Skip to content

‘Whodunnit?’

17/12/2010

mummy's angels - summer 2010

‘Was that you Bessie?’

‘No, Alice’

‘Alice, have you had a pooh?

‘No, Bessie’

…and so we go on, whenever I ask one or the other, whodunnit? I get the same reply accompanied with massive grins and laughter. They’re laughing at me already, avoiding the blame and they’re only 2!

Last night was bath night and I left them in the bath, beautifully scrubbed up to sparkling perfection, hair, bodies, teeth and all. I left them playing and splashing, having great fun whilst I went to the bedroom to collect clean vests, pyjamas and nappies. How long does that take? One minute? Two? I may have stopped to close the curtains whilst I was there and pick up a book I’m reading as I was going to let them have fun for the time it took to read a chapter as I have discovered this is the only time I can carve out for reading these days.

On return to the bathroom, giggles galore and Bessie shoving her finger in my direction, ‘Look mummy, look!’ Ever so pleased with herself. On closer inspection I quickly discover it is pooh, I grab the toilet roll and clean the offensive finger offered to me, a glance into the bath water confirms my worst fears as I see little brown balls of the stuff being carried by the currents made by Alice swishing her legs back and forth.

‘What to do?’ Panic! That’s what.

 Two babies, who hate the shower for some reason, are subjected to a hosing down from the offending equipment to make sure any pooh is washed off their bodies and they’re both whipped out into towels and standing on the mat crying as they haven’t quite understood what has happened. After all they were having so much fun!

Aaarrrggghhhh!

Half an hour later peace reigns once more and they’re tucked on the sofa with teddies, milk and In The Night Garden. And it’s time for Mummy to clean up the mess. (I get all the best jobs around here!)

What is it about pooh? I didn’t want to pick it out with my hands, urggh! So I pulled the plug and unstuck the bathmats, moving them to the sink for attention later. I watched the brown balls get carried to the plughole and get stuck there, collecting together and rioting against me. I couldn’t use toilet roll as there was still a lot of water, I wanted to avoid them going down the plughole and getting stuck in a pipe somewhere (could you imagine that? A nightmare waiting to happen) So I went for it, bare fingered and screwing my face up I forced myself to do the job and chuck it down the loo. *shudders at the thought*

I swear if anyone had seen me they’d have pronounced me a big wuss there and then on the spot and sadly they would have been right. It took all of my willpower to get myself to do it and we’re talking baby pooh here.

So a few things can be taken from this escapade. 

  1. The first and foremost, the girls have learnt to cover up for themselves by passing the blame around and smiling as they do – totally disarming. I will never find out whodunnit. They both get off scot-free. This is a scary prospect!
  2. I’ll have to find another stolen moment to finish that book, I’ve only been reading it two years so I may have it completed by 2011 – December!
  3. I was totally unprepared for  pooh in the bath water, maybe a jug or strainer could be handy up there.

I set up a Mari’s World Fan page on Facebook a while back, if you haven’t already maybe you’d like to ‘like it’ it would be lovely to stay connected. Have a fabulous weekend all

and of course if you haven’t made your mind up for the Freshest Voice of 2010 category in the BMB awards then head over, tick Mari’s World and make me the happiest blogger in the sphere 🙂 Please?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Wilders permalink
    17/12/2010 3:49 pm

    Sorry Marianne, so funny reading your story!! Made me chuckle as I know the panic that goes through your mind when there’s poo flaoting in the bath and 2 little girls to deal with. You don’t know what to grab first, the children or the poo!! And you have to get them washed again!! Don’t think you’ll ever find out who done it!! Just be prepared incase they do it again!! Happy Bathing!!

    • 17/12/2010 4:23 pm

      I am going to be armed up to the teeth next time with various pooh retrieving implements I can tell you. What was a really happy bath time quickly turned into a crying disaster. I was exhausted after that! Thanks for adding your comment 🙂

  2. 17/12/2010 8:28 pm

    Shit! excuse my French It’s obvious .What Mari needs are Marigold gloves size mediun colour yellow Sold in all good super stores, corner shops and chemiists.

    • 20/12/2010 1:58 pm

      Right as always! Now why didn’t I think of that? next shopping list to include more gloves for upstairs bathroom as a fixed item not to be taken away 🙂

  3. 19/12/2010 9:15 pm

    It’s a funny story as long as it’s not happening to me. 🙂 Happy Christmas!

    • 20/12/2010 2:07 pm

      I’d have said that too reading it somewhere else 😀 Happy Christmas to you too

  4. 22/12/2010 9:21 pm

    Sorry but I had to laugh. In this house we retrieve bath poo with a nappy sack – hand in sack, grab poo, flip sack inside out, tie it up and straight in the outdoor bin. Not that it’s a regular occurrence! The worst was when we put the baby in his tummy tub in the morning because we hadn’t bathed him the night before (what were we thinking?!) – baby in a tiny bucket bath filled with runny milk poo, not good at all!

    • 23/12/2010 10:14 am

      Ah, but in your house you are more organised! In fact in 2 and a half years we’ve never had pooh in the bath so I was really taken by surprise and lost all sense of organisation and practicality, did laugh at runny milk poo in tummy tub though 😀

Leave a Reply

