Skip to content

2010 in review

02/01/2011

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The average container ship can carry about 4,500 containers. This blog was viewed about 16,000 times in 2010. If each view were a shipping container, your blog would have filled about 4 fully loaded ships.

In 2010, there were 238 new posts, not bad for the first year! There were 422 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 477mb. That’s about 1 pictures per day.

The busiest day of the year was September 1st with 1,735 views. The most popular post that day was SAHM v Career Girl?.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were wordpress.com, networkedblogs.com, mail.yahoo.com, stickyfingers1.blogspot.com, and twitter.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for mari’s world, mari world, marisworld, womanonics, and mariworld.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

SAHM v Career Girl? September 2010
191 comments and 39 Likes on WordPress.com

2

About January 2010
10 comments

3

Twin life February 2010
5 comments

4

Lifeplan January 2010
8 comments

5

I’m 13, I’m on the pill and my mum doesn’t know November 2010
17 comments

…mmmm I wonder what I’ll read in 2012??

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/01/2011 9:08 pm

    Excellent, love the way they break it down like that, wish they had something like that for blogger:) Well done you and best of luck in the Brilliance Awards 😀 Jen

    • 03/01/2011 10:42 am

      Thanks Jen, I’m really proud of what I achieved in year one and gives me something to work on for year two. Fingers all crossed for the Brilliance awards 🙂

  2. 02/01/2011 10:06 pm

    Haha, I got this email from WordPress but my stats were a little bit different! It’s a funny thing, as I always tell myself that I’m blogging just for me, I don’t care about the number of hits – but of course I secretly do.
    Congratulations on a great year, here’s to a successful 2011!

    • 03/01/2011 10:45 am

      Blogging is just for me and I had my moments throughout the year when I didn’t know what to write or thought I’d never get anywhere with it, barking up the wrong tree. I struggled and I really doubted myself a lot of the time, that’s why I’m happy to post my stats – thanks WordPress! My major post was published on Freshly Pressed and that’s boosted my hits massively but I have no idea why they choose that post or why me. It’s a mystery to this day.

  3. 03/01/2011 12:26 am

    Wow Mari, what happened with that post then? Were you featured on WP home page or you went viral? I can not even imagine having a blog post that attracts that amount of page views and comments! One day….. my best day so far was yesterday with 340 visitors to my site – a long way off!

    Happy New Year, Mich x

    • 03/01/2011 10:49 am

      Yes, it was published on Freshly Pressed and I was still getting comments for it a month later. It must have hit a chord and I never expected it to be so successful, just one of those posts where I was umming and arring with myself. 340 is a massive achievment that I would love to see some day in the future, to be honest I’m more closer to the 70-80 mark as a daily average and that’s hits – not unique visitors

Leave a Reply

