Skip to content

The Gift of Christmas and red knickers

23/12/2010

Brrrr

Today Jenny has asked for Christmas Blessings to be put forward rather than a letter for her Alphabe Thursday and I have so much to be thankful for.

 Firstly, I would like to introduce my sponsor for Cybermummy 2011 – Loud Karaoke from California. I am absolutely blessed that they chose me and I hope to do them justice. Maybe I shall break into song during the conference, sign up to audition for the X Factor ( a secret dream that will never be realised but that I like to practise in the shower) or be ‘discovered’ by a major recording label and become the next SuBo? You never know.

As I write I am ‘almost there’ most of the presents wrapped, major shop done just teabags and bananas to get, Cards all posted – I think? I hope! Now I must just wait for it NOT to snow so I can make my brother’s home for a delicious meal (my 1st year in six that I won’t be in the kitchen!) and a fun day.

Christmas Eve, we have the family coming to us for a traditional fish and chips supper, from our local take away who produce a sterling job, we shall tuck in excitedly as we wait for Father Christmas to drive around the estate, passing just in front of our new house (handy that!) In fact here is a photo of the chap himself, we took the girls to their first trip to meet Santa last Monday, Alice cried all the way through and Bessie watched from the safe comfort of my arms, she even laughed in places! I think you’ll agree that is a massively impressive beard he has there.

Boxing Day we’re over at Paul’s family again for a slap up meal and a lot of fun and then on the two days following we’re at home, no plans just enjoying our family. I can’t wait to play with the girls’ doll’s house and Paul has managed to get a train set on the girls Christmas list so that should keep him amused for a while.

One last thing I must mention is RED UNDERWEAR. Whilst living in Italy I learnt that an important New Year’s Eve tradition is to wear Red Underwear to bring good luck upon oneself for the coming year. How can I refuse? Red is not a colour I wear that often underneath so this provides me with a wonderful excuse, after all we all need a little extra good fate don’t we? So I’m telling you in good time, hunt through your undercracker drawers for that piece you haven’t worn in ages, order online or nip out to the shops (rather you than me) but make sure as 2011 breaks over the horizon YOU and yours are suitably attired to reap in bags of good fortune for 2011.

Ciao ciao xx

22 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/12/2010 12:55 pm

    Red is the color of auspiciousness and luck in China. Today I learned that red underwear worn into the new year brings luck to Italians! Too funny! Maybe I should try it… All the best of the season to you and yours!

    • 24/12/2010 10:20 am

      Go find some red undies, you MUST try it 🙂 Happy Christmas to you too

  2. 23/12/2010 1:04 pm

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas! How wonderful that Santa comes by your house.

  3. 23/12/2010 2:51 pm

    Have a wonderful Christmas and I look forward to hearing how the girls get on with Santa 🙂 Jen

    • 24/12/2010 10:21 am

      Same to you Jen, have a marvellous time and look forward to chatting – hopefully with more time – in the NY x

  4. 23/12/2010 3:25 pm

    Congrats on your CyberMummy sponsor. Great pictures too! Have a merry Christmas!

    • 24/12/2010 10:22 am

      Thank you Jennifer, must nip over now and book my ticket but might have to wait till after Crimbo – too much going on today. Happy Christmas to you too

  5. Pondside permalink
    23/12/2010 3:31 pm

    I love the idea of the red underwear!……if I move quickly enough there may be some new red underwear under the tree to go with the pj’s that everyone just knows will be the Christmas Eve gift. Merry Christmas!

    • 24/12/2010 10:23 am

      Quick! Run! You will feel wonderful in your new red undies, I promise 🙂
      Merry Christmas to you too.

  6. 23/12/2010 4:20 pm

    Your Christmas plans sound perfect! And so does the New Year’s Eve underwear scheme. heehee

    Merry Christmas to you…

    =)

    • 24/12/2010 10:24 am

      Go Granny Sue, get yourself some red undies and see in 2011 in style 🙂
      Merry Christmas to you too

  7. 23/12/2010 8:59 pm

    Our cousins in Canada celebrate Boxing Day but I have never know exactly what that was. I might have to get Rod some red underwear for his stocking!

    • 24/12/2010 10:26 am

      Absolutely yes to red underwear for Rod and Boxing Day is just another days holiday tagged on to Christmas making it an extra long break. Handy because we get to fit both families in and everyone is happy! Happy Christmas

  8. 27/12/2010 7:54 am

    awesome post…LOVED the pictures!! yes santa’s beard IS impressive 🙂
    I’ll have to look into the red undies thing.

    Warm, Bright blessings of the season to you and yours!

    Susan

  9. 30/12/2010 11:05 am

    ohh massive congratulastion on the sponsor Mari. I love Karaoke! and if I say so myself I rock a good Tina Turner! Maybe they want another twin mummy to join you? lol

    Hope you have had a great Christmas and wishing you a very happy new year.

    Mich x

    • 01/01/2011 3:44 pm

      Thank you Michelle. Maybe we’ll belt out a couple of sons together eh? In the name of Twin mums 🙂 Hope 2011 fulfills all of your dreams

  10. 30/12/2010 8:00 pm

    What a wonderful post! Loved your pictures and the story you shared here.

    Thanks for a happy holiday link.

    I’m sorry I’m getting here late, but perhaps I can be a bit early in wishing you a 2011 filled with adventure, fun and joy!

    A+

    • 01/01/2011 3:45 pm

      I apologise for not leaving comments this week – I just ran out of time completely. I will do better in 2011

  11. JallieDaddy permalink
    30/12/2010 9:07 pm

    Red underwear? Hmmm – does that apply to blokes as well? Not sure I have any, but I’ll have a look. Hope all went well for your Christmas!

    • 01/01/2011 3:45 pm

      Of course it does!!! You must get some in for next year – promise! Hope 2011 is a brilliant year for you

Leave a Reply

