Skip to content

Alexander McQueen’s Knuckleduster

09/12/2010

Alexander McQueen Knuckle Duster

The fashion world lost one of its greatest earlier this year with the shock news that this amazingly talented gentleman took his own life. Much speculation surrounded the reasons of his taking such a drastic way out; he was uncapable of bearing with the recent loss of his adored mother who was such a  pillar in his life came up frequently as a cause.

Born in 1969, he became one of the most iconic designers in the fashion world, with a career stretching from Saville Row knocking up perfectly tailored suits for the likes of Mikhail Gorbachev and Prince Charles to a stint with the theatrical costumers Angels and Burmans. Once set up on his own he quickly earned the name of ‘L’Enfant Terrible’ thanks to the controversy and shock tactics displayed on his early runway collections. The’ Hooligan of English Fashion’ coming up with the idea of Bumsters, low-rise jeans, since copied by every trouser maker worth their salt and worn on every woman who can possibly get away with it…and a few that can’t! Naming an entire collection Highland Rape he never failed to grab the media’s attention. He dreamt up lavish unconventional shows such as a human chess game, a shipwreck and the Widows of Culloden, all of which pleased the fashion world with his creativity and skill to invent something brand new, unheard of and quite frankly shocking.

Drama. Extravagance. Rebellion. All boxes Alexander ticked off his list with ease and talent.

Enter his passion with skulls; a scarf bearing the motif quickly became a must-have in all celebrity’s wardrobes and was copied around the world. I sadly don’t own a scarf and if Santa is listening then I’d be very happy to have one. However I do have a Knuckleduster, an Alexander McQueen one too, which I am thrilled to have in my jewellery box. It’s not your every day piece, in fact I can’t even wear it out as in Britain a knuckle duster is illegal and to wear one would call for a significant jail sentence and a fine for possession of a dangerous weapon, not quite what I’m looking for right now.

How did I get to own one?

Well, a family member works on his website  (isn’t she clever!) and found out that container loads had been sent to the States for a collection but under the USA laws were not accepted into the country and sent right back to the UK landing in his HQ, central London…where she happens to work! Knuckledusters up for grabs, she dashed along corridors and fought tooth and nail coming home unscathed, not one nail broken and all hair in place, but more importantly with bags brimming with knuckle dusters – ok it wasn’t quite like that but they were sent back from the States on the grounds they were dangerous weapons and she did did manage to get a couple, one of which she gave to me 🙂

I’m fascinated with it. I look closely at the skulls, normally frightening objects, that he has masterfully turned around and made beautiful adding sparkly stones and flowers softening the image, just a little.

A designer to be proud of for his immense imagination, a passion to be himself and to amaze us on so many levels.

K is for Knuckleduster and this is my entry for Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday…I wonder what everyone else came up with?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/12/2010 11:58 am

    To be honest I didn’t know much about Alexander McQueen until he died. Thanks for the interesting overview. I love the knuckleduster. What a fabulous item for you to have as a keepsake and I’m sure it will be hugely valuable in years to come.

    • 09/12/2010 1:37 pm

      He was overlooked by many and the nature of his death propelled him into the starlight once again. Mind you, we’ve probably been looking at his clothes on various celebs and models all this time without knowing. The knuckleduster is brilliant, I never wear it of course but as you say it’s far too iconic to ignore. As for selling it, no way. That’s all I have of him! 😉

  2. Alessandra permalink
    09/12/2010 12:04 pm

    You dark horse……xxx

  3. mle permalink
    09/12/2010 12:35 pm

    That’s the blingy-est knuckleduster I’ve ever seen!

    • 09/12/2010 1:38 pm

      😀 do you know I think you’re right there! That must raise my street cred surely?

  4. 09/12/2010 3:03 pm

    What a piece! What do you wear it with or do you just have it as a conversation piece?

    • 09/12/2010 3:14 pm

      Chanel No 5 😀
      Only joking! I haven’t worn it at all. I can’t wear it out of the house and it’s really quite heavy and would make holding my wine glass quite tricky. I was waiting for the letter K to come along so I could show it off, now it’s already back in the box before the girls get hold of it.

  5. 09/12/2010 7:21 pm

    I had never even heard of him, which made this an interesting and informative read for me.

    Thanks! It seems as though you are a big fan of his. Glad you were able to get your knuckleduster!

    =)

    • 09/12/2010 8:19 pm

      Actually it was a complete surprise to be honest, the gift that is. Alexander McQueen was unique and a master in his trade. It would have been such a thriil to have met him and got to know him

  6. 09/12/2010 7:31 pm

    Wow, that certainly is a DIFFERENT K post and a different item to own!! Mmmh, not sure would want one though, but still fabulous!

    Maggy

    • 09/12/2010 8:20 pm

      Hi there 🙂
      Don’t think I would ever have gone and bought one, had I had the cash available I would have opted for the skull scarf but it was a gift and so unique and so AMQ that it has become even more special. Shame it’s not the piece you can wear to a BMB lunch really! 🙂

  7. 09/12/2010 8:14 pm

    How cool to own something like that! Do you ever wear it?!

    Lovely to meet you and your girls yesterday.

    • 09/12/2010 8:23 pm

      Yes, it is cool to own something so special and I can’t thank Jean enough. I have never had an occasion to wear it to be honest and my hands really aren’t pretty, very practical, no nails – I wouldn’t do it justice

  8. 09/12/2010 10:56 pm

    Wow..I know some people in my life who would love these creations! That’s just awesome!

    • 10/12/2010 8:49 pm

      It takes some imagination to come up with something like that doesn’t it?

  9. 10/12/2010 3:26 am

    Wow! Knuckledusters. I’ve never heard of the term before. I have read mysteries in which the bad guys have clobbered people wearing something on their knuckles. Can’t remember the words used though. Thanks for a fascinating piece. Now I know about knuckledusters and Alexander McQueen. Happy Holidays!

    • 10/12/2010 8:50 pm

      Brass knuckles came up on wikipedia along with a few other terms, pleased to have been an enlightment this week 🙂

  10. 10/12/2010 4:12 am

    okay, i am seriously green with envy … I can’t stand the fact that he is no longer among us … he was soooo brilliant …. so very very brilliant …

    • 10/12/2010 8:51 pm

      😀 I am a lucky girl – I know and I agree he will be missed, such a sad ending…

  11. 10/12/2010 7:13 pm

    My goodness! This was a different kind of jewellery!
    Interesting post.
    Best wishes,
    Anna
    Anna’s AT-rd 2-K

  12. 12/12/2010 7:15 pm

    That is certainly an impressive piece!

    Lovely keepsake, but probably impractical for wine drinking…

    Thanks for stopping by. Your comments are incredibly valuable and I appreciate your input.

    I’m not sure exactly where life will take Celeste, but it makes the journey more fun with friends like you along!

    • 13/12/2010 9:56 am

      I did get quite worried in case you weren’t happy with constructive comments. It’s a very interesting story and shows how the reader dreams up the next bit and how you create more surprises for them. You must carry on even if NNWM has finished

  13. 14/12/2010 12:33 am

    I’ve never heard of a knucklebuster so I found this a really fascinating stop this week.

    This is such a different kind of jewelry but at first I was puzzled at why it would be illegal. Took me a few minutes!

    The story of how you acquired this work of art is really fascinating, too. I hope you write it down and keep it with the piece as important provenance. Someday this may turn up on Antique Roadshow!

    Really, really interesting.

    Thank you for linking.

    A+

  14. Jean permalink
    14/12/2010 4:25 pm

    Glad you like it 🙂 x

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Alexander McQueen’s Knuckleduster « Mari's World -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

