Skip to content

‘Oh Christmas Tree, oh Christmas Tree’

07/12/2010

Now we are well into December we are ‘allowed’ to talk about Christmas, in fact everyone is! People are busy crossing things off their To Do Lists and to be quite honest with you, I’m actually sitting back and enjoying the run up this year. No massively long list for me this year as my brother is hosting The Big Day and we’re over to Paul’s brother and wife’s on Boxing Day where our contribution is mash which isn’t particularly complicated now is it?

Yesterday I put the tree up for the girls and they love it! exclamations of ‘Ohh mummy, I love it!’ lots of touching the lights and naming the colours ‘Red!’ ‘Er no that one’s yellow.’ and touching and feeling all the ornaments too. Of course being the clever one I am the ceramics are placed out of reach and I ‘allowed’ them to place the pretty small gift wrapped cubes on themselves, peals of laughter and lots of taking them off and putting them back on. In fact, when I disappeared into the kitchen to get tea ready for them, they unwrapped the lot!

disappointing presents

Many workers are looking forward to their staff Christmas party, an annual knees up which encourages excess drinking and eating the max at the companies expenses, how I miss those parties! However, I am extremely lucky enough to be going to a party of my own – a meet up for Bloggers from the British Mummy Bloggers forum and I’m really excited! I can take the girls with me, just as well because I don’t have any babysitters and wouldn’t be able to go if not, I shan’t be drinking as it is in London and I shall drive there and park at my brothers flat and I will have the opportunity to visit my ex colleagues from the Italian Tourist Board too.

'Ohhh, present mummy!' I could hear from the kitchen

As the party is to be held in St Martin’s in the Field, I’ll also be able to take the girls to see our infamous Trafalgar Square Christmas Tree, every year donated by Norway as a means of remembering our assistance during the second world war. What a beautiful gift, thank you Norway! I shall take them for a stroll up Carnaby Street to see their decorations as personally I think they’re the best in London. So all in all a brilliant day out for me, just what I need right now.

Mummy's little helpers

One Comment leave one →
  1. 09/12/2010 2:49 pm

    I love Christmas toooo.! However do you fit all you do in 24hrs? Let me in on the secret.
    Super duper tree. Wish I was coming to the Party with you

Leave a Reply

