Skip to content

L is for Life

16/12/2010

And what a beautiful life it is!

As I come towards the end of any year I do stop and take stock of the journey I have followed, the choices I have made and the direction my life seems to be taking. It’s a good starting point for making New Year’s Resolutions and for deciding where I am going and what I should focus on in the coming year. What do I want to achieve?

In fact at the start of this blog last Januaryย I added a page called Lifeplan, it’s still there and every three months or so I update it. It’s more for me than my reader. I am a big believerย  in happenstance serendipity and ‘meant to be’ situations and I like to see what has happened looking back. My Lifeplan is a mixture of wishes, dreams and goals I’d like to achieve, for obvious reasons winning the lottery is a dream and will be taken over to every New Year until I win it ๐Ÿ™‚

At the beginning of last year we had our house on the market but it was so slow, I thought we’d never get there but we did, we sold end of April and moved end of June. Hoorah!

My book, well it’s nowhere near finished but spurred on by Rocky Mountain Woman’s intention to join in the NaNoWriMo this year we joined forces and started to write. I’m happy with the progress, maybe not as quick as I would like but hey, I’ll get there. Should you be interested in having a peek go here.

Finances – we really are beginning to feel the pinch right now surviving on just one wage. The girls would cost me ยฃ40.00 plus each to go to nursery per day making it quite difficult to step back into the working industry pretending to find a salary that would cover nursery x 2, travel and something leftover, so I resign to another year at home unless of course something comes up. I’ll leave the door open on that one this year.

Body – I STILL have to lose the same identical 3/4 kilos, I know it’s dreadful. I should be ashamed of myself. Funnily enough on Blogger.Ed blog forum yesterday I noticed a post asking for volunteers to run the London marathon for a huge Big Brand company, they’d give you a personal trainer, nutrition expert and all the kit necessary.ย Oh my heart jumped, that would be marvellous but in my heart I know it’s just not the right time, I’m not ready for that yet as much as I’d love to do it.

So what’s for 2011? Well I love the idea of Karma it’s good for the soul and journeying around Jenny’s K week I spotted someone doing this (and I’m sorry I can’t remember who it was, but I did bookmark the link) I’m going to give it a go, it will be good for spiritual growth and understanding myself a little more.

I also found the 365 project which sounds fun, a project where you take one photo every day and post it, at the end of the year if you’ve been consistent you have a wonderful photographic diary. I want to improve my photography skills and maybe this will help me. I shall also be looking in on Cosmic Girlies brilliant tutorial blog ifย  can make time. I have promised myself since July and as yet haven’t made it but maybe 2011 will be easier who knows?

I also pondered on sharing my love of Italy and maybe one day a month focusing on an area that could be interesting for a future holiday, that’s the Italian Tourist Board coming out of me ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh and one last thing I shall be attending Cybermummy thanks to the wonderful people at Loud Karaoke (are they trying to tell me something?) who are kindly sponsoring me, I wonder if I should brush up my vocals here and enter for next year’s X Factor?

So that’s blogworld, how about real life?

Well we need to do some more decorating, starting with the girl’s bedroom which currently is a vile golden embossed wallpaper. I would love to start an allotment and will have you know I have bought a book, as yet not opened but I’ll get there. The garden needs an overhaul and so does my wardrobe!

Let’s keep this simple

  • Carry on/complete book
  • decorate the girls room – move them from cots to single beds, that should be fun!
  • allotment – this may slip over to 2012 I think
  • Enjoy the girl’s growing up, make the most of this year with them before they head of to pre school in September
  • Try to see Thomas, Megan and Gracey at least twice throughout the year
  • Win the national lottery ๐Ÿ™‚ Gotta give it a go right?

So there you have it, my lifeplan drawn up for 2011. What goals are you going to set yourself? Which dream is it time you gave a go at to see if you can make it come true? Which skill are you going to dedicate time to in order toย try and improve? Have a think and let me know what’s on your mind for 2011 – just make sure it’s a good one!

I am immensly happy at being nominated in the BMB Freshest Voice category for 2010, I need votes in order to bag the medal and I kindly ask all of my readers to visit BMB and cross the Mari’s World box, every vote counts and I am up against some brilliant blogs, it’s a toughie, please help. I’d be eternally grateful xxx

This is my entry for Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe Thursday, today’s letter is L, please have a look at wht the others came up with

Photo credit

30 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/12/2010 12:28 pm

    Oh this is fabulous, fascinating, challenging, encouraging stuff! I hope you achieve all and more!

  2. Jen permalink
    16/12/2010 12:41 pm

    Thanks fo rthe fun links. You have some great goals ahead for the New Year. Good luck with the lottery too!

    • 16/12/2010 1:34 pm

      Ahhhh, the lottery and I go way back and it always seems to avoid me somehow but one day…one day I’ll catch it ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. 16/12/2010 12:48 pm

    These sound like wonderful goals. I love getting to see my little guy grow and learn everyday.

    • 16/12/2010 1:35 pm

      It’s amazing to watch them isn’t it? I think it’s become my favourite pastime of all

  4. 16/12/2010 1:14 pm

    Oh Wow Mari, must have taken you ages to write this very reflective post! I forgot that for people with Twins, going back to work is that much “harder” as you really have to make the finances work. Sounds like you have overall achieved a lot and have lots more planned! Am glad that the overall summary is “Life is Good”. Yay!

    Maggy
    PS and winning the lottery is on my plan too…

    • 16/12/2010 1:37 pm

      Oh Life is good and I always have something to work at which makes it interesting too. If I didn’t i’d go and invent something as I can’t bare being bored and having nothing to do.
      Ref the lottery – we really must sort out dates so our windfalls don’t clash, you know, one per week what do you say? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 16/12/2010 6:58 pm

    So happy to see your book on your goal list.

    I always do the same thing at the end of year, make some goals and areas I want to focus on. This year writing is definitely on the list. I’m done with work for the year in a few days, so I’ll spend some time making a list and get back to you!

    Glad to have met you this year in blogland!

    • 17/12/2010 4:04 pm

      Me too! It’s nice knowing someone over the other side of the world. Looking forward to reading your list and Celeste’s future! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. 16/12/2010 8:40 pm

    I like to do a life plan every year, too. It keeps me on track and keeps me grounded.

    Thanks for sharing yours.

    =)

    • 17/12/2010 4:04 pm

      Hope yours includes some new challenges too! Here’s wishing you a marvellous 2011 x

  7. 16/12/2010 9:57 pm

    I voted for you! I hope you win, Mari. Honestly, I wish I had my life as much in order as you seem to.

    • 17/12/2010 4:06 pm

      Ah, it seems in order and looks marvellous on paper but that’s the fun of it all as it never happens like that in real life does it? Nothing is ever that straight forward ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you so much for your vote – fingers crossed eh x

  8. 17/12/2010 12:28 am

    Oh you busy, busy lady! I am worn out just reading. Enjoy….

    Mich x

    • 17/12/2010 4:07 pm

      Hold on – that’s all on paper, the intention then life sets in and goes Pete Tong on me. I won’t get it all done but I might get a couple of hurdles under my belt…watch this space x

  9. Alessandra permalink
    17/12/2010 11:05 am

    It’s that time of the year again isn’t it? The time of New Year Resolutions that normally get forgotten by mid January.
    But it is encouraging to see from Marianne’s updates that at least some of her previous resolutions are well under way so there’s hope….and in this spirit, here are mine for 2011:
    . to eat and drink less
    . to loose weight (if I stick to point 1. I just might!)
    . to go regularly to my Pilates and yoga classes
    . to practise yoga at home too
    . to have a regular meditation session most evenings
    . to become better able at communicating how I feel to people and sort out a few unspoken difficulties in my relationships (that’s a tough one!)
    Well, let’s speak again round about July for an update….xx

    • 17/12/2010 4:09 pm

      Go for it!! Whoo hoo, round of applause to you and best of luck with your last point, it’s one of the hardest things getting feelings across. here’s wishing you a prosperous and healthy 2011 xxx

  10. 17/12/2010 3:06 pm

    Wonderful goals for the new year! You’ve inspired me to sit down and draw up a life-plan for myself..I’ve forgotten to this these last few years..

    • 17/12/2010 4:21 pm

      Brilliant, you may discover new things about yourself as you brainstorm up ideas that you hadn’t really paid attention to earlier. Have fun and here’s wishing you a marvellous 2011 x

  11. 17/12/2010 8:06 pm

    Drawing up annual and down-the-road goals is a wonderful idea. In my opinion, it’s a more positive attitude than making new year resolutions. Those get broken so much sooner, at least for me. Usually I keep my goals in my head, but a few days ago I was thinking it may be time to write them down. And, guess what, Mari, you’ve inspired me to do so. ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Christmas!

    • 20/12/2010 1:57 pm

      Good for you! and the best news is you don’t HAVE to stick by them, they are yours to change as you see fit. Have a wonderful Christmas yourself and I look forward to chatting in the New Year ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. 21/12/2010 12:23 am

    I love your goals. I love your attitude toward goals you haven’t quite met yet!

    I want to be inspired to a list of things to conquer for 2011. But first, I must decorate my tree.

    Thanks for linking to Alphabe-Thursday.

    This was a thought-provoking post.

    A+

    PS. I voted for you!

    • 21/12/2010 2:05 pm

      Thanks Jenny, for your comment, for your vote – I’m up against some brilliant bloggers in that category so every vote counts and your A+, wishing you a very Happy Christmas and a marvellous 2011

  13. mle permalink
    21/12/2010 12:47 pm

    Leave it to our blogs to hold us accountable! : )
    I wish you & your family the best in the next year!!
    Peace be with you!

    • 21/12/2010 2:12 pm

      Absolutely LOL!
      I wish you and your family all the very best for 2011 too, may it be an exceptionally good one for us all ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. 22/12/2010 9:35 pm

    I don’t know why I haven’t read your blog before, I just looked at it properly tonight and you’re brilliant! So inspiring. I love the idea of setting goals, in fact I may do a similar post myself for the new year, if you don’t mind? I’m so pleased that I found your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • 23/12/2010 10:18 am

      Thank you Kirsty, that’s a really lovely thing to say. I’m not brilliant at promoting myself and find Twitter crashing on me thanks to a rubbish reception.
      The best thing about setting yourself goals is if you don’t manage to reach them just carry them forward, change them so they are easier to achieve and keep yourself on a positive note. It’s just a way of pushing myself when I need the extra nudge.

Trackbacks

  1. My Plans for 2011 « Imperfect Pages
  2. N is for…Nincompoop « Mari's World

Leave a Reply

