gosh wish it was that way in the middle east !! where i am 😀

    • 03/12/2010 9:18 am

      MIddle East!!! I bet you don’t get much snow out there, nice to meet you. Thanks for coming by 😀 I’ll pop by asap

  6. 03/12/2010 4:42 pm

    Oh indeed, you have REAL snow. My children will be so jealous. Not nearly enough here to make a snowman, hardly enough for a snowball and it’s all ice now. But I’ve just got in and the car was reading -3, so not much chance of it going yet.

    Thanks for popping over to my blog.

    • 03/12/2010 4:58 pm

      Hi there 🙂 the snow is lovely but I can’t get the car out, so no food shopping, internet was down all morning (a mast came down under the weight of snow) and when I tired walking the girls in their buggy this morning I had to stick to the road as there are no more pavements, so a little disruptive to say the least. Nice to see you again

  7. 04/12/2010 6:27 am

    Jammy dodgers. I like the sound of that. For me, one of the images in my head is the Los Angeles Dodgers, a baseball team, wearing their pjs as they play. LOL! I’d like to taste one of those Jammy Dodgers one day. The food, that is. 🙂

  8. 05/12/2010 8:16 pm

    that is one big snowfall!!! enjoy the snow, it can be totally pretty!

  9. 07/12/2010 11:34 am

    That was a lot of snow, and this is what I’m looking forward to in my world. I’m not a winter person, but there is no other way out of it..Great post!

    • 09/12/2010 1:22 pm

      Thank you, nice to see you again and as for winter, what better excuse for some wooly jumper shopping?

  10. 07/12/2010 3:56 pm

    Snow. Brrrr…. Shiver. Brrrr….

    Love the farm story and the idea of cherry jam on warm scones. And I’ve never heard that phrase or seen those cookies!

    What a fun, shivery and joyous stop on our little journey through Alphabe-Thursday.

    Sending you a cozy hug and a great, big…

    A+

    • 09/12/2010 1:23 pm

      Lovely to see you as always Jenny and a pleasure to participate in such a fun meme

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention J is for Jam, Jammed in and Jammy Dodger « Mari's World -- Topsy.com
  2. Cranberry extract spices with vent & celebrity anise | Riigg

Leave a Reply

